We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We rented out the entire property. This way we all had our own cabana or house to retreat to. It was wonderful. Richard and Diane were very accomidating. They had someone come and give the girls manis and pedis while the guys surfed so everyone was happy. We loved the property.....so peaceful and serene watching the sunsets while swimming in the pool overlooking your own private beach......what more can you ask for. I would definitely stay there again. Make sure to ask Ricardo to give you the iquana show.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennhovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2008

After arriving at Coconut Grove we quickly realized that a week would not be enough and extended our stay. With good surf a quick walk down the beach and many other great beaches and breaks within 15 minutes drive, Coconut Grove was a great home base for our adventures. We stayed in the big beach house (#5) and it literally had all the comforts of home. In fact, after leaving and continuing our Costa Rica adventure we never found anywhere that quite matched up to the quality of Coconut Grove.

Diane and Richard are great hosts and I strongly recommend heading over to their place for a "few" drinks in the evening. Pura Vida Ricardo...thanks for fixing my ear infection! I hope to be back some day.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank fear2bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

We LOVED staying at Coconut Grove!!! Richard and Diane are the best hosts ever! It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brooklyn_Newlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

This was the perfect place for our vacation in Dominical. We had a beautiful cottage with a large porch and hammock overlooking the ocean and beautiful grounds. Diane and Richard are the perfect hosts and within a few days, we felt like family. The whole place is immaculate and gorgeous. We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful, safe and perfect getaway. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Billiewhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

Richard and Diane (and all the pups!),

I am just now getting around to posting a review. I just wanted to write and say how much we loved Coconut Grove and I am currently planning a trip next year with some girlfriends!
I wouldn't stay anywhere else. You were wonderful hosts and I can't wait to come back next year!
It's been 2 months and I am constantly talking about my trip still! Even though we only stayed for a few nights, we will always consider Coconut Grove to be our home away from home.

Thanks again!
Katrina

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klg1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is about 2 kms from the township of Dominical and a beautiful, quiet location right on the beach. Everyone has there own cabina with fans and bathrooms. There is a swimming pool/ BBQ/ Bar area and a great place to watch the sunset on the beach. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the on-site grounds-keeper is especially nice. A pet chicken will entertain you and there are gazillions of reptiles (Iguana type animals) all over the grounds.
You will not be sorry you stayed here. Very clean, safe, friendly, and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The owners of Coconut Grove, Richard and Diane, were very welcoming and accommodating. They made us feel right at home and we really enjoyed our private little cottage set right off the beach surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. The grounds keeper, Ricardo, kept the area well groomed and added a bit of local color to our stay at Coconut Grove. He is the local shaman, apparently and has a very big heart! The pool was immaculately maintained each morning by Richard and it was a highlight of our stay there. We took advantage of the pool morning, noon and night. A plus as the weather in March is rather hot and humid. There is a lovely tropical, rustic thatch roofed hut poolside where there are two large hammocks great for reading or snoozing.
We would definitely return to Coconut Grove if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeeMtShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.1 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range: £56 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing