We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We arrived at 2am after having called 10 minutes earlier for a rate and room availability. Upon arriving we were told they were "running reports" and the system is unable to do check-ins while this is happening. No mention of this 10 minutes earlier. It would take 30-45 minutes to finish and were were asked if we would mind waiting... 1.) This is 2014. Need I say more about a "system" incapacitating check-ins at a major hotel chain in this day and age? 2.) Waiting around for 45 minutes at 2am... Again. No comment needed.

After offering the desk attendant everything from holding my credit card, driver's license, cash, etc., we were given a room until the reports stopped running. I'm thankful for that and appreciate her effort. She was just working within the confines of the Best Western "system". At 3am the room was rang, I got out of bed, walked to the front desk and performed the check-in process. The room was average, some rust stains in the tub, small TV, odd refrigerator afterthought hutch thing, etc. The bed was comfortable and location was quiet.

We were meeting people in Tempe at 1:30pm the next day. Being as though we arrived late, I had to get out of bed at 3am to check-in, we could use the extra rest and the sign on the room door states that the checkout time is noon and an extra hour can be negotiated with the front desk, we did just that... To be informed that checkout is 11am and we could extend checkout to 12:30. Seriously? You're going to split hairs over 30 minutes after the check-in experience?

Outside of that, there's a very odd jacuzzi/spa room arrangement where there are 5 small jacuzzi/soaking pools, one of which has been filled in with landscaping rock, but still has the handle for entering and exiting (LOL) and 2 of which had a layer silt of some sort on the bottom. Outside there is another large jacuzzi that was 75% empty with a few tools on the step and clearly in process of a "handy man type" repair... No caution tape, no one in sight, no barricade, no signs and a nice foot of dirty water in the bottom. No need to explain the glaring potential there either. I guess Best Western's safety procedures are as outdated as the computers.

We won't be back and likely won't be back to a Best Western.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crashinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear crashinaz,

We are sorry that we did not inform you that we were doing our Nightly Audit, and that it may take 20 minute to a half an hour;so please excuse the Front Desk Agent for using the term "system". She should have informed you we would be unable to check you in for 20-30 mins.

Typically our hotel does its pool maintenance at night as the pool/spa area close at 10PM. That is maybe why you may have seen tools outside,and signs of a "Handy Man Type" repair.

We are sorry we couldn't offer you a later check out than 12:30PM. Although we did offer you an extended free 1 and a 1/2 late check out on a busy day.

We do appreciate you taking the time and informing us about the areas we can improve upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

For those into Senior Olympics, Track and Field, the games in Tempe are very good and the Best Western of Tempe is close at hand. Their breakfast is awesome for getting up to speed for any game events you may have coming up. Getting a good nights rest prior to the games is essential and the beds here can really get you that need sleep. Great work out room to get those muscles warmed up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are so glad to see that you had a great weekend at our hotel for your event! We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great customer service helps to mask the little incidental problems we encountered. The front desk personnel and the room cleanliness was first class. The rooms were very quiet which in itself was a pleasant surprise since the hotel was sold out all four nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank josephd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Joseph,

Thank you for informing future guests that we are a pretty quiet hotel, even when we are sold out! It is a great indicator of how we are doing as a staff when guests are happy! Again thank you Sir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

the accomodations were great. the location was excellent, especially with a airport shuttle.there was plenty of eating places within a block or so. there is also plenty places within a block to get your favorite spirits.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rogerl757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Roger,

Thank you for taking the time to right a review about our property and some of the attractions that are close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

staff not friendly, this survey suck, also, maybe i do not want ot type 200 characters, I completed your survey then I should be able to send it in, is there a reason that you want so many words,? why do you have the questions if you still want 200 characters?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leroy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Leroy S,

It is difficult to understand your review, but please feel free to call us anytime and discuss your stay; and how we could've made it better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Thanks Patrick for being so friendly and accommodating at check-in. This is a great location and really nice value for business or leisure travellers wanting close proximity to ASU, Phoenix Sky Harbor, not too far from Scottsdale. Near Tempe Marketplace(outdoor shopping plaza) as well.
Recommended! (Not a destination hotel but great comfort, and value for those that want a nice comfortable place to rest their head.). Inn and Out Burger just across the street for fans.

Room Tip: Room location may be a bit quieter away from freeway 202 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlarmzy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for such a nice review! He is one of many great staff members at the hotel! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I found this to be a good hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone planning to stay a few days in the Tempe/Mesa area.

Pros: Good price at @ $80/night; large clean and very quiet rooms; great hot tub - the water was actually hot and the jets were powerful - much appreciated after long hikes; easy access to the freeway system; incredibly friendly and helpful staff; you can walk to ASU and downtown Tempe area; breakfast is included in the room price (typical hotel eggs and waffles type)

Cons: Gym needs a bit more equipment and an upgraded treadmill; slow Wi-Fi

Room Tip: Face away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Inn Of Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us! We are glad that you had a wonderful time on your vacation. Thank you for coming all the way from London to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.9 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
1.5 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 53 in Tempe
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn Of Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn Of Tempe

Address: 670 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-2027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tempe
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: £58 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn Of Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn Of Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Of Tempe Hotel Tempe
Best Western Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing