We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Ride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are a group of motorcycle riders that travel alot. I booked The Tombstone Grand Hotel by reading the reviews. I have to say for what is available in Tombstone we hit the jackpot and being from Las Vegas we know what that is! The rooms are very clean and the staff was the best. They went out of their way to meet each individuals needs and since there was 10 of us and just rode 489 miles on motorcycles in one day (so we were a bit cranky) it wasn't an easy task. They not only have a beautiful view from the fire pit out back but bbq's as well for the guests to use. A large area of well kept grass lawn for frisbee playing or what have you. We felt a home. Each night we would all gather around the fire and found all other guests to be just delightful as well. The beds are great! They even brought in the shuttle service 2 hours early to accomodate us! We would book again! If your thinking of booking I think you'll find it the best they have in Tombstone! They don't have an elevator so that is the only drawback however found it was't a big deal after everything else they had to offer. A shout out to "RAINY" who helped me book everyones room! You were right, we were not disappointed!

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs at all, ask for a ground floor. I have bad knees and had a 2nd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierravistamanager, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Cheryl R! Thanks to you and your motorcycle riders for staying with us during your recent visit. I really appreciate that you took the time to share some of the details of your experience. Thank you for pointing out our comfortable beds and the great service you received from Rainee. I am sure other travelers will appreciate your insights and the tip about our elevator - a request for a ground floor room can always be put in with your reservation and we also have staff available to carry luggage if necessary. I hope that we see you again in Tombstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

All rooms non-smoking. Good sized clean rooms with comfy beds after a long day of sightseeing and lots of choices for breakfast. Close to Boothill and downtown Tombstone. Only negative when we got there the pool and hot tub closed ( giving it Shock treatment). Will stay again.

Room Tip: book early if you are staying on a weekend..no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie0149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierravistamanager, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hello ellie0149! Thank you very much for the time you took to share your experience at the Tombstone Grand Hotel! We do appreciate the feedback from our guests and it was good to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, comfortable beds and location. I do apologize that our pool was closed for maintenance while you were there - we do try very hard to minimize guest impact for any work we have to do. Also, a quick note for when you return; although our two-story hotel does not have an elevator, our team is always available to carry luggage or assist in any other way. Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good with a lot of variety. Coffee was available at all times. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I have absolutely no complaints. It was a beautiful view from the fire pit when the sun went down. It would be a long walk to the historic section so a car was needed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierravistamanager, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Tonie G! It was great to hear about your positive experience with us in Tombstone! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for pointing out the great service of our staff and the variety we offer at our daily hot breakfast. We do have some great views from the property and our fire pit area offers a great vantage point for our beautiful sunsets. Next time you visit, please keep in mind that we do have an arrangement with the Tombstone Trolley to get our guests to and from the nearby historic district. Thanks again and travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel was very clean , breakfast bar was never empty or the food cold. Our room was very nice, clean and bed was comfortable . Ranee, the young lady who checked us in , in the evening was very pleasant and helpful .She turned on the firepit, so we could enjoy the cool evening . My only complaint , when we checked in on 10/11, only one of our rooms was available. I booked back in March for two king rooms. When we returned later in the day , they had giving our other room away already . The young man who checked us in earlier in the day was not very helpful .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful from the young woman at the front desk to the woman stocking the breakfast bar. The hotel is situated high above the valley providing an awesome view of the valley and the mountains in the distance. The lobby is cozy with a fireplace and special furniture making socializing easy.
We were on the road for 8 days and found the laundry facilities clean and available with detergent for sale at the front desk. Perfect! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to visit Tombstone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CALNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had never been to Tombstone so staff was very friendly and gave us information on what to do...breakfast each morning and many choices ...very comfortable beds ..We enjoyed our stay so much history and return to 1880,s.....I would recommend staying here but you do need a auto to get to historic district...I have did a review also on FB and Twitter

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room with a view of mountain and firepit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

How people can rate this hotel highly is amazing!The King room's bathroom ( shower ) had a string of long hair;the shower head was clogged up with scale;toilet seat was loose but more worrying was the fact that the toilet ITSELF was loose and was moving up,down and sideways!!
Having reported this,I was told by the manageress at the time that she was authorized to give me a rebate of $20.Fair enough! She took down my credit card details,and 5 days on and still no rebate.She could've easily dipped her hands in the till and offered me the $20.Nah....too easy ...

Room Tip: Tip ? Go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
533 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
762 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: £67 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing