We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, and friendly in Dominical”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Boca Raton, FL
1 review
“Clean, safe, and friendly in Dominical”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Our second time staying at Coconut Grove Cottages...This year there was six of us in total surfing, relaxing, and enjoying the scenery. Coconut Grove is definately the best place in Dominical to stay whether you're traveling alone or in a group. You could potentially rent the whole place but if you don't, you'll still enjoy lots of quiet and privacy even if there's other guests. Coconut Grove is right beside the highway but feels like a hidden gem. The beachfront scenery is great and the sunsets don't get much better. The beach house served as a perfect "base camp" for us throughout our stay. The whole setup is perfect with the owners living on-site keeping the property safe, secure, and beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TSJBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield/Suisun, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Awesome little houses and Cabinas with little kitchens for great rates! We would have liked to stay forever! Beach is in spitting distance and the atmosphere is perfectly chill. 5 dogs, a cat, a chicken and lizards and iguanas all hanging out just out side your porch, plus a pool, hammocks, and plenty of space. This place made our vacation a true relaxation event. Dominical in general is such a relaxing area it's not a surprise.

  • Liked — The ammount of space and ammenities we got for our dollar/colone.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filthypond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Our family of 9 stayed here for a week and had a blast. CG is at the center of everything in Dominical. We surfed Dominicalito (1 minute drive south) every morning at high tide. Great high tide surf spot. Playa Dominical is a two minute drive north. You can also walk to both spots. The beach right in back is beautiful but too many rocks to surf, better suited for watching the amazing sunsets. Members of our family took advantage of the Yoga classes, massage therapy, manicures and pedicures. The owners are happy to recommend what's fun to do and what's good to eat around town. Don't leave without meeting Ricardo, the care taker of the grounds. He's an amazing guy who can call dozens of iguanas and comodos down from the trees for a lunch time feeding. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank woogzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm beach, fl
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We rented out the entire property. This way we all had our own cabana or house to retreat to. It was wonderful. Richard and Diane were very accomidating. They had someone come and give the girls manis and pedis while the guys surfed so everyone was happy. We loved the property.....so peaceful and serene watching the sunsets while swimming in the pool overlooking your own private beach......what more can you ask for. I would definitely stay there again. Make sure to ask Ricardo to give you the iquana show.

  • Liked — The property was much more than I anticipated. The website did not do it justice.
  • Disliked — sugar ants are a problem if you leave anything on the counters. they are a problem many times even if you don't. mosquitos in costa rica in general are awful. bring your off.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennhovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

After arriving at Coconut Grove we quickly realized that a week would not be enough and extended our stay. With good surf a quick walk down the beach and many other great beaches and breaks within 15 minutes drive, Coconut Grove was a great home base for our adventures. We stayed in the big beach house (#5) and it literally had all the comforts of home. In fact, after leaving and continuing our Costa Rica adventure we never found anywhere that quite matched up to the quality of Coconut Grove.

Diane and Richard are great hosts and I strongly recommend heading over to their place for a "few" drinks in the evening. Pura Vida Ricardo...thanks for fixing my ear infection! I hope to be back some day.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank fear2bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2008

We LOVED staying at Coconut Grove!!! Richard and Diane are the best hosts ever! It was wonderful!

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn_Newlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2008

This was the perfect place for our vacation in Dominical. We had a beautiful cottage with a large porch and hammock overlooking the ocean and beautiful grounds. Diane and Richard are the perfect hosts and within a few days, we felt like family. The whole place is immaculate and gorgeous. We would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful, safe and perfect getaway. Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Billiewhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.1 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
574 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing