We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and fiendly (but not a B&B)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trail Rider's Inn Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Just to be clear: this is not a bed & breakfast, it's a motel. Clean comfortable rooms (feels like you're staying in a large cabin, very cozy) with all the comfort. Friendly athmosphere. Nice pool and hot tub (unfortunately too cold for a dip). Breakfast is very basic: muffins and dry donuts. But we loved the town! Very well located for a trip to Bisbee and Douglas, where you can hop into Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2008

We stayed at Trailriders this year for the third time. As with the previous two stays it was such a friendly welcome from Paul and Lauren - fellow Brits - who just can't seem to do enough for their guests. It might be a small motel but that adds to it's charm and it's one of only a handful of motels that actually has a pool - the reason that we chose to stay at Trailriders the first time. As well as the warm welcome and the free coffee and donuts for breakfast, showing your roomkey at any of the restaurants in town gets a generous discount off your meal. Tombstone for me is the most amazing place I've ever visited and, as far as I'm concerned, Trailriders is the only place to stay. Next years stay in October has already been booked and my wife and I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank suvvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

When we pulled in off the street we thought OH NO,(I think the owners had just started renovating) but then we saw the room it was so cute and cozy, it looked like a country cottage. The pool is gorgeous, a little cold but hey it was December. The hot tub was so romantic!! The breakfast is only coffee and donuts, but it was free. The owners and staff are SUPER friendly!! If I am ever in the area I will defineately stay here again, and I will recommend the Inn to anyone that will be in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank devlinswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

Hi There

Just a note to say we came back again and stayed at the Trailriders and got exactly the same serivce as we have in previous visits,

Nice to see the improvements made extra rooms been built and a Launderette the place looks better everytime we go back, nice to see the reception area changed as well, Keep up the good work.

Thanks for the great welcome by our new friends we met who were our roomies and the invite to the Cook out

Look forward to meeting you all back there in February

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ready2dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We just returned from our stay in Tombstone. I must say that of all the motels in Tombstone Trail Riders Inn was the right choice. We arrived late after closing and our rooms were ready with keys inside. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent location in Tombstone. Everything was within walking distance.The owners were great. Pool and Spa was very nice. Coffee, donuts and muffins every morning. Free wifi and cable. The rooms were made up everyday. The Best in Town!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladcom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Reading some of the reviews before I checked in, I was unsure I had the right place. Puzzling.

The photographs show this huge parking area. However it was so small I had trouble parking just to get to the office - and it was only 2:00 on Friday! Counting the rooms, and then the available number of spaces, it became quickly apparent that there was nowhere near enough spaces. So I asked the clerk (the owners were out of town). She told me there was additional parking OUT IN THE STREET.

So I paid for two days anyway as I was afraid motels might be booked for the weekend. As it turned out, a groundless fear! When I was paying I was then informed there would be an additional $30 a night for our dog. Non-refundable! Yikes. When I talked to the owner over the phone (before leaving home) she quoted me a rate for a pet room of only $58. So I made a reservation for two nights with my Master card - or so I thought.

Taking a drive around town I found that every motel I visited had a vacancy. So back to the motel to try to get a refund. Even though it was only 2:30 on Friday I was charged - including the extra for the dog. I told the clerk I thought this a little unfair - to no avail.

I did look at the room, however. Very tiny and very old. One queen and 2 cheap straight back chairs. One small TV. I feel unqualified to rate the rooms other than that.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
2  Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Driving into Tombstone we noticed a "Vacancy" sign, turned in and found the most friendly place we have ever stayed in.
Lauren and Paul the owners couldn't do enough for us they were so genuine and helpful they made our first trip to Tombstone really GREAT.
Everything about Trail Riders was a good experience.
The rooms were quite big and very clean, the beds very comfortable, the morning coffee and donuts etc a really welcome way to start the day. From watching the sun come up with a nice hot coffee to arriving back to the Pretty well lit courtyard after a night in town, the whole ambience was perfect.
We stayed 5 nights and the car never moved until we had to leave.
To sum up if you are going to Tombstone, We would say Trail Rider's is the ONLY place to stay, the perfect place in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mancityfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
0.9 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#5 of 9 in Tombstone
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Rider's Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Rider's Inn Motel

Address: 13N and 7th Street, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Region: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#2 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: £53 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trail Rider's Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trail Rider's Inn is a very quaint and peaceful hotel within walking distance of the OK Corral, and all of the Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday history of the 1880's. Ask our friendly staff all types of historical questions and let us whisk you away to a different time of the cowboys. Featuring swimming pool, hot tub, and quiet clean rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trail Rider's Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail Rider`s Hotel Tombstone
Trail Riders Hotel
Trail Riders Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing