We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate hotel for the price but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
columbus, ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“adequate hotel for the price but could be better”
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Four of us stayed for 4 nights in January to attended a college bowl game. The hotel was near the airport but unless you had a car, there was no where within walking distance for food or other activities. The hotel shuttle was shared with another hotel and never seemed to be available or running.

The price was reasonable for $89/night considering when we were there but the service reflected what you paid. The desk staff was not at all helpful. The night we checked in we were told that we could only have 1 room key because they "didn't have enough for other guests" that would be checking in. There were 4 in our party and 1 key. the next morning when we asked if additional keys were available we were told "NO" and that was it. The staff was unable to give us directions ANYWHERE and didn't seem to want to make any effort to help. My husband and his friend so frequently went across the street to the Sheraton for directions, suggestions as to where to go, and even for directions to the airport that they thought that we were actually staying there. I must say, the staff at the Sheraton were extremely helpful and friendly.

The hotel website states that they have a business center. We went to use it the night before we left to check in online for our flights and found out that the "business center" was across the street at the Sheraton. My husband had to go across the street at midnight to use their internet. This information needs to be posted accurately on the website.

The room was clean but the bedding left much to be desired with blankets and sheets with holes in them and lumpy pillows. There were no extra blankets or pillows in the room as in most hotels. And not that it effected our stay, but the walls were in dire need of painting. Several of the lamps didn't work and appeared to have a short in the cord. It was a plus to have a small fridge and microwave in the room.

The daily breakfast was decent. But if you arrived even 1 minute past the closing time the doors were locked.

We spent very little time in our room so overall the stay was acceptable. If all you need is a place to sleep and shower, this hotel will meet your needs. Although the stay was not terrible, we would probably not stay here again due to unhelpful staff, need for some upgrading and lack of proximity to activities.

  • Liked — cost
  • Disliked — unhelpful desk staff
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    104
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
85
89
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Okay, so this property is pretty average. There is no doubt some aging has taken place and the cleanliness is not the greatest. We enjoyed the large, non-smoking room, king size bed, and in-room microwave to warm up leftovers from P.F. Chang's. Breakfast was decent, but you would be silly to expect it to exceed the Denny's down the road. For $80/night, my wife and I got what we expected during our three night stay. The staff was polite, even when we arrived at 115am following our late night flight to PHX. Pool and hot tub looked good from our second floor window, but we never did check it out. Plenty of free parking for our rental car. Hey, you can do a lot better if you want to spend more money, but we thought the property offered decent value.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Needs some repairs
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank reddinglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2007

This was our worst hotel experience in a long time. A one-night stay since it was close to the airport. We got a room that was posted as non-smoking but smelled strongly of smoke throughout. We tried airing it out but it only helped marginally. The room was old, tattered and dirty - old toothpaste remnants in the bathroom sink and bathroom floor looked as if it were swiped with a dirty mop. Oily residue on some furniture and the clock radio, which also was unplugged, so we had to plug it in ourselves. We had an early morning flight to catch and called the front desk for a wake up call at 4am - it never came. Upon checking out and telling the clerk he said "You know you can set the alarm yourself." We left too early to evaluate the free breakfast, but regardless of how good it might be, would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, upon checking out, we noticed a pager stand on the front counter that gave directions on how to page the clerk if they were not there - which raises the question of how secure the place is if there is no-one watching the unlocked front entry.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisboadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

We booked this hotel Dec. 1 for three nights because of the good reviews on this website. First of all the positives. It was close to restaurants and shopping as long as you had a vehicle. The breakfast was quite adequate, if not somewhat harried and crowded. The room was nice and large and we enjoyed the hot tub.

From a negative perspective, the front counter clerk was very rude as she continued to "gossip" with a co-worker in spanish as she was checking us in. Noticed the same thing the next day. We don't have a problem with Spanish, but we do with people being rude. The heated pool was full of algae and not at all inviting. The smoking and non-smoking rooms are next to each other. People smoked in the halls, and left their doors open. What's the point of booking a non-smoking room! We would not stay here again for that reason.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — dirty pool and smoking in the hallways
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2006

Stayed here one night after transatlantic flight. Room was large, well equipped and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful enough.
Breakfast okay if unremarkable. No complaints, would happily stay again.
Hotel is wheelchair accessible

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEBRASKA
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but we were disappointed with the ammenities. The hotel itself is rather appealing. The lobby is spacious with a beautiful chandelier. The suites are nice and spacious. Rooms above the ground floor had a balcony. The bathroom had a large, double sinked vanity. There was also a kitchenette. My main complaint was that there was only 1 TV. In my opinion a suite should have 2 TV's.
Breakfast was very disappointing. They advertise a hot breakfast with eggs and sausage, however, the only thing hot they had was waffles. Bread consisted of bagels or danish. They didn't even have toast! There was no fruit.
If all you want is a nice place to sleep this hotel is fine. If you want to relax in front of the TV and eat a nice breakfast stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — double vanilty in bath
  • Disliked — Only 1 TV in a suite & pitiful breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2004

I made the mistake of staying at this hotel while on some job training in Phoenix. I was in the Mesa Hilton, a nice hotel, but then decided to switch over to this hotel since it was close to the airport and to hopefully save my employer some money. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and have never written a negative review before this one. It was definitely my worst hotel experience ever. First of all the hotel is not in very good shape. Our furniture in the room was very worn and dated. There were no stoppers in the sinks which is a problem when cleaning your contacts, and the toilet lid and seat was completely detached from the base. The towels were thin and worn. Then there was the continental breakfast room. It must have been 90 degrees in there with very few breakfast choices, and the toaster was half-broken. I guess this is to discourage guests from spending too much time there. Worst of all, this hotel quoted us one rate when I made the reservation earlier the same day, then when I checked in that night they switched it to a higher rate. I didn't notice this until I checked out, but by then it was too late. I tried to talk to the manager about it, but she was extremely rude and arrogant, and basically said it was too bad. There are plenty of other hotels in the immediate vicinity that would be better to stay at than this place. I was going to stay at the nearby Red Roof Inn, but when the clerk quoted me a rate at Comfort Suites for just a little bit more, I decided to stay there. Little did I know that the quoted rate was just to bait you to reserve the room. I would have expected much more from a Comfort Suites. I can't imagine this hotel chain surviving much longer with their complete lack of interest in customer service and satisfaction. This experience has turned me away form ever staying at a Comfort hotel again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temp/Phoenix Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - Tempe
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Phoenix Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix

Property: Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
Address: 1625 S 52nd St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovation to be completed by summer 2009! All suite property in quite location close to 1-10 and just minutes away from the Phoenix Airport, ASU, downtown Phoenix, Old Town Scottsdale and Tempe Town Lake. Our hotel offers free wireless Internet, deluxe continental breakfast and outdoor pool. All of our rooms include voicemail, microwave, fridge, hairdryer and iron. Ask about our Park & Fly rate if you would like to leave your car in the hotel parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix Hotel Tempe
Comfort Suites Tempe
Tempe Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing