We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Fantastic Accommodation, Tasty Eats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The excellent service started from the moment I picked up my bags at the airport and called for a shuttle pick up. The guest service agent was friendly and informative. It's a short ride from Phoenix to the hotel and since it was my first visit I found it to be interesting.

Arrival at the resort was easy, bell hop service attentive and the hotel lobby striking. Check in was easy and I was thankful to get to my room. I found that to be impressive, not overly large but well appointed, comfortable with all the right touches and everything I needed. My room overlooked the courtyard and had doors that opened so I could enjoy a breeze, the view and the chatter of all the birds that reside in the very large orange trees.

There was a mini fridge, coffee maker, hairdryer and good quality body wash, shampoo and conditioner provided, along with a small supply of q-tips, hand soap and lotion. There were also a few sundries available.

As with most all hotels & resorts the menus are outrageously priced, but upon arrival I was too tired to go out so ordered room service. The food was good.

I attended a conference and found the venue was fantastic. I would highly recommend this property for planners seeking a great spot. There were plenty of break out rooms, and a large ballroom for the welcome and keynote presentations. I especially loved that our daily breakfast was provided in the courtyard and that there was a snack center for beverages and food items open continuously throughout the day for whatever anyone desired. It was always well stocked with healthy and tasty options.. something for everyone. Lunch was also provided daily and was delicious!

One of the items served during lunch was so good that in my direct response to the resorts inquiry of my stay - I asked for the recipe AND THEY WROTE BACK AND GAVE IT TO ME! Never did I really think they would take the time to 1. read my review / feedback and 2. actually provide the recipe! So Glad I asked.

If you're planning a trip to visit kids at ASU, or just heading to the area for a visit, stay here! One noteworthy item I mentioned above, there are a lot of birds who were a bit noisy. I typically travel with a fan for white noise while I sleep.. this was absolutely necessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottieottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear scottieottie,

Thank you for your recent review of Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, and the conference you attended. Our chef was happy to share that recipe with you, and I hope you enjoy it at home. Thank you for recommending our conference facilities and property, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Ken McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is quite grand. The courtyard is a relaxed area with plenty of different types of seating. The upper level pool is small but nice. The rooms are comfortable but small. Staff are pleasant and accommodating.
The best part is the location. You can absolutely walk to everything. We enjoyed the art museum at the college then walked to some fun bars. There was a good variety of restaurants with good food at reasonable prices.
We had a great stay and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Whether you're visiting for university business, a conference, a downtown activity, or just visiting for fun the location of this property is fantastic. My room was clean, tidy, and up-to-date with all the expected amenities in good order. The interior courtyard is an oasis with pool and bar and lush landscaping. I skipped the valet parking and parked my rental myself with no problems. Hotel staff were harried but friendly and helpful. I plan to stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Mill Avenue to the west -- not scenic and noisy. I prefer facing the inner courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickHeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear NickHeckel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location to be convenient, as we are the only full-service hotel located right on Mill Avenue. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Ken McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed three nights at the Tempe Mission Palms. The courtyard and bar are thoroughly enjoyable, with cozy corners and attractive landscaping. The rooms are well appointed, and the pool area was festive. If you have a room facing 5th Street, do expect some noise from the bars. It will span 10 pm to 2 am. If you can't deal with Tempe's party spirit, request a room facing the courtyard or on the north side of the property.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th Street are for those who want to share Tempe's party vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time during spring training in 2014. Most of the comments I made in my first review are still accurate. It's a nice hotel and the location and courtyard put it above average. We would definitely stay here again.

This time we had a room that faced into the courtyard and it was everything that I thought it would be; having windows that opened into the courtyard was way nicer than having windows that looked out onto the street. The only drawback was that our room was over the bar/restaurant, which was very loud, so we couldn't have our windows open as much as I would have liked. I would definitely try to get a courtyard room in the future, but further away from the restaurant. In fact, I wish I could request a courtyard room when making my reservation--I would be willing to pay a little extra to guarantee a courtyard room.

They do seem to have improved the parking situation. We were given a parking permit upon check-in and didn't have to park with the valet. The parking lot was pretty crowded but we always found a spot (and if we couldn't find a spot, we still had the valet as an option).

The biggest negative to our stay this time was that there was some sort of conference there at the same time and the conference-goers were very loud and drunk. Some of them were having a party across the hall from us on both nights. I will say that the hotel was very quick about responding to the noise issues--we never had to complain, the hotel always intervened before we were at the point of asking for assistance. There was still more noise than we would have liked but I have to assume this was an anomaly and they aren't having conferences like this on a regular basis.

But, overall, we were still very happy with our stay. The room was spacious and clean. We love the orange trees in the courtyard. All of the staff that we interacted with were very helpful and friendly. And the location can't be beat if you are an A's fan, in for spring training.

Room Tip: Having a window that opens into the courtyard is a nice plus, but try to get one as far from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Momrath,

Thank you for staying at Tempe Mission Palms again for your spring training vacation. I am sorry that you experienced some issues with noise from our neighboring establishments, but we are working with the City of Tempe to enforce the noise ordinances so our guests will not be bothered. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to your next stay with us! Go A’s!

Ken McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Room was ready and "defeathered" as I requested. Bed was quite comfy. Check-in was very fast - almost too fast. Wasn't given anything to confirm my rate and incidentals - they just handed the keys over and I was on my way. A little disconcerting - especially after the room + $150 incidental fee got charged to my card (and was reversed when I checked out). There's a parking valet but parking yourself is just as easy. The hotel layout is square with a nice, open courtyard in the middle. There was a wedding there the weekend I was there and it looked beautiful. The pool area - which I spent a lot of time at - was nice and clean. My one complaint is that the pool bar was closed more than it was open. Made it hard to get a drink and relax as I intended. You really can't beat the hotel location if you want to enjoy Tempe. You're a short walk to a lot of food and bar options on Mill Ave. Tempe Town Lake is a short couple of walking blocks as well. "A" Mountain (the ASU "hill" with the "A" on it) is right behind the hotel and is a bit challenging (very vertical!) but worth the trek. All in all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room near the elevator. The hotel is square so you may have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadCity53562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for business and it was nice enough. The reception folks were very nice and helpful. The room was clean but the bed was kind of lopsided and I didn't really get much sleep. The bartender was really pleasant and made great drinks. All in all a nice place, but could use some new beds!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcjetskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear rcjetskier,

Thank you for your honest feedback about your experience during your recent stay with us. I apologize for the quality of the bed you had in your room, but please know that we will be replacing all of our mattresses in the near future. I know this doesn’t change your experience, but I hope you can feel confident that we have heard your opinion and are doing something about it. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Ken McKenzie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#12 of 53 in Tempe
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#10 of 53 in Tempe
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 60 E 5th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £139 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing