We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Arlington, Washington
1 review
“Central Location”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a great place to stay. Very peaceful, beautiful grounds and rooms, nice pool, good food and excellent staff. They can book a wide variety of trips for you and even arrange to have them pick you up right at the resort! A beautiful remote beach is only minutes away. Easy access to Dominical and Quepos. Good food at the resort, or they can recommend some good restaurants in the area. Christina and Manuel are excellent hosts. A very nice breakfast is provided every morning under the lovely thatched dining area. Could not ask for better service. Look forward to going back.
Mark & Susie

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSusieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    71
    21
    18
    27
See reviews for
95
153
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

For starters, we could not have had a better holiday than our last week spent at La Palapa. Before making our decision to spend our March break here, we carefully reviewed other guest's comments that were overwhelmingly enthusiastic, and can only add comments with similar delight. Cristina and Manuel are most wonderful hosts and give splendid advice for adventures depending on a guest's preference. We loved our accommodation, had wonderful breakfasts and dinners, admired the work Manuel has done on the gardens, finally asked for the same dinner twice in the same week because it was so yummy, and enjoyed the feeling of relaxation that came with being here. We recommend La Palapa 10/10 and must mention - last but not least - that La Palapa is the only place in Central America that serves the famous signature drink "Till Libre"(lemon and rum). For our last day we went into the rain forrest to see the Resplendent Quetzal and though the bird remained elusive it was the most wonderful experience. We sincerely hope that you can come here and have a similarly wonderful time. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilldavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 2 nights in this lovely little peace of paradise! The place is a few km away from Quepos and just enough to enjoy the tranquility of the jungle but close enough to Manuel Antonio! Obviously the family owning the place put a lot of work and love in this lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canineLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was a little wary of the location of this hotel when I booked it, but now I'm very glad I did. Upon arriving the host gave us a map and list of all the attractions and activities in the area as well as directions to them. This included directions to some "hidden" beaches you wouldn't find on a map as well as several hikes and waterfalls. She also recommended several places to eat nearby (Langostina Feliz, a restaurant a few km east of the hotel had the best seafood we ever had during our trip). Let me make it clear - you need a car to enjoy your stay at this hotel. Relying on shuttles or taxis for your transportation will be a big inconvenience.

The hotel grounds are well taken care of - and at night come alive with frogs and other animals. If you have a flashlight I recommend taking a quick stroll along the paths at night. There are also several hiking trails that start right from the hotel grounds to beautiful sunset views of the sea or a charming waterfall you can take a refreshing swim in.

The rooms were quite rustic (it is an eco lodge after all), but cozy and clean. The shower had good water pressure although maintaining a constant water temperature was a bit of a challenge. Be warned that there is no AC, only a large ceiling fan, but even during March which is one of the hottest times of the year it was actually very comfortable. The rooms are in a bungalow and there are several bungalows spread out on the property, giving a quiet and isolated atmosphere. Breakfast was really good with a buffet style selection of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans and rice as well as fried plantains, fruit, some pastries and a selection of juices and coffee. Wifi is only available in the reception/pool/breakfast area but was very reliable.

When we visited Manuel Antonio we were very glad we decided to stay at La Palapa instead of the Manuel Antonio area. Manuel Antonio has narrow, twisty roads with steep grades that are packed with tourist buses, getting around that area is slow and frustrating. La Palapa is located along a very nice, straight and well maintained highway that really isn't that bad to drive on in the dark. It is located between two beautiful national parks and near fantastic beaches that you can enjoy all to yourself. If you enjoy going off the beaten path then I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

But don't expect to actually use the kitchen. There was no cook ware, not even a coffee pot. We found the location to be a little too far away from the beach and there was no shuttle as advertised.
Food was marginal, but it was too far away from any restaurant's to go anywhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I took my girlfriend to Costa Rica in January of 2014 on my birthday. We picked La Palapa because we loved the color in the pictures but could not believe the amazing beauty when we got there. The property was impecable. Detailed to the tee. I saw the effort that went into even washing the garbage cans. The landscaping is kept up daily by a team of gardeners and the staff was truly friendly. Best of all, the owners Christina and Manuel are there to personaly cater to your every need. We are going back next year and look forward to staying in the same resort.

Btw it is very convieniently located 20 minutes south of manuel Antonio State Park and 20 minutes north of snorkeling expeditions. All the nicest beaches including Playa Hermosa are close by and my favorite lobster place is 5 minutes away. Very well situated location. Made for the vacation of my lifetime!

-Rudy Furlan

Room Tip: All the cabins are located outside of the pool and gazebo. There are no bad cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a great time. Lets get one thing clear after that previous review/rant....this is not a resort style "touristy" hotel where you are waited on every minute, with staff flashing fake smiles all the time, but where you don't actually experience being in a different country and culture.
This is a well run ECO LODGE, offering beautiful accommodation set in fabulous gardens, with excellent food and peace and quiet. From La Palapa you can head out into the unspoilt surroundings to find deserted beaches, lots of nature, and thrill-seeking activities.
We went snorkelling at Cano - which Cristina helped arrange - biked to amazing beaches, and loved day trips to Manuel Antonio and Dominical.
Has the previous reviewer heard of a "taxi" by the way?! They have them in Costa Rica and they're well priced:)
Also, surely you'd do your research and work out how far away your accommodation is from the nearest towns and attractions before booking it?!
The pool was fine and cleaned daily.

The owners work hard and were very helpful to us. They twice gave us lifts to Quepos, advised on all the do's and dont's, pointed out wildlife, and Manuel even planted a coconut tree in the gardens with our names tagged to it!

Another couple who stayed at the same time as us also had an excellent few days. Like us, they knew they were staying somewhere that was off the beaten track, and that suited there needs perfectly.
Like us, they were treated with respect by the owners, and in turn gave respect back. It's not that difficult.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
11.9 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
11.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
574 reviews
11.8 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
17.2 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Property: Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Address: Meters From Main Road 800 | Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort, that is called by the clients ¨THE LOST PARADISE¨, has a policy of practicing always the best and lowest prices of all region, and is located outside of the town of Portalon, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora, that makes a perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Served in its open-air restaurant, La Palapa offers a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, including fresh fruit and local dishes such as Gallo Pinto. Meat, fish, rice and bean dishes are on offer for lunch and dinner, and are prepared using produce grown on a local organic farm. The property also offers excellent powerful free WiFi. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The most beautiful beaches of all Central America are inside the Manuel Antonio National Park, and the famous beaches of Matapalo with a sea Turtle Refuge Centre, Playa Linda, and Dominical are very near the resort. The La Palapa Resort is away from the confusion of tourist centers of the region but near everything and is considered one of the most beautiful and well-kept in Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Matapalo - Dominical and Uvita area, surrounded by unique tropical gardens with a Swimming-Pool with a large collection of rare plants, located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land with a private waterfall only for the clients of the resort. This property also has always the best-rates compared with other locations in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing