We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Tombstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Don't expect the world... you are in Tombstone!!! Fair value for a fair price. Would recommend and would stay again the future! They have nice added features like games in the commons, fire pit out back, the Singing Cowboy and colorful locals who staff the Hotel....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Duane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello Duane C! Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write a review! We do value all of our guest feedback and I will share your review with our team. I am happy that you took advantage of our "white hat" service amenities such as the fire pit and nightly activities - these do make for great ways to spend the evening in Tombstone! Travel safe and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We truly enjoy every aspect of our stay from the friendly courteous staff to the clean comfortable room to the very enjoyable complimentary breakfast. I can recommend this facility without reservation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello Ronald S and thank you for your recommendation! We do wish to be the place that everyone stays while in Tombstone and I am happy that we provided you with a welcoming and friendly place to rest your head while you visited this amazing part of the Southwest! Travel safe and I hope we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed only one night to take in Tombstone before continuing our vacation in Tucson. Hotel is relatively new (10 Years) and in good condition. The complimentary breakfast was very good with a combination of hot and cold items, including a make your own waffle machine. Don't plan on walking into Tombstone though. It is a long walk along a busy highway. You will need to drive, but free parking in Tombstone is plentiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Daniel A and thank you for staying with us! I do appreciate your kind words about your experience and will share them with our team. When you have the opportunity to return, please think about taking advantage of the trolley service which does stop at our hotel for a trip into Tombstone. I hope we see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Close to the edge of town and near Boothill. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel in general. The hotel offered movie night and a fire pit out back, but we were so exhausted from our day, we didn't take advantage of it. Overall the experience was good and if we go back, we'll definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Kevin G! Thank you for staying with us in Tombstone and for taking time to share your experience. I do hope that you have an opportunity to return and take advantage of our nightly activities and also to relax outside at the fire pit. If you have any ideas for us we would love to hear them. Travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Dirty floors, blood on bathroom floor, terrible mattress, the breakfast is all pre- heated food don't be fooled. The evening activities were good however, the hotel employee burnt the popcorn she made both nights we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Lisa C! I do sincerely apologize that we disappointed you during your stay and I would invite you to call the property and speak directly with our AGM Deb so we can review the issues you encountered. We certainly wish to be "great" and would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Clean, friendly staff, easy check in and out! I would recommend a stay here!
The hotel staff was very friendly, in the morning they did not big us to clean up we just told them when we were checking out and they said they would come back! The woman who checked us in was amazing and so friendly!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hello Nicole S! Thank you for the kind words in regard to your recent stay and I will ensure that my team reads your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your experience and your time in Tombstone. We are always looking to improve, so please let us know if you have any suggestions! Travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent a night here with family on a Spring Break trip through Arizona. The hotel is a very nice, clean facility, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. And our daughter was sworn in as a Tombstone deputy, complete with her own badge, which was a fun touch.

With all of that said, lots of problems and inconsistencies keep this from being a great place to stay:

The pool was cold (and dirty with leaves) and the spa was out of order (none of which was mentioned at check-in, or even when we asked for towels for a trip to the pool).

The pool towels we were given were threadbare and stained -- not a huge deal, just shabby.

The Internet was down when we arrived, making check-in an adventure. They had no idea what our rate was, no way to retrieve our reservation, and wrote down our credit card number by hand.

Guests checking in immediately ahead of us in line were given a map and an attractions guide to the area, we were not. Guests checking in after us were informed of "movie night" and other family activities at the hotel, we were not.

Again, not huge problems, just inconsistencies. It's a good-looking facility staffed by friendly people. It could be a great place with some work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kramerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Kramerdog! Than you for staying with us and for the details you provided about the issues you experienced. We will be discussing these with the team and will work with them on consistency. I do apologize for the problems you encountered and hope that we can regain your confidence in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
536 reviews
21.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 23 in Sierra Vista
603 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: £66 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing