We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing oasis near Pacific”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
“Amazing oasis near Pacific”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A place we would recommend without hesitation. Hummingbirds, beautiful tropical plants, most delicious breakfast, very helpful owners, uncrowded sandy beach nearby...just a few words to desribe the amazing experience we had there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    71
    21
    18
    27
See reviews for
95
153
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We loved this place, it was like staying IN the rain forest, not some resort. The owners were very friendly and helpful and accommodating. the grounds are beautiful and the chicken and white sauce dinner was AMAZING!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrobinson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you want to have an authentic Costa Rican experience, LaPalapa Ecoresort is the place to be. Waking up at dawn with the sound of gorgeous and exotic birds was breathtaking. Now add the monkeys, raccoons, iguanas, crocodiles and other beautiful animals you’ll find in the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area. And let’s not forget the gorgeous beaches and vegetation.

The hotel itself is spectacular, filled with amazing gardens, it has a few trails that leads to a fascinating waterfall. It’s also where you can find the best food in the region, a fusion between Portuguese cuisine and Costa Rican food together with stimulating conversations with the owners, Manuel and Cristina, their friends and guests is something i will not forget. You should also try the activities like the canopy and the rafting, the guides and trackers were first rate and made the trip one we will never forget.

The thing about La Palapa is that the owners and staff really make you feel like at home, and not just a tourist passing by. If you still don’t know which hotel to choose, I HIGHLY recommend going to La Palapa. We left with many happy memories and hope to return sometime soon!

PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afpeixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you are thinking about going to visit the Manuel Antonio National Park i really recommend you to stay at Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort. I stayed there 8 days and the service was really good, nice rooms, a really complete breakfast with fruits , eggs , toasts , lemonade and coffee with an aditional possibility to have beautifull birds eating fruit next to you besides other animal species you can see inside the resort property. You can book all excursions directly with the owners and ask for other usefull informations. It´s a quite and peacefull place during the night where you can rest perfectly after a busy day of walks and excursions. if you look for nightlife you can choose between Quepos or Dominical, 10 minutes by car for each side. So, to Manuel and Cristina a big thanks for everything and see you next time.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room nr 12 and had a bird nest inf front of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Absolutely great value for money and more.
Room is very comfortable and generous in space, not fancy but very nice. The garden is the star, very well taken care. You can certainly feel the care that is invested in the nature around you. The food you can have in the restaurant's hotel is as good and healthy as tasty and homemade, even you can have original and unique dishes created by them!
The family who runs the place is absolutely lovely. Cristina, Manuel and their son Tomas are awesome people always sharing tips from places and things to do in the area, they are real experts hosts.
Tomas acted as a guide and showed us Toucans that live in the property, quite a nature's expert.
We had a great time there!!!
We totally recommend it to everybody, from families to couples or groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The man who runs this place is intolerable. We had left clothes out on our bed to use after a long hike and as we were leaving the maids entered our room. When we returned we discovered that several expensive articles of clothing were missing. Upon talking with the management they were of no help at all. He kept telling us stupid stories about how he's had things go missing in the gardens around the premises and how our stuff might be scattered about as well (this simply was not the case). He refused to take responsibility for his maids claiming that "they have been working here for a long time so I know I can trust them (later revealed to be 2 months)... The food was absolutely terrible even by Costa Rican standards. Don't eat at the hotel if you can avoid it. We had their curry one night which was promised to be "the real deal" only to discover someone had basically put a chicken in the blender, bones and all, then added about half a gallon of canola oil all of which was poured over rice. I'm not even sure I tasted curry in it. We also couldn't figure out why it was an ecolodge other than the fact that they don't provide shampoo and make you walk down the road to buy it. We stayed at some gorgeous and true eco lodges but this is really just a resort with a false title. However, the grounds are pretty and the walk up the hill behind the hotel is worth it although very steep and treacherous.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

this is a wonderful place that is very reasonably priced. a beautifully maintained garden paradise, it's off the beaten path but close enough to quepos that you don't feel completely isolated. the owners manuel and christina are also incredibly hospitable, which makes for a great atmosphere amongst the guests, and they serve up beautiful breakfasts and delicious home-cooked dinners. la palapa was definitely one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
11.9 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
11.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
908 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,533 reviews
11.8 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
373 reviews
17.2 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Property: Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Address: Meters From Main Road 800 | Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort, that is called by the clients ¨THE LOST PARADISE¨, has a policy of practicing always the best and lowest prices of all region, and is located outside of the town of Portalon, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora, that makes a perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Served in its open-air restaurant, La Palapa offers a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, including fresh fruit and local dishes such as Gallo Pinto. Meat, fish, rice and bean dishes are on offer for lunch and dinner, and are prepared using produce grown on a local organic farm. The property also offers excellent powerful free WiFi. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The most beautiful beaches of all Central America are inside the Manuel Antonio National Park, and the famous beaches of Matapalo with a sea Turtle Refuge Centre, Playa Linda, and Dominical are very near the resort. The La Palapa Resort is away from the confusion of tourist centers of the region but near everything and is considered one of the most beautiful and well-kept in Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Matapalo - Dominical and Uvita area, surrounded by unique tropical gardens with a Swimming-Pool with a large collection of rare plants, located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land with a private waterfall only for the clients of the resort. This property also has always the best-rates compared with other locations in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing