We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great river views and sundowner”
Review of Nunda River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Divundu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nunda River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent two nights here and were welcomed once we arrived by one of the owners. That was a good start - the public areas are gorgeous - take a look at some of the photos.

We particularly enjoyed the boat trip at sunset. It was serene and the Popa Falls nearby were full, with lots of friendly hippos to view. Our room overlooked the river and we were able to hear the hippos and sometimes see them quite well. Take a torch with you, as it is quite a walk in the dark to and from the restaurant and sitting areas.

The time change from the rest of Namibia is +1 hour, so it was very welcome that dinner was served from 6 pm. To us it felt like 7 pm and we had had a very long car journey to get there and we enjoyed the evening meal very much. We went to a local village with a guide. This was really worthwhile and gave us a real insight into how real Africans live. It made us realise just how big a gap there is between first world and third world Africa: an experience not to be missed. The family we visited gets paid a reasonable amount and it feels like you are helping in some way.

The accommodation was not as luxurious as some of the other lodges that we stayed at, but it was clean and comfortable. Coming from a busy metropolis, we felt a bit uncomfortable about not having locks on our doors at night. It has a perimeter fence, with a guard on the gate, but with security being important for Westerners, it made us feel vulnerable. After all, this is a new area to us and we knew absolutely nobody. There was a safe in the room, but it really was personal safety that I was concerned with and knickknacks that might have been lying around in the room.

I must just mention the housekeeping staff - we saw them cleaning another chalet and what a great job they do. I was so impressed by them. We also moved the bedding under our beds and they left it there, just where we wanted. When you are hot and tired, it's really nice not to have to bother re-arranging the furnishings! Great service.

Room Tip: Take torches with you and make sure you take a boat trip. Plenty of Bens insecticide will be needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Vicky
Thank you so much for submitting a review, we really appreciate the effort. We are also very pleased that you had a great stay with us and hope we will see you again sometime. Just to add to your comments, we are currently upgrading our pathway lights so it will no longer be necessary to carry a torch around with you. We find that the existing LED lights (energy saving lights) just don't work that well, so we are changing all the lighting along the pathways. As for locks and personal safety, we fully appreciate your concerns and I would most likely feel the same way had I opted to live in a city, theft, burglaries, hold-ups, muggings, car jackings etc they all just terrify me, coming from the bush! At least hippos can't open doors! There are, however, latches on all the doors, though you might not have seen them.
Be that as it may, you have had your taste of Africa and I hope it's Soul has permeated your body. I trust the smells, the birds, its animals, the night sounds, it's warm people and open spaces may draw you back once again.
Until next time, take care and happy travels.
Cameron & the Nunda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in the campsite and loved it because it felt like posh camping with the lodge so close by and welcoming. We spent one night in campsite 6, which is right next to the river, then moved to campsite 2 purely because it got the sun a little earlier in the morning and we wanted our tent to dry so we could drive on to our next destination. It was also nearer the ablutions block, but for the views I would have preferred to stay in campsite 6. Hearing the hippos at night so close to the tent was brilliant!
On arriving, the owner, Cameron, was so friendly, as was the girl on reception. We immediately booked a sunset river cruise and braii dinner in the lodge for that night. Both were excellent value for money, and meant all we had to do was get in our tents to sleep. The next night we cooked for ourselves, but we still enjoyed sunset drinks in the lodge, which is nicely designed with lots of comfy chairs overlooking the river and a good selection of books to flick through.
The facilities for camping were first rate... We had a tap in our site as well as a braii area, the ablutions block was pretty, and kept spotless, and the showers I had were piping hot.
We went on a guided game drive one afternoon to mahango national park even though we had normally been self-driving through the parks. We decided to pay the lodge for the guided trip as again it was very good value for money, and indeed our driver, Timo, was a well-informed friendly guy with a few interesting stories to tell.
All in all, this campsite was a real treat, I was sorry to leave and having now completed the trip I can say that no campsite on our 3 week trip through Namibia and Botswana lived up to Nunda River Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Snowy
What a glowing report and fantastic review. Thank you so much for your effort and taking the time to submit it. It gladdens our hearts when we receive such positive feedback and more so, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nobody can ever achieve 100% but we do strive to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am sure you took some memories back with you and they will encourage you to consider a return visit to our part of the world. Namibia, in particular, must rate as one of the most awesome countries in Africa and we have a lot to offer. Wishing you many happy travels and see you in the not-to-distant future.
Take Care
Cameron & the Nunda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for a night here before entering Botswana, then returned for a night a couple of nights later.

We had a waterfront room (was it 24 or 28?) with lovely views across the river to the hippos.
The room was quite comfortable, and we had no problems with it or the local insect population. I'd strongly suggest having a river-front room.

The lodge area with the bar and restaurant is on decking above the river - very pleasant to just sit and watch the world go by whilst enjoying an evening drink. They offer a boat cruise and this was very enjoyable too.

We were greeted by a lady whose name I think was Jean and she did a fantastic job of making us welcome and at home with the facilities. The lodge has nice gardens and a pool.

The food was good and there was some flexibility in the menu - my wife had gone off Kudu steak and I'm sure they came up with an alternative.

We visited the nearby Mahango reserve a couple of times. Its not very big but we saw elephants and various other animals - very pleasant. You drive through Mahango down a dirt road to get to the Botswana border. Crossing there takes some time as the staff are very pleasant and bored by the low level of traffic (we were the 10th car at 2pm on the way back) - so they like to chat.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Colin, Thank you very much for a great review and for taking the time post it. Most folk don't do this and then we are uncertain whether we are doing the right thing or not. I am extremely pleased you had a great time with us and hopefully you'll return to our wonderful country, and maybe enjoy our Namibian hospitality once again. Until next time, take care and happy travels.
Cameron & the Nunda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you want to have your ultimate relax moment, this is the place to be. The view over the river is fantastic. The staff is very friendly. The atmosphere is good As well as the food. The rooms are good but not very spacious. But you Will not speent much time there with such a great nature life around.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank WillemHWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Willem
Thank you for your very positive review and for taking the time out to write one. A review coming from one of our own countryman is praise indeed and we certainly hope you will return once again to enjoy our warm traditional Namibian hospitality.

Until then, happy travels.

Cameron & the Nunda team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The moment we arrived we had such a personal and warm greeting that it seemed a dream .
Throughout our stay the owner (Cameron ) and his Staff were so attentive and helpful and we felt so welcome . It is a beautiful lodge and the riverside setting is in an ideal location. We camped here on the banks of the river for 3 nights with the sound of Hippo's when you go to bed at night and when you wake up the next morning is something to always remember and will always bring a smile to your face. The river trip at sunset is also a great experience with more Hippo, Croc's and a great variety of Birds.
An experience not to be missed. PERFECT in fact

Room Tip: We stayed in a camping area on the banks of the Okavango with the sound of Hippo all around. Obviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbsheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Manager at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

This review really makes me wake up and realise that we are living in a small paradise. You make me get up out of my office and look outside once again to appreciate what we have. A big thank you for taking the effort to submit a review and a review like this really makes us want to do just that bit extra with all our guests.

here's wish you many happy travels and in particular, another visit to Namibia.

Cam & the Nunda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stay there for 3 nights in Oct 2013. by far was one of the best places we stayed on our self drive round the delta trip. we spent hours just watching the pod of hippos right out side of our room. laughing about the funny noises they made and waking up to their funny hippo calls. we had a room right on the Kavango River, hippos just 20-30m's a way

we had plenty of hot water, good electrical points, hot water in the morning for "hippos & coffee" before breakfast. The lodge itself is set in beautiful gardens with one of the best pools of the whole trip and a super outside deck on the river for chilling out. Cameron, and his staff all very top professional and warm. We had meals every night in the lodge and I have to say being a "complete" wine head! that Cameron has one of the best wine cellars north of the orange river! he personally pairs wines with dinner every night. Ask him for a cellar tour if you have time!

we had a guided trip to the nearby Mahango and Buffalo Game Parks were most enjoyable, with abundant and varied game to be seen. after our 3 nights in paradise we were back to the camping sites, self supported, self driving we do. BTW, you can get gas and good supplies just a bit north of the lodge. safe and secure area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetfuel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

An apology for taking so long to reply to your review, but there was a glitch with TripAdvisor and/or my computer that did not allow me to respond to your review. Be that as it may, hopefully this one will appear.

Thank you for a most wonderful review and we are extremely pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. It is always unfortunate that ones stay is generally limited to one or two days and time is always a factor and there is a new adventure just around the next corner, or in Namibia's case, the next stretch of road!

The wine is passion I have and all the wines in cellar are based on my personal liking/taste. Glad you enjoyed is all.

Here's to your next visit. Take care and happy travels.

Cameron & the Nunda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My family of 5 arrived at Nunda Safari Lodge just before dinner after a long, cramped, and hot drive from Etosha. We were greeted warmly and personally shown around the beautiful lodge. Our two bungalows on the river had great decks to quietly enjoy the view as well as a gorgeous custom bathroom with a claw-foot tub. Within minutes we had drinks in hand feeling completely civilized again watching the sunset and hippos rolling in the river. A wonderful dinner followed with home-baked bread, good wine, and delicious dishes we had never enjoyed before.

The owners and staff manage to strike the perfect balance of comfort and elegance, simplicity and luxury, making you feel like the lucky guests at a private home and allowing you to learn a little about the area and its residents. I especially appreciated having locals staff the customer-facing positions. The lodge's deck is a real gathering place, and it was nice to see locals enjoying it in addition to my fellow travelers. My favorite part of travel is not having any expectations and experiencing something new. With travel becoming more like a commodity, Nunda Safari Lodge feels authentic.

The people and beautiful accommodations at Nunda made it one of our family's all time favorite travel experiences. So much so that we left our 4-star hotel in Chobe early to enjoy one more night at Nunda before returning south to Windhoek. We look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon5184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Shannon
Thank you very much for your effort in submitting a well-thought-of review. We are extremely pleased that you picked up on what we are trying to achieve and your comments nailed it. A big thank you from all of us and should you ever have the opportunity to return to Namibia, we would take it an honour of hosting you and your family again.

Until next time, take care.

Cameron & the Nunda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divundu
9 mi away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#2 of 4 in Caprivi Region
177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shametu River Lodge
Shametu River Lodge
#1 of 10 in Divundu
75 reviews
0 mi away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#5 of 10 in Divundu
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#4 of 10 in Divundu
71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
#3 of 32 in Caprivi Region
173 reviews
0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#6 of 10 in Divundu
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunda River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunda River Lodge

Address: | Kavango East Region, Divundu 5271, Namibia (Formerly Nunda Safari Lodge)
Region: Namibia > Kavango Region > Divundu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Divundu
Hotel Class:3 star — Nunda River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing