We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a loss for Tombstone!”

Tombstone Boarding House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tombstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tombstone Boarding House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 13 Tombstone B&B and Inns
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a loss for Tombstone!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

A few years ago we stayed for 3 days at the Tombstone Boarding House Bed and Breakfast and loved the place and Sylvia so much that we returned there the next year! The rooms were so quaint and had such character. The breakfasts were fantastic. Evening meals at the restaurant here were amazing! And the most special touch of all was Sylvia -- such a friendly and awesome person. This year we returned to Tombstone and wandered over to reserve a room and were stunned when we saw that the Tombstone Boarding House was "closed". How sad and what a loss for Tombstone! Does anyone know where Sylvia went? We hope that she is doing great wherever she is! Lorne & Marilyn

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarFernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Unfortunately, since Tombstone Boarding House was off the beaten path of tourist-trap-laden Allen Street, the only way for TBH's owner Sylvia to generate business was to go up to the corner of 4th & Allen and approach people individually, asking "Are you folks looking for a good place to eat tonight?" The Lamplight Restaurant, adjacent to the Boarding House, offered the very best food in town (we also often ate at Nellie Cashman's, which AT THE TIME, offered the only other fine dining experience -- that has since changed owners, and I have no idea what it is like now). When the former Sheriff was prevailed upon by the "Mayor" to quash ALL on-street activity (which had been allowed for decades), such in-person soliciting ended -- and a truly wonderful, locally-owned, small-business restaurant and Bed & Breakfast died.
To my knowledge, neither the charming B&B nor the outstanding restaurant has reopened. This is Tombstone's loss. The premises in the 1880's used to be the home of a prominent banker, and Texas John Slaughter is said to have lived there. See my post under "Ghost Tours" for some brief info about a tour that -- at present -- cannot be offered due to lack of ownership access!
(Thankfully, Tombstone now has a new Mayor, who hopefully will look to the town's lifeblood tourism, enhancing the tourists' experience, as a priority, instead of guarding his own selfish interests.)
Tombstone still offers much for the casual tourist, not the least of which is the outstanding show at the OK Corral (which was also hampered by the "no street activity" rule, which I understand has been lifted since the new Mayor took office). If -- BIG "IF" -- there is a later show on the day you visit, say 4 or 4:30 PM, go to that one, as it is often less crowded than the one at 2 PM. The professional actor portraying "Doc Holliday" wrote the show, and he is more than willing to talk with any visitor about the town, the show, or Doc himself.
Valdosta Vi
PS: at the end of this review form is a question: "Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?" I HAD to check "yes", even though it is not open any more, because to say "no" would be an insult to its previous glory. Maybe some day, some lucky new owner will be able to revive what was once a delightful "step-back-in-time" experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bonnie Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice Place, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We decided to stay in Tombstone when we were in the area to visit Kartchner Caverns (which is totally cool btw!) and thought staying at Super 8 would be generic. We really found a gem with Sylvia and her staff.
When we arrived, we were expected, but Sylvia was out and the pair on staff took a minute to sort out what to do with us. We wandered over to the historical area boardwalk, but as things were already closing down we were happy to just walk up and down before heading back to dinner.
They make their own tortilla chips and salsa which were awesome! Lots of cilantro! I had some Mexican Spaghetti that is their own creation and so delicious & fun. The staff visited with us while we ate and drank and laughed with them, which was nice because I believe we were the only guests that night and their company was great.
The salsa we enjoyed wound up in our omlettes the next morning after our dinner conversation suggested it as an idea (I think...Margaritas!) I felt well rested in our comfy bed in the nice period room and well fueled from the great food and ready to check out the caves!

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nearzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Wanted to find an authentic feeling B&B for a night in Tombstone and we did ! We stayed in the White Room which whilst being much smaller than the Hotel rooms we had booked earlier in our trip was quiet and comfortable and very different!
Sylvia is lovely and prepared a great breakfast and gave us lots of tips about what not to miss in Tombstone. We had a great dinner the previous night in the Lamplight Restaurant too and Susan the waitress was very sweet and sang well too!

We may return again next year as we missed a couple of vital sights in Tombstone and we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waylon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We wanted to stay a nite in Tombstone and found the Tombstone Boarding House. Sylvia, the owner, did everything to make sure our needs were met. We ate dinner at the Lamplight and the staff bent over backwards for us. We stayed in the Red Room, quaint, lovely period decorations. The rooms are a little worn, consequent to their age, but absolutely spotless! We enjoyed our stay here tremendously!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Cute little place across the main drag of old Tombstone. We stayed in the red room which was very secluded and romantic. It was small and just the right size for my sweetie and I. Its very quiet at night - we slept like babies. Breakfast the next morning was a GREAT way to start the day in the Lamplight Tea Room while the owner served us. We are definitely going to be back there soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abstreichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed in the white room and had the Lovers Indulgence Package. The room was small but clean and cute. It was very easy to walk to the main street in Tombstone. Chips and dip and ice tea were brought to our room as soon as we arrived. There were free soft drinks while we were there. The Lovers Indulgence Package also included champagne, chocolates, flowers and bath products. We had breakfast served in bed and that was a wonderful experience. Sylvia is a great host and the food was delicious. We also ate at the Lamplight Room Restaurant next door. The food was GREAT, the service was WONDERFUL, and the guitar player was FABULOUS! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
0.7 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virgil's Corner Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Boarding House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Boarding House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tombstone Boarding House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 108 N 4th St, Tombstone, AZ 85638-6206
Region: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tombstone Boarding House Hotel Tombstone
Tombstone Boarding House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing