We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good, people and waves”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mandiri Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Krui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to escape with a group of mates or solo and score some amazing, uncrowded waves. Great food and host to guide you with accurate advise with the for coming conditions and swell. Local knowledge definitely helps and these guys have done their homework. Friendly and knowledgable drivers make the trip a blast too. I give the mandiri beach club 5 stars, so get amongst it fellas!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholasraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Awesome place, friendly environment! The owners are legendary! Food is great! Waves are spectacular and there is a lot with in a small radius. The Indonesian staff are always polite and happy to help. I can't wait to get back there!
You won't ever regret a trip to the mandiri

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We scored unreal waves almost the whole time. With lots of help from the experienced and well knowledged owners. The camp would have to be the most central in the area by far. Unreal food and really nice staff. More than willing to help at any point in time. Definitely recommend staying here. We will all be back

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was my second trip to the MBC and after having an amazing time last year I couldn't wait to get back! The three owners are absolute legends and made our trip epic. Eni and Tolay also do a fantastic job with looking after all the guests. The food is a beast with a variety of different meals. Take me back to the MBC!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceEliza6eth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although we went as a group of friends we were all in couples and MBC suits all! The wave out front is the most perfect beach brake, 30 mins drive both north and south there are flawless left and right reef and point breaks.

The food was faultless where you can choose your own breakfast and then there is a set lunch and dinner witch is different everyday. There are great asian and western dishes on offer so that after hours in the water everyone can't wait to see what food will be served and it never failed to disappoint.

Drinks prices are cheap and at least once a week all guests and owners get together for a party which was always great fun.

There are motorbikes to hire to explore the area and the local town of Krui. There's a bigger town called Liwa that's worth a visit to see how the famous Coffee Lawak is made and the drive to get there is spectacular through the mountains.

The guys offer a shuttle bus everyday to any surf spot that pumping so you'll always be getting the best waves.

For the girls the beach is peaceful and there's always enough sun! The viewing tower is the perfect spot for any yoga enthusiasts. The local market in Krui is well worth a visit as well and particularly good for anyone with an interest in photography.

All the rooms are spacious and clean and there is always someone on hand if any problems. We were always made to feel welcome and will definitely be going back.

There was no wifi at the time due to the remoteness of the area but as i understand it will be installed very soon.

Thank you for a great trip guys!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TomWedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at the MBC back in October last year. We scored epic waves everyday. The camp is perfectly located directly in front of one of the best, most consistent beach breaks i've ever surfed. And when it's too big there, it's only a short drive to the Krui reefs, which offer a variety of wave-types in a variety of conditions.
The accommodation is comfortable and clean, the food is delicious and the crew the run the place are super friendly and easy going.
I highly recommend the Mandiri Beach Club for any surfer who is keen for an adventure and riding amazing waves in amongst a beautiful jungle setting. For non surfers, it's a great location for relaxing, snorkelling and exploring a very interesting, remote tropical island.
I keep looking at my photos from the trip and wishing I were back there now!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Richmond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was there just in the beginning of MBC. Such an amazing place, and especially people. The three owners are great, helpful and funny. The location is great, beach is great...It is all you need. It is like a big family, something that is great when you travel far way from your own one. So happy to have been there. I hope that I will come back soon (and I don't even surf!)


Room Tip: I was there just in the beginning, so I am sure there has been improvements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krui hotels
4.6 mi away
Krui Surf Camp
Krui Surf Camp
#8 of 22 in Krui
3 reviews
0 mi away
Krui Mutun Walur Surf Camp
4.4 mi away
Sumatra Surf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Surfcamp - Palm Beach Krui
0 mi away
No photo provided
Horja Losmen
#1 of 5 in Krui
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandiri Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandiri Beach Club

Address: Mandiri Beach | South Sumatra, Krui 34575, Indonesia (Formerly Mandiri Beach Camp)
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Lampung > Krui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Krui
Price Range: £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mandiri Beach Club is a Sumatra Surf camp offering accommodation in the Krui surf area. The Camp is run by three surfers Tim, Chris and Dan, the three of us are here all year surfing all day and having a few beers with the crew at night. We're open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mandiri Beach Club Krui, Indonesia - Sumatra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing