We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dominical
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Costa Paraiso(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Domilocos(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tortilla Flats(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Rio Lindo Hotel(Dominical)
View Hotel
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
106
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageswe enjoyed walkingroca verdefelt like homeexcellent hostsdominical areathe pacific oceanfront porchair conditioningminute drivea great place to staydianedogsiguanashammockshousepool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our daughter for a few nights on our way to the Osa. We rented the house closest to the beach. First off, the owner (Richard) was fantastic. He dropped by on occasion to check on us, was a wealth of knowledge, and even played in the band up the road (with a personal invite to come listen). The house was simple, yet provided all the necessary amenities and comforts we expected. We LOVED sitting on the back porch of the house and watching the birds come and go to the feeder, as well as the giant iguanas that would frequent the nearby trees. This place is amazing and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The large beach house....affordable and beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We booked a cottage based on the good reviews on tripadvisor, but when we pulled into the driveway we were still awe-struck. This place is a bargain! The property is well maintained. There is a line of trees between the houses and the beach, but you can see the beach. There is an air conditioner, but we kept the windows and doors open. From our back porch (facing the beach) we could see tons of birds and iguanas.

We had four adults so we stayed in the large house, which is the closest one to the beach but not by much. It was clean and well stocked. The owners were very helpful with any questions and gave suggestions on local restaurants (and where to avoid). There are quite a few dogs on the property, but they are all friendly.

The beach right in front of the houses is rocky and difficult to swim in, but it's beautiful and perfect for walking along the beach or tide-pooling at low tide. There is a good area for swimming just a short walk down the beach. Unfortunately you cannot walk into Dominical via the beach because the beach ends in a jagged cliff.

The town of Dominical is basically one dirt road. It's a very relaxed surf town. The perfect place to enjoy a meal and a great view of the beach! Hopefully I will have the chance to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

!.The Owners Richard and his beautiful wife Diana couldn't have been any sweeter.
2.The room was rustic cute with a very pretty mural and 2 beds to greet us every night when we got back.
3.The grounds are so beautifly maintained.
4.Very short walk to the beach.
5.Only a few cabins so not any noise.
6. We only got to stay there a few days but I wish we could have stayed there longer.
7. Very happy trip
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpooLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The cabin was clean, the AC worked almost too well, and Flaca the dog was our coffee companion every morning. I loved the grounds, and the proximity to the beach. I had been begging for a tropical beach vacation for years and this fit the bill perfectly. Richard and Diana were the perfect hosts, and our stay couldn't have been any better. It was a dream location off the main tourist trails, right in the middle of some of the most beautiful jungle in the world. The locals, Ticos, we're kind and generous, and there was so much to do.

I am already plotting how we can come back, and bring our little girls with us next time. We are enchanted and bewitched by Coconut Grove, Dominical, and Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathirene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed in the large house at Coconut Grove for a week, and it was absolutely wonderful. We wanted a fun Costa Rica experience away from too much tourist stuff, and that's what Coconut Grove was. The location was ideal- we felt like we were in a secluded jungle, but the beach was so close we could listen to the waves while laying on the hammock on the very large porch. We couldn't swim in that part of the ocean because of the rocks, but they were fun to climb on, and the almost empty beach was great for taking long walks, and there was a sparkling clean pool to jump into as well.

The owners were away, but let us know in advance that Ian would be taking care of things, and he was a super nice friendly guy.

Even though you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, there are lots of places to eat nearby with friendly owners, and a Wildlife Refuge nearby for hiking and ziplining.

We went in early May and it rained most nights, but the days were beautiful and sunny. The thunderstorms were actually great to watch and listen to from our porch.

The house was in great shape, very clean, and extremely reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The big house is worth the extra money if you are staying there for more than a night or two. It felt like a cozy home.
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews