We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest Airport Hotel in Phoenix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatest Airport Hotel in Phoenix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We moved from a larger Hilton resort to this hotel because we had an early morning flight and wanted to take a van to the airport rather than try to return the car in the early morning. We also selected this hotel because we liked the pool and the restaurant serves what I consider to be the best Chicken Tortilla Soup I have tasted.

This hotel used to be called the Fiesta Resort and Conference Center. I have stayed at the Fiesta at least 5 times before they got the Hilton franchise and it was always a good experience. The Fiesta is now called the DoubleTree by Hilton Tempe. For an airport hotel - you do get the feeling of being at a small resort. The lobby has been redone recently - with comfortable leather chairs and a section that is sunken (several steps down) with a fireplace. Very fast and well functioning computers to print boarding passes etc.

The hotel is a cluster of a double row of two story buildings surrounding a swimming pool and hot tub. The pool is an old style that has a deep end of over 8' and very well maintained. No diving board of course. Pool closes at midnight. Since they became a DoubleTree they purchased new pool furniture which is very very comfortable (although not cushioned) and have recently installed new patio tiles. During off season the pool is quiet - we stayed in mid-June and for a time in the evening had the pool to ourselves. My experience is that it is a quiet hotel suitable for business travelers - although I have stayed there before during baseball spring training and it was a bit louder and many more kids.

The hotel rooms are what one would expect of a Hilton DoubleTree. Very comfortable beds, workstation with comfortable chair, flat screen TV (at least 30" I think). I did find the airconditioning inconsistent - If we put the temperature too low it got too cold. If we set it higher, then when it went off and on it woke us up. I suggest wearing a sweatshirt to bed and being comfortable. The bathrooms, although good, are next on the upgrade list.

The airport shuttle operates 24 hours a day and leaves precisely on time. You need to schedule a shuttle the night before so they have a driver ready. When arriving, call the hotel and they should be able to pick you up between 15 and 25 min from the call.

The hotel bar is welcoming - good service, and serves the full restaurant menu. Happy hour daily.

The hotel restaurant called Milagros - has what I consider to be the very best Chicken Tortilla Soup I have ever tasted with every spoonful filled with vegetables, meat, cheese and tortilla strips - tasty, spicy and filling. I finally figured out the predominant spice is chili powder.

With a AAA rate of less than $100, I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is laid out in a circle around the pool, some of the units are farther away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Joyce M-thank you for a perfect five out of five review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    260
    125
    47
    21
See reviews for
164
125
52
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I should have stayed at the DoubleTree longer!! The other hotel smelled like musty/ mildew; like the air conditioner had not been used for 3 months. Good thing I brought my paper facemask. Next time, I will spend the $20 more for luxury, comfort, cable, and AC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
June D-thank you for a perfect five out of five review! We are sorry to hear that you didn’t get a chance to spend more time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Tempe, AZ.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Rooms and bathroom were good-sized. I heard it was designed many years ago by a student of Frank Lloyd Wright which shows in the design. Loved the courtyard, the fitness was excellent, pool was nice (and clear) and the breakfast buffet was very good, with more choices than normal. It is dimly lit in the walkways at night, I liked it, but I could see that some more lights at night would be good.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flipperch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Flipperch-thank you for a five out of five review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Tempe.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Old and dark. Pool was a mess.
A/C sounds like a low-flying plane flying through the room. The room is either a sauna or ice box. Bathrooms not very clean and the paint was cracked and peeling. Not what one would expect from Hilton or Double Tree. Stay somewhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank euroman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the problems you experienced with your A/C during your recent trip. We will use your comments about our guest rooms to improve our on-property experience and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

Kind Regards,
Ian Hawthorne (ian.hawthorne@hilton.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at the Double Tree, Tempe last week. The location is very good, close to the airport. They have free shuttle service to and from the airport. The front desk personnel, special event coordinator and the shuttle driver were all very helpful and friendly, It was a pleasure to deal with all of them.
Unfortunately the room air conditioners are very noisy. Our room was also moldy, I believe. There was something in it which caused us to have itchy eyes, and allergy symptoms. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was mediocre as was the service. Ordering breakfast from the menu produced a much better meal. Service in the bar was better.The rooms could use updating.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay due to the efforts of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Proviso-Thank you for your review of our hotel. We have review your comments with our housekeeping and engineering staff, as we are constantly striving to improve our guests’ experiences. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This property was wonderful! Staff was attentive, accommodations perfect. Room was clean; the bed was awesome. Appreciated the free wireless Internet. Breakfast buffet was ample, food was hot and tasty! Coffee was served with real cream--how wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 984reginas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
984reginas-thank you for a perfect five out of five review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Tempe, AZ!

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I first got there to check in and get handed my room key and a delicious cookie. I get into my room and it was spacious, clean, bed was comfortable, tv (cable), wifi, pool, gym, room service and 24/7 shuttle service. It didn't get much better than that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shauna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Shauna D-thank you for a perfect five out of five review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Tempe, AZ.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#11 of 52 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 52 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Address: 2100 S Priest Dr, Tempe, AZ 85282-1116 (Formerly Fiesta Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#8 Business Hotel in Tempe
#9 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate a tradition of warm hospitality and creative service at the recently renovated DoubleTree by Hilton in Tempe. Located near I-10 and minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, this spirited hotel puts you near Arizona State University, Mill Avenue, and downtown Tempe. Enjoy the variety of recent enhancements to our guestrooms, lobby area, and restaurant. At this unique Tempe, Arizona hotel, comfort and service come together in an exceptional setting, with Frank Lloyd Wright design-inspired architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing