We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were given the first room, to only find that our room key didn't work. Then after lugging our three large pieces of luggage down three floors, the second room that we were issued wasn't any better, in fact worse because it was getting cold out and the furnace didn't work. We had to wait four hours for a repairman to fix it, and in the middle of the night still had to turn up the heat two more times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Judith N,

I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room with HVAC unit and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,


Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were travelling with 16 mo. old twins. ES offered the only two room suite. The suite was ideal in allowing a place for the babies to nap without being disturbed, refrigerator for their milk, easy complimentary breakfast and plenty of room. We had so much fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Super comfy bed. Spotless room & bathroom. The Room, Bathroom, Furniture, Internet, Television everything was updated. The evening reception was generous. The Breakfast was outrageous. Hardest working, friendliest staff. TOP HONORS all around. NO KIDDING.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Everything was great, except it was a cold rainy week-end in the Phoenix area and the room heat did not work with outside temperature in the mid 50's. Breakfast was very good 2 of 3 days. Evening reception was very good service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank thomasdB3369ZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As a premium Hilton Honors member, I tend to stay at Hilton Properties and especially target Embassy Suites when possible. So, we obviously chose the Tempe Embassy Suites for our family Thanksgiving vacation.

I would advise against staying here as the operation is far from the Hilton standard for Embassy Suites.

Here are the observations leading to my recommendation:
-too few working the front desk (just 1). Long check in lines set the stage for further frustration
-rooms are ok, but far from nice or being in good repair. Our room had a leak somewhere with the carpet outside the bathroom constantly soaked. Also, several of the electrical outlets in the room didn't work.
-housekeeping absolutely stunk. No towel refills. No refills of soap, shampoo, etc. this is especially disturbing as housekeeping has been called out in many previous reviews. Clearly nothing has been done to improve an obvious poor housekeeping standard
-front desk staff left us waiting in line to buy snacks from the pantry while she finished on a personal call, and I might add she didn't hurry to finish
-strange breakfast hours. Closed at 9 am. That seems a bit early for a holiday. When people are trying to sleep in. We missed breakfast during our stay... And that is one of the main draws of embassy suites!
-also, if you do decide to come here, avoid being on the freeway side. The highway noise even in the room is significant

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank MikeSchrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Mike Schrek,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for selecting our hotel when staying in the area. As a Hilton Honors member we strive to make your experience the best possible and we apologize that we have failed to meet your expectations. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we work to improve our on-property experience. We hope you will give us another try so we may demonstrate our commitment to your loyalty to the Hilton Brand.

Best Regards,

Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was a great hotel for our Ironman weekend. The staff was really friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, updated, and clean. Ours had a great view of the pool area. The evening reception was nice with free appetizers and drinks. One of the best things was the free breakfast EVERY morning. The made to order omelets station was excellent as was the hot buffet. There’s a Whole Food, Starbucks, and some local eateries all within walking distance. And the restaurant/bar in the hotel is pretty tasty as well (another review for that). Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahulm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Overall the property is really nice for being a "courtyard" type of hotel. Problems with the tub draining were never addressed by the staff that were called in. Hotel is located near the freeway for easy access and also near some eateries if you don't want to eat on the property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
3.0 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
2.0 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#12 of 53 in Tempe
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Address: 4400 S Rural Rd, Tempe, AZ 85282-7044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £90 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large, two-room suites suites with granite, marble and travertine. Complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast, beverage reception each evening, airport transportation, on-site restaurant. Suites open up to a Resort Style interior courtyard with outdoor pool and hot tub. Wireless internet access throughout. Complimentary 24 Hr. Business Center and Fitness Center. Over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, including our 4,000 square foot Grand Ballroom. A perfect Tempe location for business or leisure travel. Near Arizona State University, and all major business, shopping, entertainment, sports venues, restaurants and attractions in the East Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix
Embassy Suites Tempe
Tempe Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing