We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Long Term Stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Tempe
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for Long Term Stays”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this location for the month of May, 2013 while waiting for our escrow to close on our new house. We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly and we were able to keep our 2 parrots with us instead of boarding them. They were a big hit while sitting out by the pool or at the tables throughout the property. The staff is excellent and took care of our requests. We did ask to change rooms the first day and we got right into a quieter location. The registration staff was very friendly and accommodating. The "free" breakfast was standard fare, scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, cereals, waffles, fruit, coffee and juices, etc. Monday through Thursday nights was "social evening" with "happy hour" type food. Most of it wasn't that good but adequate if you don't want a big dinner. The grounds are kept clean and manicured. The pool is well maintained. The cable was not working properly and the hotel had the package changed and it still didn't work very good. That was the only issue we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the surrounding streets and away from the pool. A/C units are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!! We loved having you and seeing your beautiful birds. Thank you for your candid feedback and it allows us to know areas in which we can improve. Thank you again and if you ever need another place to stay we looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    42
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
18
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My daughter and I were in town for a brief stay during late May while I was interviewing for a job and she was leaving serious sales tax at the local outlet mall.

This hotel was great for a strategic trip/stay that addressed our needs. It was particularly helpful to be able to get into our room early.

Couple of notes in response to other negative comments. First, this is not a resort and should not be reviewed as such. It does not present itself as a desert golf spa resort facility but it is convenient and provides access to most urban necessities. I would imagine this would be a great place for short term executive housing, or a parents weekend to ASU.

Second, this is not a restaurant. It does provide a nice morning buffet that can be quick and help you avoid restaurant costs and get you on the road quickly. With the exception of Embassy Suites, hotels usually do not provide a menu level of selection. If that is your expectation, go to Denny's and pay $8 to $10 for a morning meal. Asking mid-range hotels/motels to be something that they are not results in costs or diminished services in their core business (lodging). Bit of a hot button hear, as I frequently find myself behind someone in line complaining about the lack of Eggs Benedict at the buffet. What you get (and should expect no more) is scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, juice, pastries.

Room was clean and looked pretty much like every other Residence Inn I have visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's feedback like yours that helps us understand what areas we are doing well in and what we can improve upon. We look forward to serving you on your next trip through Tempe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here four nights and the staff was wonderful. Clean and well maintained. Breakfast and evening reception food was okay - but we used our kitchen two nights and ate out the other two. While we shopped at Whole Foods (about 2.5 miles) and Trader Joe's (about 3.5 miles) there are lots of grocery options. A few restaurants in the area with a few more behind the hotel adjacent to Arizona Mills Mall. (Mall okay - not great).

Only other comments: If you like a quiet morning (I was at the pool early) you may encounter the leaf blowers and hedge trimmers for awhile which can be a bit annoying, but they do such a great job it is more of a short-lived nuisance than anything.

This hotel has a very convenient location and the front desk personnel are wonderful. I asked if they had coffee during the manager's reception and they said no, but they made a pot just for me. They were great.

We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. Sorry for the landscapers but glad that it did interfere too badly with your quiet morning. There is just not the "perfect" time for them to come.

We look forward to having you back with us in the future!! Thank you again for your sweet comments on our team, I think that they are pretty special but I maybe a little bias. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Could only stay one night but this would be a great place to stay for a week or so. Stayed in a 2 bed/2 bath suite was perfect for our situation. Very clean, good location and would stay here again. Pool was nice, not really big and not heated but it was 90 degrees outside, so it wasn't too bad. The jacuzzi tub made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keneples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Our pool is heated to at least 82 degrees year around although depending on the time of year it can feel a bit cooler. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we looking forward to your next trip and maybe you can stay a little longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I have stayed here a few times with my longest stay being almost two months. It is a convenient location (across the road from the Arizona Mills mall) and easily accessible to I-10 and the 60.

The rooms are clean, and I really like the beds here. Most of all, I like the small kitchen, and one of the things I like about most Residence Inns it being able to enter directly into your room from the outside. This is especially nice for longer stays as it gives you less of a feel of living in a hotel.

Overall this is usually a good value for the money. However in peak seasons it does book up faster than some other nearby Marriott properties, so in those cases (or if the price is significantly lower) the very nearby SpringHill Suites is a nice alternative.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmikex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time here and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Residence Inn in Tempe Arizona last month. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a two bedroom two bath suite with a fireplace. It was awesome! I felt like I was at home. A very clean hotel and up to Marriott standards as far as service on checking in, cleanliness of the room, comfort and amenities. Close to all of the ball parks for spring training and other attractions in the Phoenix area. They have the customary complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks. It's a great place to stay with or without children. I would definitely book there again.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool but I think any room in the hotel would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This place is great! Full breakfast everyday, social hour weekdays, pool, jacuzzi, sports court, great people. I hold back on a 5 because it is not a full resort. We come here during baseball spring training and the place is booked solid. It is in Tempe near the freeway. There is a mall nearby and restaurants.

Room Tip: We think the rooms are large and well decorated. No elevator, so make your choice that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to you again next March for some more spring training baseball!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe

Property: Residence Inn Tempe
Address: 5075 S Priest Dr, Tempe, AZ 85282-6653
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Tempe, Arizona Hotel is an ideal lodging choice near ASU. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Tempe. You’ll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free wireless high-speed internet and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Tempe, AZ hotel’s spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and well-designed bathrooms. Fully-equipped kitchens complement each suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Tempe, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen and don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn All-Suite Hotel in Tempe, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing