We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Questionable on several levels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Dr - Asu
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Questionable on several levels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I needed a place to stay and didn't want to spend a ton of money. My Garmin picked up on this Motel 6. I wanted to stay somewhere close to Sky Harbor Airport.

Easy check in and the cost was $41.00. I got a room on the ground level.

Later that night, some guy in a truck swung by the room and looked at me in the doorway and yelled "you a******". I don't know if there was someone staying in my room and I was mistaken for another person. Certainly a lot of people in and around this Motel 6 that were on the rough side.

That night I found a bug in the bathroom that looked a lot like a bed bug. I took it to the front office the next morning and the manager called my room and said it was some sort of beetle. He gave me $10.00 off the room. The people at the front desk were very nice.

Otherwise the room, bed, bathroom etc. were OK. The swimming pool was quite small.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helpingothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
11
6
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Tried this Motel 6 a second time in order to give it a chance to redeem itself. It did not. Perfect grounds and woods to short walk a dog.
Got in line at the desk and when I tried to check in was told I was in a cash only line.....would I mind waiting? I said no. Enrique was a real help and said we could do all the paper work and then swipe the card at the next register. Meanwhile, at 4:30pm , there were no non-smoking rooms available and the wait was 20-30 minutes with two other guest already a head of me. I asked about smoking rooms and was given one. It was hot and the dog was in the car.
Mean while, another guy had budged in line and was being helped by an attendant as they sorted out a problem. So, I waited longer and the line behind me grew to 6 people. Finally, got the card swiped and I thought Enrique was a great employee making the best of a bad situation. The room was on the third floor though I had asked for a bottom floor. It was ok, lots of burn marks, but a nice view.
Not a great motel for finding a place to eat. One place down the street, Hail Marys, and it was crowded. The bar and the dining room are separate so that would be nice for families. Not real cheap, beer was on the warmer side, but a nice .99 happy hour appetizer selection. Try the Rippers!
The parking lot was totally full back at the motel so parked beside a marked marking spot and hoped for the best. There is a pool.
Ethan and I love Motel 6, but doubt we will stay at this one again. Go to the one on Broadway or on Scottsdale Rd.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

During my stay at the Motel 6, it was clean, and friendly service. The new shower design was nice. One that curves out and round. I always enjoy my stay at the Motel 6 as it is what a motel should be: one to kick back and relax in and not live in. Who needs luxury when you are on the go? Motel 6 is good for those that have a busy lifestyle and need a cheaper place to stay for the night versus all the luxurious hotels that you do not need all the luxuries. If you are looking for a clean and inexpensive nights stay; Motel 6 is the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelajoyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Upon arrival we were placed in room 130 which we selected for security reasons (we were given a choice of rooms). We dropped our things off and went off to a business meeting which ran very late. Upon our return we noticed that the TV was broken and asked for another first floor room. None were available but we were offered the room directly above 130. We moved our things and went to sleep.
At 5am our car alarm went off but since we were on the 2nd floor it took a few minutes to wake us up. The time it took for us to make our way to even see the car was just time enough for the jerk who broke into our car time to clean us out and run away.
We notified the office and I want to say now, that with the exception of the Manager (Dan Carabeo) each and every staff member we encountered was amazingly nice, courteous and helpful.
When we notified the office we were told that we needed to speak to Dan to see what he could do for us. I called him when we returned from another meeting and after a brief conversation which ended in him telling me "you have 15 minutes to vacate my property" we left.
We had paid in advance for 2 nights. He offered us our second night in a refund, which he seemed to think was very nice of him. When I requested our first night also be refunded he said he "would not" do that regardless of the circumstances of our previous nights stay.
When I told him that this was not satisfactory he became combative and raised his voice to me. Having been a business owner for some time and in customer service for 2 decades prior to that... I know that word of mouth is everything. I told him that I would be posting this review and telling all of my friends and family to never stay in this motel to which he replied "You're threatening me. Vacate my property in 15 minutes." He also claimed to have never had any incident of theft at his location before but the Tempe Police Department says otherwise and went so far as to state that the location was an ongoing problem.
I would not stay here every again... although I still remain a loyal Motel 6 customer.


Upon our own investigation we found several dilapidated bikes and and "escape ramp" behind the dumpster that enables someone to simply walk up a plank and pop over the fence and get away clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbsummerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

My best friend and I stayed here after we weren't to get in touch with some friends whom we were supposed to visit. We had to scramble at the last minute to find a hotel. We went with Motel 6 because we remembered they were fairly affordable and decent.

We got the affordable part right, but this Motel 6 was in a questionable area. There were lots of people hanging out in the parking lot all night. I've stayed in other Motel 6's and this one is the worst. The room smelled musty and moldy. If we weren't so exhausted, we would have gone elswhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneKDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

Like most Motel 6's, this one has relatively new furnishings, simple and affordable. We however were a bit frightened by the caliber of the guests and the area. We ended up putting the chair by the door and woke up ok. If you stay here, keep repeating your savings or come late and leave early. The Scottsdale 6 is in a safer location for a few dollars more...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_cactusguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano,IT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

Stayed one night with a group of friends before flying back to Italy, Average rooms, clean and spacious enough. Quiet area compared to the VERY noisy locations around the airport, yet easy to reach the next day. Wi-fi worked fine. Only in our room (out of 4 we got) A/C was working so-so, but no big deal. Would come back!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james19745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
3.4 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#33 of 52 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - Tempe
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Dr - Asu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Dr - Asu

Property: Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Dr - Asu
Address: 1720 S Priest Dr, I-10-East Exit 153/Broadway Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-6205
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Dr - Asu 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Drive, ASU campus, Diablo Stadium (Spring home of the Anaheim Angels), and the Phoenix Zoo. For your convenience we also offer a coin laundry facility.Premium WiFi -$4.99 Basic Wifi: $2.99 Modern Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Phoenix Tempe - Priest Dr - Asu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tempe
Motel Six Tempe
Tempe Motel Six
Tempe Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing