We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great AZ weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend, and even though we both live in AZ, we still highly recommend it to everyone. It is the perfect combination of old west style mixed with modern fine accommodations and dining. Basically you can have a great time going out on the ranch and riding, and then come in and get clean. We had a great trail ride, an amazing meal, and an incredibly good time having drinks, socializing, and playing billiards in the saloon. We had every intention of hitting the hot tub afterwards, but unfortunately the saloon did us in =). Even in the late afternoon before dinner when there was no real events going on, we enjoyed a nice walk to the Scheifller Monument, it's just amazing to be outdoors in this atmosphere.
Arturo made the trip. His customer service and amazing cooking was perfectly executed. He is the reason we will come back and bring our friends!
Also even though this was December, the AZ weather was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

This review pertains to a dinner reservation only. We and another couple bought a Groupon ticket for $60 for dinner for two (supposed to be up to $118 value) and made a reservation for a Friday night at 6:00 pm. When we arrived we were told by the chef that he did not have a reservation for us. However, he tried his best to prepare a 3 course dinner for us. There were two other couples already there that were spending the night as well. Our dinner was very good but small portions and there was a set menu - no choices. They did their best to accommodate us but needless to say we were disappointed. The setting is delightful however and very well thought out. Not sure where all of the blame is but the staff taking the reservation has to be the main problem. The Groupon description of the dinner was very deceiving however so they should bear some of the fault. Just make sure that you call the day of your reservation to make sure they are expecting you.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank katie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApacheSpiritRanch, Manager at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear katie3,

we are so sorry, that we did not know about your reservation that day. We have been working on figuring out what the reason for this inconvenience was and we are promising to avoid any situations like this in the future.
Our team at the Apache Spirit Team is trying to improve their services every day to make your stay extraordinary and we take your comments very serious. Therefore,we hope that you will come back one day to experience the positive changes we are making every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I had family coming to vist , and wanted to show them a great time and history of Arizona , so why not a relaxing place with good food & fun . and with Tombstone 2 miles away you can go into town and see a gunfight , get a history lesson and shop !!! The eats I may add in Tomstone are reasonably priced at the crystal palace saloon , buffalo burgers , chicken & more ... The Longhorn cafe across the street also great breakfasts and Iam a Chef & Pro Baker and very picky !!! In one day we had lunch in Tombstone took pictures with the gun fight actors , saw the reinactment of the OK corral shoot out ,it was good . a little shopping, lunch . Headed 2 miles to the ranch went for an evening trail ride went to dinner at 6:30 Chef Arturo is truly gifted everyones dinner was fabulous !!! had a cocktail on the front porch ,while viewing the beautiful Dragoon mountain range . went to shoot some pool and listen to live music , danced a little .then !!!! went for a dip in the jazzuci !!! real boring huh !!!! Our family members thought they died and went to western heaven !!! But wait !!! I can't leave out our trail guides Brad and I forgot the sweet young lady wranglers name & and Danny & Patricia at the front desk , Pablo our server & bartender Rockin Jack th musician!!! the housekeeper does a great job . They all made are stay special & fun !!!! to say the least ! So If you read any bad reviews . and they say there is nothing to do maybe they just need to drive there clean car to Las Vegas burn alot of money ,eat to much , see lots of pornography or stay at home !!! I took my Ford crew cab , I can wash it later !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApacheSpiritRanch, Marketing & Sales at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Hi Tom,

thank you so much for writing this great review. This makes us remember why we love our job so much. We are very happy that we were able to make your stay at our ranch this enjoyable.
We hope to see you at the Apache Spirit Ranch some time in the future.

All the best,
Your Apache Spirit Ranch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We purchased from Groupon a package of one night stay and a dinner for $119.00. The so called ranch has nothing except few horses. After driving around 170 miles 2 miles were dirt road and the dust will cover your car and ruin your tires. Anyways, there is nothing absolutely nothing to do there other than eat and sleep. So, we spent almost $200.00 (Gas, Tax) just to go have a lousy free dinner and sleep there in a room that has crickets. What a rotten deal. So, if you can get a refund for your Groupon do it now before you regret it.

Room Tip: Not worth the trip to this Ranch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApacheSpiritRanch, Marketing & Sales at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Bill A,
We were very surprised about your comment here on TripAdvisor and are sorry that you feel this way about our services.
There are a couple of issues that we need to address though:
Your Groupon package included a dinner and overnight stay at the Apache Spirit Ranch. There was no statement in this special deal that entertainment would be included.
Although the entertainment was not included in the price you paid, we still let you participate in our activities. We are very sorry if a reptile show in the evening and cowboy coffee at the campfire in the morning do not meet your expectations of entertainment.
We are a guest ranch and we have 17 horses on our property. The horseback riding is one part of our entertainment program but we offer much more. Therefore, we have to disagree with you that there is nothing to do at the Apache Spirit Ranch. This statement is simply not true.
You can talk to many of our past guests and ask them if they feel the same way you do. We can guarantee you that they would disagree.

Again, we are very sorry that we weren’t able to meet your expectations. But we would highly appreciate if you could base your future reviews solely on true facts.

Sincerely,
Your Apache Spirit Ranch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My daughter and two friends arrived at this $500 a night(negotiated down from almost $900!!) hotel and were simply unable to stay. You arrive and are asked to park in a lot that is a good half mile from registration and to park in a dusty parking lot where you are supposed to wheel your luggage to the room we guess. I called and was told I could remove the chain which read "authorized" only to unload but we would then have to park back in the lot. As my friend undid the chain she got a splinter that was so large she felt she needed a tetanus shot. We began the drive up the dusty road but turned around thinking how absurd it was to even THINK of spending that kind of money for a place that was so unpolished and uncomfortable.

We did not see the room and it very well could have been nice but not to have easy access or at the very least SEND someone to help with luggage is ridiculous. There is also a gate at the entrance that has GUESTS closing the gate. As my visitor from Toronto said "close your own damned gate!" I have had better service and welcome at most Best Westenrs and middle of the road hotel chains!

From afar the place looked like a tacky Old Tucson Studio street. Again, the bed and room may be lovely but this place reeks of ripoff! Additionally when I asked the ranch if they had dinner they wanted to charge $49.99 a person! Just not what it looks like AT ALL in the website photos and my GOODNESS they were rude when I called to let them know of our untenable situation. I hope I can save someone from making the mistake I did. There are some wonderful B and Bs in Tombstone..spend 1/4 of this room price and you will have a great Tombstone experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
16  Thank DesertedPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApacheSpiritRanch, Manager at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Dear “Deserted Paz”,
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The Apache Spirit Ranch always strives on improving its services. Every guest review is therefore very valuable to us.
We are very sorry to hear that the Apache Spirit Ranch did not meet any of your expectations regarding its location and appearance.
You are correct; we are not the average bed and breakfast that you can usually find. We are a guest ranch with all-inclusive packages to give our guests more of an experience than just a regular stay at a B&B. Hence the high rates in our quote to you for 4 people in our most expensive room category the premium suite. These almost $900 (incl. all fees) included accommodation, 3 meals per day (rich breakfast, lunch, 3-course-dinner), soft drinks, snacks, in – room tea & coffee maker, high speed internet access, 1 guided trail ride per day and ranch entertainment (e.g. campfire with live music, poker evening, horseshoe pitching etc.). If you look into other ranches in Arizona you will find that our prices are unbeatable.
The $500 (incl. all fees) B&B rate that you had booked was again for 4 people in our most expensive room category which included the accommodation an a rich breakfast (e.g. made to order omelet, fresh fruit, fresh granola made by our chef, pancakes, hash browns, bacon and more).
We appreciate your criticism regarding the surprise of having to drive over a 2 miles dirt road to get to our ranch. For our next website update, we will make sure to inform our guests of this issue. However, the website does describe the ranch as an “1881 western frontier town (…) surrounded by thousands of acres of unending freedom and adventure”.
Although the parking lot situation was exaggerated regarding the ½ miles distance from the reception, we do acknowledge that we should consider assistance and guidance at the very entrance of our ranch so that guests will not have to search their way to the reception or be bothered by any other hassle such as having to remove a chain.
Furthermore, you quoted a $49.99 dinner that was offered to you. However, you forgot to mention that this rate is a for a three course gourmet dinner which includes an appetizer, amuse-bouche, entrée, desert and soft drinks.
We also regret to hear that you felt that you were treated rudely on the phone. Of course the customer’s concerns and criticism are always valid and valuable to the Apache Spirit Ranch. However, we would have preferred you to give us a chance to take care of these problems when you were still at the ranch and proof to you that you would have had a wonderful experience.
Again, thank you for your review. We will use your valuable criticism to further improve our services.
Sincerely,
Your Apache Spirit Ranch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The Apache Spirit Ranch is highly reccommended, it's an absolute must to visit whether you are an experienced horse rider or just want to try it for the first time.
5 star luxury, the staff are very attentive and accomadating and nothing is too much for them. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very spacious.
This was my first visit and it wont be my last, I have every intention of returning, Yvonne, Jack and the rest of the team are indeed something very special. I sincerly hope to see you all again guys, very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Chris87B18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
536 reviews
22.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 23 in Sierra Vista
603 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
327 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Monument Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Monument Ranch

Address: 895 West Monument Road, Tombstone, AZ 85638 (Formerly Apache Spirit Ranch)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Price Range: £65 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tombstone Monument Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest ranch is situated amidst ancient bolder formations of the Dragoon Mountains and is setup like an 1880's Western frontier town. We are 3 miles, down a dirt road, outside of Tombstone located in the heart of Cochise County, Arizona. Here you can step back in time to the era of the cowboy in our individually designed rooms; each with a unique historical Western theme. Experience the adventure of the historic Wild West with spectacular sunsets, sweeping views of sun-drenched terrain, dry creek beds, panoramic scenery and wildlife. Treat yourself to an historic Wild West adventure while enjoying all of the comforts and conveniences of the modern world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tombstone Monument Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apache Spirit Ranch Hotel Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing