We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damai is the best value surf holiday you'll find.”
Review of Damai Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Damai Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Krui
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just got back from a 2 week guys surf trip to Damais. Jason and Ayu were both fantastic hosts and created the right vibe for what we were looking for. Being able to watch state of origin was a bonus. Food was fantastic - very fresh, tasty and heaps of it. The surf pumped the whole time. Very challenging and Jason was able to recommend different spots to cater for everyone's capabilities.Had the time of our lives. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottdinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Where to even start?
This was our first trip to Sumatra and what an amazing experience it was, if you want to immerse yourself in the Indo culture or just Surf Surf Surf this is the place!! You just cannot prepare yourself for the holiday you will have at Damai, you will be blown away from the minute you arrive. The trip from the Airport to Damai is long but the scenery is breathtaking and the drivers will do whatever they can to make the drive more comfortable and there are plenty of Indo Marts around for a snack. There is not a lot of English spoken around Krui, although everyone will want to say Hi and try out the English they do know and you'll dish out High Fives till your hands are sore, Jas and Ayu speak both Indo and English and are always happy to help, although learning a few Indo words makes a world of difference.
As for Damai, I can only repeat what has been said before, Food - Brilliant, Accommodation - Brilliant, Staff - Brilliant and the Beer - Ice Cold. At Damai you are not just another guest you are welcomed in as a friend and addressed by your name, the staff greet you every time you cross paths and will sit down and chat with you over dinner and drinks. Damai also offers wifi to guests so that you can be as connected with the rest of the world as you want to be. The Rooms are safe and secure with locking drawers for passports etc. The showers are simple but absolutely awesome especially during the hot days right before a nap, the second storey on the main building is a great place for an afternoon snooze. The holidays at Damai are 100% whatever you want them to be, Jas and Ayu will call everyone they can to make things happen you only have to ask. Out of the 6 of us that went only one is a Surfer but there is absolutely no shortage of things to do for non-surfers. I would recommend a trip to the Coffee Plantations in Liwa, and a trip over to Banana Island to jump of the Old Jetty and enjoy Coconuts straight from the tree. A trip into Krui is also interesting there is a fair bit to see around the town and the food is really good. Just don't forget to change your money before you get to Sumatra, Krui has not yet been taken over by Mainstream Tourism so everything is in cash and there are no ATM's. For the Surfers Jas knows whats what and will point in the right direction for good waves.

Damai is that One in a Million and if you get the chance at stay at Damai I strongly suggest you take it, you will never forget this holiday, this is True Indonesia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnSH-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This place is filth (as in excellent) Comfort, serenity, five star as in all respects. Accommodation, food, services and value for dollar. South Sumatra is not for the mainstream tourist population. There's very little there in the way of facilities that are thrown into your face like in Bali. No taxis. No cafes. No ATMs!! Sometimes, not even electricity. But Jason & Chook's place overlooking the point, well, you couldn't ask for anything better. I never felt out of place and always welcome. Amazing place to surf, explore or simply chill. Damn it! I'm envious of their lifestyle....

Magz (Antoni - June 2014)

Room Tip: Book in advance Possum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a solo traveller I checked out many different options for my surf trip this year. I did stay at Damai bungalows last year so I did know what to expect. Many surf destinations in Indo are out pricing themselves for the average worker. The reason I chose Damai bungalows as my surf trip again this year was not only the frieght train left hander straight out the front, but also the old school vibe that Jason & Ayu have created. It doesnt take long for them to make you feel welcome, as if you belong. You help yourself to the fridge and get your own beer, write it in the book yourself. The honesty system your got to love it. There's not much trust in the world these days. The people that a place like this attracts are the down to earth type of people. No egos here. With it being only my second trip here I have still meet some awesome people. Return travellers just like myself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First trip to Damai and South Sumatra and I was super impressed. Cool place to stay overlooking the left out the front.Food was sensational, beers were icy cold, Chook and the girls in the kitchen always prepared great meals including heaps of fish and sushi. Jason is more than happy to let you know where to head if out the front isn't doing its thing or you want to surf something different.Doesnt mind a bintang or two with the guests after surfing all day as well. Definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayno2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Such a fantastic place to go, consistant great surf right out the front. if not there are some great breaks just a short trip up the road. Ayu & Staff are awesome producing some beautiful, generous meals. Jason is a very friendly welcoming host, who insures the beers are nice and cold.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've just got back from my second trip to the Krui area and second time staying at Damai bungalows. There are many reasons why these guys have such good ratings on this site: The setting is perfect, the hosts are friendly and helpful, the bungalows are comfortable and great value and the food is awesome!! The surf wasn't all time for my short stay but Jason made sure I got to the spots that would be working and I ended getting a stack of great sessions. Ayu and the girls in the kitchen never fail to lay on the most amazing selection of Indonesian and western dishes to refuel you after a day spent in the water. There's a always a good atmosphere at Damai, you can kick back and watch the surf, read a book, play pool, watch a movie or have an ice cold beer and a yarn with someone at the bar- whatever your thing.

Thanks Jason, Ayu and staff for a great stay, looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krui hotels
0.0 mi away
Sumatra Surf Resort
0.0 mi away
Krui Mutun Walur Surf Camp Guest House
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Horja Losmen
#1 of 3 in Krui
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Bungalows

Address: Tanjung Setia, Pesisir Selatan, Krui 34874, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > Lampung > Krui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Krui
Price Range: £15 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide simple,clean accommodation to just 12 guests at a time, wave side at Tanjung Setia, Krui, west Lampung. included in the nightly price are 3 great meals a day. our common pavilion overlooks the waves & sunsets directly in front of us. drinks & snacks are provided from our bar & our 2nd story viewing deck is great to relax or to take photo's from. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Damai Bungalows Krui, Indonesia - Sumatra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing