We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottage on wonderful tropical oceanfront”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We only stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February but it was one of our favourite places in Costa Rica. The cottage had everything we needed including a kitchenette. It was great to watch the iguanas on the trees and in the grounds by our cottage.
The sunsets from the oceanside were spectacular. We found we were just content to sit on the beach and watch the birds and the waves. The woodpecker going to and forth from it's nest in the tree on the beach was a bonus. Diane kindly lent us beach towels and beach chairs to help us enjoy the wonderful beach. We did not swim as it was surf waves and rocks but there was a small area around the headland which became more tranquil at a certain stage of the tide. However, we did make good use of the lovely pool in the grounds which was nearly right in front of our cottage. So not far to go!
Richard was really helpful and gave us a lift to Dominical and back as we had no transport and getting a taxi proved impossible due to the festival at Uvita. We were really grateful for that. Another frequent guest also helped us out a couple of times with lifts which we really appreciated. I mustn't forget the owner of the supermarket on the main road towards Dominical who brought us back to Coconut Grove the first time we failed to get a taxi! The kindness of everyone was brilliant and much appreciated.
There was a coconut tree near our cottage and one morning a young man quickly climbed up the tree, which was amazing to see, and started cutting down the coconuts. The owner, Richard, regularly gets the coconuts cut down and we were treated to coconut milk straight from the tree.
A great place to enjoy a natural garden by the Pacific with friendly and helpful owners.

Room Tip: All cottages were in good positions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We rented the large beach house and were pleasantly surprised to find the house to be everything we needed...and only steps away from the ocean. Richard and Diane, the owners were friendly and welcoming...providing lots of local information and things to do! The pool and rancho provided a great spot to relax, take a swim, and meet other guest. The dogs were very well behaved and were soon our friends..often enjoying a walk on the beach with us..or a brilliant sunset. The drinking water is well water that is tested and good to drink and use. We felt very secure during our two week stay and enjoyed not having to worry about that issue. The sunsets are breathtaking almost every night and long peaceful early morning walks on the beach are very enticing! I appreciated the well stocked kitchen since we like to eat in and enjoy the local products. The staff was very friendly and provided whatever we needed. We plan on returning in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

2014 marks our 13th vacation spent at Coconut Grove in Dominical. We are never disappointed with our decision to make a return visit. Richard and Diane Abraham are excellent hosts, always very friendly and helpful. You are truly "their guests" when you stay with them. They keep their facilities clean and in good repair. The setting is beautiful and tranquil..... the grounds are colored with lush tropical and well maintained vegetation.... truly a paradise to be experienced!! If you're headed to the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, check them out. I'm confident you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy_and_Mike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The best place about these cottages is the ocean front setting. We enjoyed walking on the beach. We also always want a place with a kitchenette and this place has one. It was very clean and felt safe. We stayed in a tiny cottage but they have options for larger cottages and houses. The other guests were very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I recently just returned back from Coconut Grove and am counting down the days until I can return back. I have never stayed at a better place for hospitality. The owners are Americans and make you feel as if you are home. On top of feeling extremely comfortable, Coconut Grove is inside an extremely beautiful lush forest and on a sandy beach which the cabins and the pool looks out onto. The cabins have everything you need with a little kitchen, bathroom, ext. and is perfect for living. This place is also easily accessed to from San Jose and is a 2 min. drive into the surf town of Dominical. You also should like dogs if you are going because they have 6 dogs which I immediately fell in love with, they are all sweet and nothing to be afraid of.I strongly recommend to visit Coconut Grove and I plan on returning as soon as I can!

Room Tip: There are a few little cabins and 2 larger houses. We stayed at the largest beach house which is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and i stayed 1 night last week while the owners were gone, but Ananda was housesitting. loved our little cottage, it had everything you need to cook meals. This place is easy to get from san jose. the views are unbelievable. They have a lot of dogs, so hope your a dog lover. You do hear traffic from the highway, I would recommend the house if traffic bothers you. I plan to return. The owners are Americans.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

we live in costa rica, and enjoy going down to uvita to see the whale festival in sept. all cabins have full kitchens with fridge and stove as well as a coffee maker WITH coffee provided! you just can't beat the coconut grove. we keep returning

Room Tip: theyhave one cottage down toward the beach, the others are near the pool. if you can get the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyswids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
1.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
428 reviews
3 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
214 reviews
5 mi away
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
#7 of 14 in Dominical
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing