We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was here for a few days for a professional conference. This hotel is a perfect venue for it. The rooms were nice & clean. Service was great. Food was outstanding. Location perfect - lot to do within in walking distance. The pool was a great refresher. I enjoyed climbing "A" mountain at the rear of the property - climb and watch the sunset @ night. Tempe Town Lake is a short walk from the hotel - another enjoyable place to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkronTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear AkronTravelBug,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. We were glad you were able to experience the Tempe area during your recent conference, and that you found our facilities to be a “perfect venue.” I hope you are able to come visit us again for a vacation, or that you are back for another conference soon.

Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Tempe Mission Palms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for just a night. The location is top notch. I love hotels that I can walk to town from and this defiantly has that. The lobby was nicely appointed and spacious; the staff was friendly.

The room was pretty nice. Smaller than I expected for the kind of hotel they advertise to be but it worked for a night. The room was clean, except the surfaces that don't get touched a lot were very dusty. I've never seen that in a hotel. The courtyard was cute and lively the one night I was there (a thursday) for cocktails and breakfast. I did not see or use the pool.

To this hotels credit, I had just stayed at a really nice resort for 3 nights before this so I had high expectations coming in. The location is the best part of this hotel... Downtown tempe is super cute!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Orangepeel107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I am in LOVE with this hotel. From the super friendly staff to the the ultra clean and modern rooms...this hotel is perfect. I think all of the rooms have a Juliet balcony, which was a nice, romantic feature. The hotel is located within walking distance to the University and a nice downtown area with plenty of shops and restaurants. We also walked around the corner to a metro/train station. I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travel_allover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First off, the hotel has a very nice location. The property is situated on the main shopping street in Tempe. Second off, the condition of the property is fine. The room was clean and the furnishings were nice, however the pool area was filthy and unkept. While we could have ignored that issue, what soured our stay was the terrible service.

First off, the operator that answered when attempting to book a shuttle was very rude. It took several calls over a lengthy period to obtain the shuttle because it kept not showing up.

Secondly, the bartender in the pool area was rude, however she was busy and overworked without a server, so I did not mind.

Lastly, upon returning home, we discovered that we were overcharged for our stay. I called the hotel and spoke with a gentleman named 'Rick'. Rick indicated that he could not find the charge, which I knew to be incorrect. I asked to speak with the manager and Rick rudely claimed that he was the manager. I then asked for the contact information of the general manager and Rick responded with 'goodbye sir' and disconnected my call. This is unacceptable service.

After dealing with Rick I emailed the hotel twice asking for the email address of the general manager. I did not receive a response. I then called the hotel and was able to obtain the email address of the general manager, Ken. I emailed Ken in late April, almost 2 weeks ago and have not received a response.

In short, if you want to be treated poorly, come home to excessive charges on your credit card, and not receive a reply from the general manager, stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thechef6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Couldn't beat the location for the RnR 1/2 - walking distance to both the start and finish as well as to restaurants and the train into Phoenix. Friendly, helpful staff. The only negative would be the noise from the bars across the street until at least 1 am.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srovito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Location: perfect for access to downtown, campus, metro light rail, and airport.
Room: comfortably well furnished. potential for noise on courtyard and, apparently - as noted in other reviews - in proximity to restaurants/bars.
Service: generally but not uniformly professional, attentive and responsive. We did encounter some surliness at the concierge desk, but it was not the rule.
Conference facilities and associated meals were excellent in organization and preparation.
Fitness Facilities: Limited space and selection of equipment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear SALMD,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate your honest feedback on areas we could improve upon, and thank you for recognizing our hard working staff members that are a great contribution to our success – particularly with hosting conferences. We look forward to your next stay.

Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Tempe Mission Palms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Came here for work the other week, really friendly staff and were super accomodating

Very convenient to ASU campus and close to restaurants, and PHX airport. They even have a free shuttle.

Good free wifi. Only reason I didn't give 5 star is the pool is a little outdated but nevertheless served its function in the sun city!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear flyingflipflops,

Thank you for your recent review of Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. You will be glad to know that we have a complete remodeling of our pool coming very soon, including new decking and furniture. I hope that you visit us again, and experience all the great changes to the rooftop pool. Thank you for acknowledging our hard working staff, also.

Ken McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
1 mi away
Aloft Tempe
Aloft Tempe
#26 of 53 in Tempe
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 60 E 5th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#1 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £142 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing