We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Spring Training”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our first time staying at Tempe Mission Palms and what a great time we had! It was so nice to walk out the front or back entrance to find restaurants, bars or shopping. The trolly for the Cubs game was a huge convenience. The hotel personal was fantastic! Asking directions or bringing us our rental car, the bell staff was outstanding, many compliments to Bill, Otto, Calvin & Regan. Our room was nice and the cleaning service was always there and had your room cleaned early in the day. The grounds were clean and colorful with all the flowers.
We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor opposite side of the elevators, so it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 98LisaW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    395
    94
    41
    27
See reviews for
274
223
96
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Cannot understand why this place is so highly ranked, maybe people don't travel much. So the first room they put me in was right next to an elevator and all I heard was the elevator going up and down. It was a Sunday night and the place wasn't very busy, so why would they put me next to an elevator. So I went to reception and had my room changed. As soon as I walked into room #2 I was hit by a very strong cigarette smell, in a non-smoking room. I turned right-around and went to reception to get another room. Room #3 was okay and that was that. But there is nothing particularly special about this place. It tries to be high-end with a valet service and restaurant but it won't impress the seasoned traveler.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from elevators, apparently that's not implied at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChooChoo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear ChooChoo34,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I was concerned to hear about the issues with the noise from the elevator, and I have spoken with our Director of Engineering about the noise, and we will be working to fix this problem. I also would like to apologize that there was a cigarette odor in the other room you were in, as we are a non-smoking hotel and there should be no cigarette odors. Thank you for taking the time to let me know of these problems, as we are only able to improve our services with honest guest feedback, such as yours.

Sincerely,
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were here for a 60th Wedding Anniversary. Front Desk , restaurants, pool, room, grounds, bar, everything was clean. They have a shuttle to and from the airport, Nice! The smell of the orange blossoms is unbelievable!! A very nice Resort in the Middle of town. Stores, Restaurants, bars are all in walking distance. We will be back..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This Hotel has the perfect location for wherever you may be travelling in the general Phoenix/Tempe area. The rooms are very nice and the staff is above average. The grounds are well appointed and well kept. You are walking distance to dozen of resturants and shopping. Old town is a short drive and the area has no shortage of activities. The hotel is loacted near ASU so be prepared to Party if you so choose

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was my third or fourth stay at the hotel. I was attending the corporate event and the hotel itself and service were both impeccable. It was most refreshing to be able to walk around the courtyard and snack at the snack shack during breaks. I needed a car for the day and the concierge was most helpful in arranging that at a very reasonable rate. If I can wholeheartedly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear William M,

I would like to thank you for recommending Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you choose us when visiting Tempe, and that our staff, including our concierge, were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to your next visit, and we will keep the Snack Shack stocked for your return!

Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As I write this at 11:30 pm on a Thursday night, I am listening to music pounding through the hotel wall from the bar across the street. The hotel tells me there are no quiet rooms available to escape the noise and that the bar is legal entitled to continue the "festivities" until 2:00 am. While I have no other complaints about the hotel, not being able to get a decent night's sleep is a pretty big downside to the experience of staying here. However, it's not all bad news - the hotel did give me a free pair of earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAdmonisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear TripAdmonisher,

I would like to extend my apologies for the noise coming from the bar across the street from our property. I have been in contact with the City of Tempe and the Tempe Police Department about these noise issues, and as a result, the police department will be issuing citations to those establishments violating the noise ordinances. I know that this does not change your experience, but please know that we have heard your concerns and are working to resolve the issues. Again, please accept my sincere apology, and I hope that you will return in the future to see that we have resolved these problems.

Sincerely,
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwestern US
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were here for a weekend conference (Friday and Saturday nights) and suffered through loud, pounding noise from 9:30 pm to 2:30 am both nights. Even with earplugs, I could hear the roar from partiers. The hotel was sold out, so no switching to quieter room was possible. Staff commented that Tempe has 55,000 ASU students in the vicinity, implying that they were blameless. My take: Tempe is not a town for non-students or those without a compelling reason to be near ASU. The noise from the bars on Mill Ave is a fatal flaw: rooms that face 5th or Mill have no sound insulation (I noted single-pane windows in our room). I am normally oblivious to noise, but this level was exceptional. The good news: if you are looking for a party school, look no further than ASU. Those kids were having a wild time. Others in our group reported noise from a wedding on the property and from smokers on the second floor interior balcony. Good food might be another casualty of lots of student consumers in the vicinity. Food from hotel kitchen was mediocre. Rather a shame as the property handled our conference beautifully (no noise during daylight hours). The meeting rooms were well-organized and the central patio charming. Concierge helpful, valet parking well-run. But hard to get excited about a hotel where you can't get a good night's sleep. I hope I never spend a weekend here again. Not sure I'd risk a visit on a weekday either.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss_W0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Miss_W0rd,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. I apologize that the noise disrupted your sleep during your recent stay. I would like you to know that I have been in contact with the City of Tempe and the Tempe Police Department about the noise issues from nearby establishments, and they will be enforcing the noise ordinances, particularly with the loud music that is piped to outdoor speakers. I know that this does not change your experience, but I hope you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it. I also appreciate your positive feedback about our staff, and will be sure to pass along your comments. Thank you again for letting me know about your experience.

Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 52 in Tempe
386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 60 E 5th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing