We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed 17 April 2007

Hotel was nice and clean. I had a room on the ground floor and had no noise from traffic or from the above floors. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank Amarquez2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2007

Stayed here for three nights to attend spring training games. We found the location to be perfect. It was within a short drive to anywhere we wanted to get to and right near an on-ramp for 10.

The room was large and clean though a tad dated. Our refrigerator was not working when we arrived so we called the front desk and the maintenance man was there within minutes to reset the defrost mode.

Our room was quiet and we did not hear any highway noise that other posters have mentioned. Breakfast was good. Nothing special, but my son (a very picky eater) ate 2 of the make your own waffles each day. The breakfast room staff was attentive and pleasant.

The only real complaint that I have was that the pool was down two of the three days we were there because the chlorine level was too high. The front desk did offer to drive us to a nearby Days Inn to use their pool though.

Restaurants and stores were also a short drive down Broadway!

We would consider going back here!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krismo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We spent 5 nights here to go to some Angels Spring Training games and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean and comfortable.

We had a room with a king size bed, that had a sitting area with a couch, desk and small table to eat at. There was a sink, small refridg and microwave also. The bathroom was fine, you could see where they had done some work on the wall by the shower head, but only because it was painted over and the rest was wallpaper.

They also offered breakfast each morning and it was pretty good. There were waffles, sausage, hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereal, danishes, bagels, english muffins, coffee and juice every morning. They had someone there the entire time to keep everything stocked.

The pool was heated, so we were able to swim comfortably, even in the evening. There was a hot tub also. There was a small exercise room near the pool, nothing special but functional. There was plenty of parking in a well lit parking lot.

The hotel is very convenient to the airport and interstate. Also if you are going to Diablo Stadium as we were, this place is very close and convenient. I read other reviews of people saying there was no where to eat if you didn't have a car. That is mostly true, there are lots of places to eat, but they are a couple of blocks away. There is a Quik Trip just down the street for sodas and such. The restaurants are within walking distance, but it looks like it would be a 15-20 min walk. Not bad in good weather, but in the heat, it could be bothersome. We always get a rental car, so it was fine for us.

We had a great time in the Phoenix area and look forward to returning soon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikayla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2007

My family stayed at the Comfort Suites Airport, Tempe, AZ for one night before flying out the next day (Feb 2, 2007). The hotel was easy to find, and right next to Broadway, which is the feeder to get to the airport - a bonus that kept traffic problems to a minimum.

There was a standard outdoor pool and hot tub which my kids, aged 11 and 14, enjoyed immensely. The workout room was very small, but it had a treadmill, eliptical, stepper and universal weight station - enough to get what most travellers need. The breakfast in the morning was a welcomed surprise, with bagels, danishes, cold cereal and make-your-own waffles.

We had a room with 2 double beds and a sitting area with couch that was separated by a half wall --- very spacious, and much appreciated. It was neat and clean, though in the bathroom there were signs of wear on the tiles by the door. Nothing we considered dirty or unsatisfactory...

Overall, I would stay here again for the pre-flight night; desk staff was very helpful and knowledgable of the area, recommending a great Mexican restaurant (Rositas) and giving directions to a family amusement center.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank RSoxFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Four of us stayed for 4 nights in January to attended a college bowl game. The hotel was near the airport but unless you had a car, there was no where within walking distance for food or other activities. The hotel shuttle was shared with another hotel and never seemed to be available or running.

The price was reasonable for $89/night considering when we were there but the service reflected what you paid. The desk staff was not at all helpful. The night we checked in we were told that we could only have 1 room key because they "didn't have enough for other guests" that would be checking in. There were 4 in our party and 1 key. the next morning when we asked if additional keys were available we were told "NO" and that was it. The staff was unable to give us directions ANYWHERE and didn't seem to want to make any effort to help. My husband and his friend so frequently went across the street to the Sheraton for directions, suggestions as to where to go, and even for directions to the airport that they thought that we were actually staying there. I must say, the staff at the Sheraton were extremely helpful and friendly.

The hotel website states that they have a business center. We went to use it the night before we left to check in online for our flights and found out that the "business center" was across the street at the Sheraton. My husband had to go across the street at midnight to use their internet. This information needs to be posted accurately on the website.

The room was clean but the bedding left much to be desired with blankets and sheets with holes in them and lumpy pillows. There were no extra blankets or pillows in the room as in most hotels. And not that it effected our stay, but the walls were in dire need of painting. Several of the lamps didn't work and appeared to have a short in the cord. It was a plus to have a small fridge and microwave in the room.

The daily breakfast was decent. But if you arrived even 1 minute past the closing time the doors were locked.

We spent very little time in our room so overall the stay was acceptable. If all you need is a place to sleep and shower, this hotel will meet your needs. Although the stay was not terrible, we would probably not stay here again due to unhelpful staff, need for some upgrading and lack of proximity to activities.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

Okay, so this property is pretty average. There is no doubt some aging has taken place and the cleanliness is not the greatest. We enjoyed the large, non-smoking room, king size bed, and in-room microwave to warm up leftovers from P.F. Chang's. Breakfast was decent, but you would be silly to expect it to exceed the Denny's down the road. For $80/night, my wife and I got what we expected during our three night stay. The staff was polite, even when we arrived at 115am following our late night flight to PHX. Pool and hot tub looked good from our second floor window, but we never did check it out. Plenty of free parking for our rental car. Hey, you can do a lot better if you want to spend more money, but we thought the property offered decent value.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reddinglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

This was our worst hotel experience in a long time. A one-night stay since it was close to the airport. We got a room that was posted as non-smoking but smelled strongly of smoke throughout. We tried airing it out but it only helped marginally. The room was old, tattered and dirty - old toothpaste remnants in the bathroom sink and bathroom floor looked as if it were swiped with a dirty mop. Oily residue on some furniture and the clock radio, which also was unplugged, so we had to plug it in ourselves. We had an early morning flight to catch and called the front desk for a wake up call at 4am - it never came. Upon checking out and telling the clerk he said "You know you can set the alarm yourself." We left too early to evaluate the free breakfast, but regardless of how good it might be, would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, upon checking out, we noticed a pager stand on the front counter that gave directions on how to page the clerk if they were not there - which raises the question of how secure the place is if there is no-one watching the unlocked front entry.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lisboadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
2.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
3 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn by Hilton Phoenix/Tempe ASU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix

Address: 1625 S 52nd St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range: £55 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovation to be completed by summer 2009! All suite property in quite location close to 1-10 and just minutes away from the Phoenix Airport, ASU, downtown Phoenix, Old Town Scottsdale and Tempe Town Lake. Our hotel offers free wireless Internet, deluxe continental breakfast and outdoor pool. All of our rooms include voicemail, microwave, fridge, hairdryer and iron. Ask about our Park & Fly rate if you would like to leave your car in the hotel parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix Hotel Tempe
Comfort Suites Tempe
Tempe Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing