We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Bad Hotel Except for Bug Bites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Hotel Except for Bug Bites”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel room was spacious, the location was great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. What made this a poor experience was all the bites I received, especially the 2nd night. The first night I noticed a few bites clustered on my side and thought maybe it was a few mosquitoes but when I woke up after the 2nd night, I had about 39 bites all over me, in groups or in a line. I told the Front Desk and to their credit, they did discount my stay and promised to get an exterminator to look at the problem.

The internet was a bit of an issue if you're at an end room. I had to go to the common area to get good reception.

If it wasn't for the bugs, I would have rated this hotel Very Good.

UPDATE: The hotel manager did contact later to tell me that they had an exterminator who specialized in bedbugs to check out the room and they didn't find any bedbugs or any other critters in the room. They did apologize for whatever did bite me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear James,

We could not feel worse for the experience that had at our property sir! Although we were able to make sure that the Arizona Exterminating Company found no signs of any creatures the following day; but that does not take away from your bad time. I am also glad that we were able to also discuss the issue with you as well. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    155
    70
    22
    15
See reviews for
133
112
56
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The BW Inn of Tempe has everything I need. Great breakfast, and if you need a Denny's fix you can just walk next door, I think it is a part of the hotel. The fitness center has nice machines, the pool is more of a relaxing spa, and I don't swim lengths anyway so the spa is my preference. Patrick was always there to greet me with a smile and the Ms Seth, the GM, was available and pleasant to visit with. I would highly reccomend the BW Inn of Tempe. Oh! My room was clean, spacious, and the shower head worked great. I noticed housekeeping was swapping out the shower heade with ones they just cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
First off, thank you Jude; it is always great to open our page and see an excellent review! Even greater is to see that not only is our property suited to your needs, but that every aspect of your stay was like a home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Vicente, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The rooms are clean and well equipped. The location is great because it is about 8 or 9 miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport. We rented a car at the impressive Car Rentals center at this airport and 12 minutes later we were right in the hotel parking. The malls and shopping centers of Tempe are 5 or 10 minutes away. Breakfast very reasonable, friendly staff.
If you want to have a typical American meal, there is a ''Denny's'' right next door.
I recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartok_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
First off, I would like to thank you for takingtime out of your day to let others know about our hotel. Also it is always great to hear that we meet your expectation. We look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay and plan to come back. Every one was awesome. very pet friendly. Rooms clean and wonderful breakfast included in your stay. It's also very close to my son's college Arizona State University. The location was right off the 202 loop. I plan to come back often to visit my kid at school

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 580kennethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Well Thank you ! We are always excited to hear that not only is our hotel convenient to Arizona State University, but that you also had a great time while you stayed with us!
So again, thank you for choosing the Best Western Inn of Tempe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th visit to Arizona & each time we stayed at this Best Western. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable & always willing to help. We were more than satisfied with the way were treated. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrqracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Wow, looks like some happy guests! We are always elated to hear that a guest is really pleased with their stay. We hope that the next time to Arizona will be a stay with us! As always thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Best Western think of everything - well supplied rooms with all toiletries and equipment you would expect. Fantastically comfortable bed but not much of a view. Very helpful reception staff. The only down side was the plastic cutlery and paper plates used for breakfast (although the breakfast was very good). I was also disappointed to see the reception staff smoking out the front of the hotel - surely they could go somewhere more discrete to smoke? Otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Sue, Thank you for you kind words letting other travelers know about us! And we definitely take you suggestions into consideration. We hope that when you are in Arizona again you will think of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent location for easy access to Arizona State University, associated apartment complexes and Tempe Marketplace(outdoor mall). Very tasty hot breakfast bar which is complementary.Located just off the interstate. Denny's Restaurant next door. Amenities included a fitness room and lap pool as opposed to a regular pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you Alison for taking the time to let people know about us! We are so pleased that our property worked well for you, while you were visiting Arizona State University. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.9 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
4.6 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
Address: 670 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-2027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
#7 Family Hotel in Tempe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Of Tempe Hotel Tempe
Best Western Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing