We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to rest”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I selected this hotel for its near but far proximity to Ironman Arizona. I do not like to be at the race venue. I prefer to be further away with fewer athletes in order to not get caught up in the frenzy of race time.

This hotel is 1 block from the light rail station, so it was easy enough to access the race venue without driving.

The room was clean and quiet. The refrigerator was huge, no problem holding my groceries. I had plenty of room for me, my mom, and my gear- including my bike.

Room Tip: There is no problem with a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    58
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
60
34
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

This is a former Amerisuites, so rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The bed is comfortable. Television is newer LCD / HD (and very large) but other furniture in the room needs to be replaced. The desk chair, for example, does not raise high enough to actually use it to get any work done. Power outlets are all below furniture so you have to crawl on the floor to plug in most devices (the kitchenette has a countertop outlet).

The air conditioner cycles on and off. It isn't loud when it does, but if you like a little white noise when you sleep, there is no way to keep the fan on full time.

Breakfast was ok - HoEx standard. Easy walk to the mall with all of its associated attractions and dining options.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingman, Az
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

enjoyed a very favorable stay in the Holiday Express in Tempe, AZ while there on a business trip. the breakfast provided was exceptional, well organized, clean and fresh. The staff was helpful and pleasant.The room was more than adequete, having comfortable beds, a desk for my work space, and an area to relax. The pool area was close and well maintained.
we did experience a problem with ants in our room, which was quickly handled by moving us upstairs.

Room Tip: we did experience a problem with ants on the ground floor, which was quickly corrected by moving us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and have enjoyed every one, its ideally located just off I-10 on Baseline Road which makes it so easy to travel around the greater Phoenix area. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff very friendly, one of the days we stayed there happened to be my wifes birthday and she had left some family cards she had been given on the bedside table, we came back in the evening to find a nice note from the housekeeping staff wishing her a happy birthday, that added to her great day. As a PC Club member we were upgraded to a suite which was very nice indeed and contained everything we needed including disposable plates and cutlery. The room was clean and well maintained, as was the rest of the hotel which also has the usual sized pool and spa which were very welcome after a day in the 100 plus degree heat. Next to the hotel in one direction is a well stocked CVS pharmacy which I was suprised to find had a good selection of beers in the coolers, in the other direction was a Claim Jumper hain restaurant and a Jacks Crab shack so dining is not a problem.
All in all a great location, hotel and staff, we will return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed three nights at this hotel. Loved how close it is to ASU! Check in was a breeze. Front desk staff was always friendly and willing to assist with directions. Breakfast area was always clean and well stocked. In fact, our family really enjoyed and appreciated the breakfast. Loved the feel of a small hotel but a big chain.

Thank you for making our stay in Tempe very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank much2buzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was more than we expected and the place was easy to find. The rooms were quiet and there was everything right around us for shopping or anything else you might want to do. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed for 3 nights because it is really so close to Arizona mills mall (gate 3). Something is wrong in the bathroom. The breakfast is traditional but the cinnamon baked freshly every day is awesome. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Mo2men,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the cinnamon rolls.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the bathroom. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
3.6 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
Address: 1520 W Baseline Rd, Tempe, AZ 85283-1046 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel. For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks. Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event. Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Or escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel. Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay Smart at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tempe
Holiday Inn Tempe
Holiday Inn Express Tempe
Tempe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing