We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
1 review
“Stay was great”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Everything was great, except it was a cold rainy week-end in the Phoenix area and the room heat did not work with outside temperature in the mid 50's. Breakfast was very good 2 of 3 days. Evening reception was very good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank thomasdB3369ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    233
    140
    75
    47
See reviews for
283
128
42
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

As a premium Hilton Honors member, I tend to stay at Hilton Properties and especially target Embassy Suites when possible. So, we obviously chose the Tempe Embassy Suites for our family Thanksgiving vacation.

I would advise against staying here as the operation is far from the Hilton standard for Embassy Suites.

Here are the observations leading to my recommendation:
-too few working the front desk (just 1). Long check in lines set the stage for further frustration
-rooms are ok, but far from nice or being in good repair. Our room had a leak somewhere with the carpet outside the bathroom constantly soaked. Also, several of the electrical outlets in the room didn't work.
-housekeeping absolutely stunk. No towel refills. No refills of soap, shampoo, etc. this is especially disturbing as housekeeping has been called out in many previous reviews. Clearly nothing has been done to improve an obvious poor housekeeping standard
-front desk staff left us waiting in line to buy snacks from the pantry while she finished on a personal call, and I might add she didn't hurry to finish
-strange breakfast hours. Closed at 9 am. That seems a bit early for a holiday. When people are trying to sleep in. We missed breakfast during our stay... And that is one of the main draws of embassy suites!
-also, if you do decide to come here, avoid being on the freeway side. The highway noise even in the room is significant

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSchrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Mike Schrek,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for selecting our hotel when staying in the area. As a Hilton Honors member we strive to make your experience the best possible and we apologize that we have failed to meet your expectations. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we work to improve our on-property experience. We hope you will give us another try so we may demonstrate our commitment to your loyalty to the Hilton Brand.

Best Regards,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a great hotel for our Ironman weekend. The staff was really friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, updated, and clean. Ours had a great view of the pool area. The evening reception was nice with free appetizers and drinks. One of the best things was the free breakfast EVERY morning. The made to order omelets station was excellent as was the hot buffet. There’s a Whole Food, Starbucks, and some local eateries all within walking distance. And the restaurant/bar in the hotel is pretty tasty as well (another review for that). Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahulm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Overall the property is really nice for being a "courtyard" type of hotel. Problems with the tub draining were never addressed by the staff that were called in. Hotel is located near the freeway for easy access and also near some eateries if you don't want to eat on the property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I really enjoyed the hotel. Room service was way over-priced, but otherwise I was very pleased!!! The hotel was clean and comfortable. I was there for business purposes. We were well fed and food was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Md, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As all of my previous visits to Phoenix, this trip to Tempe was outstanding. The room, the staff, food and the refreshments at the manger's party was first class. The only thing to say is I'LL BE BACK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites Phoenix / Tempe for an overnight layover while on business. I had about 1/2 a day to spend at the hotel and in the Phoenix area. This Embassy Suites is not a typical Embassy Suites property. There are several connected buildings that are two stories, and the doors to the rooms are all outdoor facing. The lobby is fabulously appointed, the staff is very friendly, and the shuttle bus drivers are really, really nice and full of great information.

The rooms are nicely done with two-tone wood furniture and a modern look. The bathroom was modern with great water pressure and hot water. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel, and the bedroom (with the curtains drawn) was one of the darkest I've ever been in. That, with the quietness of the hotel, made for one of the best night's sleep I've had in a long time.

The Manager's reception in the evening was outstanding. It was more than the typical Embassy Suites bar snacks and beer / wine. This had chips & salsa, bar snacks, and for all intents and purposes, an open bar. I did not take advantage of the open bar, but there was plenty of seating (inside and out) and several TVs to watch while conversing.

Garcia's restaurant is attached to the hotel, which is excellent. Breakfast is also in Garcia's which is taken over by the hotel in the morning. Great choices for food, fresh, and always refilled.

From the moment being picked up from the airport to the moment I was dropped back off, a 100% outstanding experience. I will stay here again in a heartbeat when back in the area. I travel a lot, and this place is a gem.

Thank you for a great, though short, overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirfry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
3.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
Address: 4400 S Rural Rd, Tempe, AZ 85282-7044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large, two-room suites suites with granite, marble and travertine. Complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast, beverage reception each evening, airport transportation, on-site restaurant. Suites open up to a Resort Style interior courtyard with outdoor pool and hot tub. Wireless internet access throughout. Complimentary 24 Hr. Business Center and Fitness Center. Over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, including our 4,000 square foot Grand Ballroom. A perfect Tempe location for business or leisure travel. Near Arizona State University, and all major business, shopping, entertainment, sports venues, restaurants and attractions in the East Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix
Embassy Suites Tempe
Tempe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing