We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a convention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We travel to a number of conventions and trade shows during the year, and try to stay at the host hotel. Sometimes this is a compromise - you're right there for events, but the room is so bad it's only a place for sleeping. The Mission Palms had no compromises. The rooms were a standard size, clean, well-decorated, and made up in the morning within 30 minutes of putting the "please make up this room" sign on the doorknob.
The hotel itself was a perfect place for a warm-weather convention. The meeting rooms are arranged around a courtyard, which was a lovely spot to stop and talk. The Grille restaurant, open for breakfast and lunch, has a dozen tables in the courtyard and became one of our favorite places. The breakfast buffet at 13.95 for all you can eat was a great way to start the morning. We'd get a plate of food and leisurely eat, greeting other guests and getting up occasionally to refill. The scrambled eggs were the best I've ever had from a buffet - warm, fluffy, and moist. They even had a freezer full of Ben & Jerry's icecream treats!
From the moment the complimentary van pulled up at the airport, we felt welcomed and taken care of by the staff, who, for example, went out of their way to ensure to we able to ship packages home on a holiday weekend. Iced water in the lobby, a flower on room service trays, a friendly nod or hello when passing - the staff helped make the convention run smoothly.
And did I mention that the balcony doors in the room opened out onto the courtyard? I mean, really opened! For someone who actually likes Arizona heat, this was a blessing, as I could shut off the A.C. and open the door to get a warm breeze in the room - which quickly dried our bathing suits, as we took advantage of the pool and spa tubs as often as we could.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,672 - 1,678 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

I travel frequently for business, and enjoyed my 4 day stay here for a conference. Some rooms are remodeled and some are not - unfortunately, I happened to get one that was not and was a bit run down with a tiny bathroom. I saw one of my co-worker remodeled room and it was very modern and chic, and everything was new and clean. My room was decent, but it was a bit dated.

The pool and cabana area are a real plus. My group ate dinner and lunch at the hotel each day and the meals they prepared for us were absolutely wonderful, lots of variety and vegetarian options if you ask. The bar area is always hoppin' and the bartenders are incredibly pleasant - too bad I can't say the same for the concierge. Oh well, you can't have everything I suppose.

The center courtyard area was wonderful to sit in at night or during the day to catch a bit of sun - we walked to restaurants and many people took their morning runs around town - great location.

Definitely would recommend this hotel, but try to get a renovated room if you can (my old one was on the 2nd floor).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjohnso6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This hotel is the only semi-luxury hotel near ASU. The location is terrific if you need to go to ASU. It is a block from the college of engineering and there are free city shuttles that run every 15 minutes if you need to go to the other end of the campus or if it is so unbearably hot that you can not walk. The room is large and clean (see pictures). There was a notice at the front desk that said there was construction (remodeling) going on (noise). I did not hear any noise but did see some people working on a few rooms. I am sure the room I was in was remodeled (4th floor). I did not eat at the hotel, but there are dozens of restaurants steps from the hotel on Mill Ave. I really liked the Irish pub right out the back door of the hotel.
There was some noise coming from the courtyard area till about 10pm. This could have been because it was ASU welcome week and there were a lot of students at the hotel. I would also be aware that this hotel could get crazy when there is a home ASU football game, because it is only a block or two from the stadium.
Two more things: First, there is free wifi internet. Second, I took the light rail from the airport, therefore did not need a car. I found out that they have an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planningzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I stayed 3 nights in August for a meeting and found the service to be extremely courteous, the rooms very clean, and the other amenities to be excellent. The staff was responsive to every request and made the stay seem effortless. Our group had the use of the snack shack as part of the conference and we thought it was terrific. All the other meals were abundant and delicious. The pool atop the second floor was a nice getaway from the world and the cabanas were a nice touch. I love hotels with an inner courtyard and the grounds were very well maintained. Finally, having a free valet service to and from the airport was a real treat.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank 2lovehawaii2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Visit the Tempe Mission Palms for its great location. Situated in the Mill Avenue District, the Tempe Mission Palms is walking distance from Sun Devil Stadium, Wells Fargo Arena, Arizona State’s main campus, Tempe Town Lake, Gammage Auditorium and Mill Avenue. Mill Avenue is full of shops, restaurants, and has a great nightlife. If you are planning on visiting for a football game, be sure to book well in advance because the Tempe Mission Palms is a favorite for fans.

Jamie's Review: The rooms are a little outdated, however, they are planning a refurbishment. Hotel is shaped around a pretty courtyard with fountains and tables for outdoor eating. Breakfast buffet is OK, but a good value. Hotel has a comfortable spacious lobby with a good bar. Be sure to stop in at Z Tejas for a Chambord Margarita or have a pint at Rula Bula. Both are steps away from the hotel. During the cooler months of the year, hike up “A” Mountain for great views of the Valley.

Mike's Review: This hotel is always the first on my list when planning a trip back to Tempe. Literally the closest hotel to Sun Devil Stadium and right in the middle of everything else. Rooms are fine. Breakfast is a solid buffet. Free Parking. The swimming pool could use a little more vegetation and a little less concrete. Overall this is my favorite hotel in the area. Trust me and stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJTraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I live in Scottsdale, just up the road from ASU. Recently my son had a swim meet at ASU so we decided to do a little "staycation" . We selected the Tempe Mission Palms due to its proximity to the ASU campus and pool. We found the staff, grounds and hotel to be just what we wanted. We booked an "Exec " room that had two beds and a sofa sleeper. The beds were great. The A/C was cold and the room was recently renovated. We spent some time by the pool and walking the grounds. All are very nice. At night, we walked a short distance to the P.F. Changs fro dinner on Mill Ave. The Tempe Mission Palms has the best location for ASU and the Mill Ave. area. Recap: Friendly service, nice rooms, nice grounds/pool, best location! I give the Mission Palms high marks and will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I checked into the Tempe Mission Palms on Sat July 18 to spend a nice evening with my wife for her birthday. We had spent the week in Scottsdale for business and instead of flying home Sat morning chose to spend the night at the resort. Check in was a breeze with the pleasant staff, we asked for and received a poolside room, and took advantage of a package that included a $50 voucher for local restaurants. The staff was most friendly and accommodating with any questions we had, the bed was super comfy, the rate was very equitable, and the food at the Mission Grille (along with the service) was outstanding. All in all it could not have been a nicer way to spend my wife's birthday, and I would wholeheartedly recommend Tempe Mission Palms for fun or business to anyone. 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gratefldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#12 of 53 in Tempe
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#11 of 53 in Tempe
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 60 E 5th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-3658
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £95 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing