We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Mamou, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Some time ago, my son traveled to Tempe to view an ASU-LSU football game. My son got into some difficulty there, and needed assistance. It was a terrible situation for us. We contacted the management of this hotel and described our situation. They were so very helpful and understanding. They, literally, took care of our son until we could fly in to retrieve our son.

We could never thank the staff of this hotel enough for the kindness you showed us. We will never forget you. Thank you again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Mike D ~

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.. We love hearing from our guest and about their experience at our property. We are glad that our staff was able to help your son until your family was able to come to Tempe. We are also glad your son is okay...

We hope that if you ever come back to Tempe we will see you again.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
20
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this property since my son had to attend orientation at ASU. Easy check in, super clean and comfortable room, and a decent breakfast. This place met my prerequisites: free parking, free breakfast, and free wi-fi. I'm glad we stayed and will return when visiting our Sun Devil!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SmithFamFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Smithfamfour ~

Thank you for your review! We love hearing from our guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We are excited for your son and wish him the best at ASU...We are glad the location, price and amenities worked out for you.

We look forward in having you back when coming to visit.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We chose to stay here one night while touring ASU - because of the great reviews - and we weren't sorry. Just what we needed - clean comfortable quiet rooms for a quick stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was better than most. Within a block of campus so an easy walk if you want. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlM0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
AlimOrgan ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our property in April. We are glad you found the review to be true about the location and cleanliness of the property.

We hope to see you again in the future if your travel needs bring you back to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Service beats out all similar hotels. Free shuttle service provided for ASU, the airport, the Mill Outlet and the huge Tempe shopping center. You can make an appointment and the Holiday Inn staff will take you to one of these locations when you request to go. We checked in very early and even with a sell out the night before the manager searched and found a room (as we requested) ready for us to check into immediately. They go the extra mile. My #1 requirement is comfortable beds and this Holiday Inn Express gets a solid "A." Also, clean rooms are a must and again my expectations were met.
I travel a lot and plan to make this my hotel of choice for the Phoenix area.

The (included in the price of a room) breakfast is pretty typical for an Express but there's plenty of it and if you're traveling with children no problem finding what kids will like.

Room Tip: Given the hotel is very busy suggest you go for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Karen W ~

Thank you for your review about your stay at our property in April. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to accommodate your request and shuttle you around.

We are glad you enjoyed the beds and look forward in seeing you again the next time you travel to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

the staff was very nice and although no upgrade was possible, I did get a $4 credit which was nice. the breakfast excellent although the plates were small (more for just one item). the place was crowded due to NASCAR race and opening of baseball summer camp. good location and near Scottsdale.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetPilotPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
JetPilotPoet ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in March. We value your feedback and we are glad the front desk was able to compensate you for your loyalty.

We look forward in seeing you again the next time you travel to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is conveniently located. Very close to downtown Phoenix, Tempe and Scottsdale.
Rooms are clean and spacious, the hotel provides free parking space and free breakfast. Pool and fitness room were small but clean.
We faced some issues since the begining : We arrived in a late flight and were forced to pay a taxi since the hotel shuttle stops working at 11pm. A group of young men took the hotel as a party base and returned every night around 2 or 3 am making extremely high noises that continued for more than half an hour without the people at the front desk doing anything. On the third day we, and people from other room complained and were asked to inform as soon as the situation was repeated; we did and tried to call the front desk at 2am just to find that the communication to the reception did not work. Another day we returned to our room around 2pm to find it wasn't clean,even after coming down to the front desk and ask for cleaning it happened a lot later.
We got the impression that the staff is angry (or sad) all the time, without a kind gesture, not focused on the clients; it is unfortunate since the property and its location have a lot to give.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear xelaju007,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We apologize for the noise from other guests disturbing you. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were in Tempe to tour Arizona State. We literally could not have chosen a hotel much closer. We could have walked to the campus.

The hotel is on a small lot, so a parking pass is required to park there. This location includes breakfast, which was typical Holiday Inn fare. On Sunday, I noticed it was pretty busy, and the trays of food were empty for a while before they were refilled. It was not an issue on Monday.

The room itself was fine. However, there was a lot of noise from the street as well as from the halls and adjacent rooms. One evening, I could hear the TV in a nearby room. Another day, I heard a baby "talking", and it was pretty loud. I assumed the family was walking down the hall. When I left my room, I could still hear the baby, but there was no one in the hall. So the child was obviously behind a door, and it was still quite loud.

The beds were very comfortable, and there were two pillow choices - soft and firm. The pillows were nice, and the sheets were soft. The bathroom situation included a tub/shower combo and a commode. This was behind a door. The vanity area was not, and there was not a curtain to divide the area if someone had to get up and get ready while others still slept. There was also a refrigerator in the room.

The workout room was fine - it included some free weights, a stationary bike, an elliptical and a treadmill. All machines were working. The pool was small but sparkling and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
LaurieTN ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We love to hear what our guest have to say as it helps give us directions on areas we need to improve.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward in having you back as a guest the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
0.1 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 52 in Tempe
203 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 52 in Tempe
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
Address: 1031 E Apache Blvd, Tempe, AZ 85281-5819 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake, Tempe Market Street that has some of the well know names all in walking distance and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. In addition we are located not to far from many corporate business such as Limelight networks, US Airways headquarters, Microsoft, Rockford Fosgate, Hybrid Designs, Quiktrip Division office, First Solar, and Salt River Project to name a few. Coming to town for Spring training? We are located closely to the ballfields. So the next time you are traveling to Tempe Arizona how about giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University a try.We now have a complimentary shuttle that will run our guest to different venues within a certain mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu Hotel Tempe
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu
Comfort Inn At Asu
Comfort Inn Tempe
Tempe Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing