We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a dump”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Rented two rooms on the club floor before a flight home the next day and wished I had stayed anywhere else. Had that nagging terrible feeling after I stayed here, you know the one where you feel ripped off. People were smoking in the rooms, yelling in the halls, slamming doors, running the ice machine til 2 am. Very dirty, dingy, old, run-down Sheraton. Will not stay at Starwood again unless it is a newer Westin, Four Points, or Aloft.

Room Tip: Try another room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksp125, Director of Sales at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Travelguy69,

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear about your overall experience while staying at our hotel. We are currently undergoing a $3.5 Million renovation on the guest rooms and hallways. We do look forward to this being complete in the Fall, 2014 and we do hope that you will return and allow us the opportunity to earn back your business. The next time that you are in town, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Katie Provot
Director of Sales
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel
480.293.9079
Katie.provot@sheratontempe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    157
    124
    53
    42
See reviews for
96
120
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Dimas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Was here in March for Spring Training baseball. Biggest complaint is that for this class of hotel and the price paid, there was no simple in room amenities such as a refrigerator or microwave. I've stayed in lesser class hotels and paid much less and have had those in room items. Pool is area is one of the nicest in the area but while we were there the large fireplace by the pool only had 1 of 3 burners working and was making a very loud noise as one burner kept flickering off and on. Brought this to the attention of hotel staff and maintenance was supposed to come out and at least take a look, but never did. Also, we were there for 3 nights and the garbage/recycle cans in the room were never emptied by house keeping.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank glenns438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksp125, Director of Sales at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear glenn s,

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear that your experience while staying at our hotel was not up to Sheraton standards. Since this review was posted, we have made some great additions in management and staffing which will resolve some of the issues that you mentioned, but I have passed on your comments to the appropriate departments so we can take action. We are currently undergoing a $3.5 Million renovation on the guest rooms and hallways. We do look forward to this being complete in the Fall, 2014 and we do hope that you will return and allow us the opportunity to earn back your business. The next time that you are in town, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Katie Provot
Director of Sales
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel
480.293.9079
Katie.provot@sheratontempe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for work, right off the highway and at first glance looks more like a La Quinta or Days Inn than a Sheraton. Nice enough lobby but after that things went downhill fast. The room was musty and the AC was simply not working. Blowing hot air. The controls on the wall actually did nothing and turns out the controls on the unit itself were the only way to get it to work. After mentioning this they did fix it, but then it was too cold and nothing I could do would fix that. The wifi in the room did not work at all. The shower was all but broken, very hard to turn nozzles and you could tell it had been rigged up just to work. Service at the bar/restaurant was met with snarl and quick comment on how they would be closing at 10pm, well it was only 9:30pm. They also took upon themselves to close us out, tip themselves and leave, all without checking on us. The outdoor fireplace, which we were really enjoying, we turned off right in front of us because the only guy that knew how to work it had to leave. He literally flipped a switch. All in all this place is subpar compared to other hotels in the area, e.g. Aloft right down the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommygalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksp125, Director of Sales at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear tommygalloway,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear about your overall experience and I have taken each of your comments and have met with the appropriate department heads regarding the issues that you were faced with while staying with us. We are currently undergoing a $3.5 Million renovation on the guest rooms and hallways which will include the bathrooms, air conditioners and the overall musty smell. We do look forward to this being complete in the Fall, 2014 and we do hope that you will return and give the Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel another chance to do what we strive to do best. Since this review, we have new management in place and changes have been made in regards to service. The next time that you are in town, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you,
Katie Provot
Director of Sales
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel
480.293.9079
Katie.provot@sheratontempe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My co-workers and I booked this hotel because the other hotels in the area were all sold out, so it was between the Sheraton and La Quinta. When we arrived, we were told the room/bed types we had reserved were not available, so they would have to put us in what was left. We informed them that we would need the shuttle in the morning to take us to a meeting we had at 9:00 and set the shuttle up so that they knew we would have to go. They told us that we should leave at 8:30 to ensure we made it. The following morning, when we went to wait for the shuttle, we were told that the shuttle was out on another run and wouldn't be back for about 20 minutes. They did however have a taxi sitting outside - which we would have to pay for.

When we checked out, I asked the front desk for a printed copy of my bill. The rep told me that it was emailed to me, and when I asked him again for a printed copy, he gave me a funny look before asking me "so you want an email AND a printed copy?" It seemed as though they don't want to print a copy of your bill if they email it to you.

This particular property is old. The lobby, pool area and fireplace are nice, but the rooms are lacking. The beds are not very comfortable and the bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. The lighting in the bathroom is limited to a few low wattage bulbs in the corner above the sink, and with a shower curtain, the amount of light is drastically reduced when you take a shower. The shower itself needed some work. The grout in between the tiles were cracked and moldy and it appeared as though whoever "patched" it up used caulk instead of actually re-grouting it. The towels in the bathroom were so well worn and washed that some were frayed and tearing apart. I am quite surprised that Starwood would allow this property to retain the flagship "Sheraton" branding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetsetAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carm_TEM, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear JetsetAlex,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We have shuttle service available 24/7 and have a 2nd Shuttle driver available in the mornings to accommodate our guest’s needs. We have addressed your concerns with our management team and staff for continued improvement.. We want to provide the satisfaction that you expect and deserve at the Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Used hotwire.com for the first time and landed with this hotel for a 1 night stay before traveling out of town the next morning. The rate through hotwire was acceptable at $105/night, which was lower than what I was able to find at other nearby airport hotels. However, when I checked I felt as though I was treated as a second class guest for booking through a "third party". The front desk lady would not make eye contact and was rude in her responses to my questions about the shuttle times, etc. That was disappointing.

The room was better than average - comfortable bed and clean room. The carpets in the hallway were stained. There were heating/cooling controls on the wall which did not work. The hotel restaurant was good with above average service. The fitness room was nice with complimentary bottled water. I did not use the pool but it looked fun. The shuttle service to the airport was timely. Overall, the hotel was pretty good but I would choose somewhere else next time for better service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carm_TEM, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We first want to apologize for the experience that you had with our staff. We want every guest to feel like they are home when they stay at our hotel and that expectation was not met during your stay. Please be assured that every guest no matter the way the reservation was made it a valued guest. We will address the challenge with our associates and use this as a training tool for our staff. We will be addressing the challenges that you had with the carpet and air conditioning as we are going to be doing a full room renovation this summer. Thank you again and we hope that you will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Long story short, the room smelled of musty old mildew, the tables had not been cleaned, and the bathroom had hair both female and male razor hair everywhere. Also the ice machine broke and water was in the hallway everywhere and then the repair guys were outside wetvac for hours. I was so disugusted with the room I found an late night flight back home and left immediately.

Room Tip: I think the hotel overall is an ok place to be, however my experience was bad. I think this Sheraton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carm_TEM, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for you review. We never want our guests to feel like they need to leave the hotel early. We sincerely apologize for the challenges that you had while staying with us. We did experience an unforeseen leak with our ice machine and we were trying to contain the water as best as we could without disturbing the guests and apologize that it did affect your stay with us. We will be going through a full room renovation this summer to address many of the other challenges that you had during your stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkolner
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I’ve spent hundreds of night in Starwood hotels. This is one is OK. What concerns me is this hotel represents what the Sheraton band in the U.S. has become.

Have you ever enjoyed the views from the Club Lounge at the Sheraton Waikiki or Cape Town? Have you had memorable experiences at the Sheraton hotels in Mexico City, Frankfort, or Hanoi? Sheraton hotel owners outside the U.S. should be concerned that this hotel shares the same branding.

Those hotels aren’t any more expensive than this one. If you’re spending a night in a mid-price hotel ($200 per night), it would be a little more comforting if the elevators were in better repair, electrical outlets worked, the hallways weren’t as dingy, and the layout of the hotel didn’t remind you of a Holiday Inn (was this hotel one at one time?).

For an overnight stay in Tempe or near the Phoenix airport, it’s OK. My concern is that Starwood lets properties like this be a branded as a “Sheraton” hotel. What exactly does the brand mean?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkolner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carm_TEM, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We understand the concerns that you had with the hotel and want to let you know that we will be doing a full renovation of the rooms and public areas. We understand the needs of our guests and are working towards ensuring their complete satisfaction. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon so that we can show off our fantastic new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
3.1 mi away
Aloft Tempe
Aloft Tempe
#28 of 52 in Tempe
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe

Property: Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Address: 1600 S 52nd St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to Sky Harbor International Airport, Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe is also near desirable attractions, including museums, world class dining, and Arizona State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tempe
Tempe Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing