We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Awesome Bar & Staff”
Review of Que Nivel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Que Nivel
Ranked #9 of 12 Dominical B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Stayed a week in Dominical and had a blast The town is fairly small (which is a good thing!), so over the course of the week we had a chance to visit almost every establishment in Dominical; Que Nivel was definitely the right choice for accomodations. The hotel is about as close to the beach as you can possibly get, so access to the surf is a very short walk (100 meters or so) and very convenient. Great rooms (air conditioning!), awesome bar, and good food. However, the staff at Que Nivel is what made our stay in Dominical truly special. The staff is a mixture of Americans and locals, and both bent over backwards to show us a great time and clued us in on what to do when in town. With their help we located amazing hidden waterfalls and surf spots, and they also weren't afraid to recommend other great places to eat in town. If you go to Dominical rent ATV's for the day! Without the encouragement of our new friends at Que Nivel we never would have done so and would have missed out on what turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Highly recommended and looking forward to going back again next summer! THANKS GUYS!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylechristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Que Nivel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

Que Nivel is like a nice smooth and subtle vortex. I left Dominical after my first stay at Que Nivel and went right back another week later. I was so surprised that the rooms were priced the same as other locations in Dominical but the quality of the rooms and service are so much better. and the hot showers without those scary electrical things? a definite plus in Costa Rica. I would recommend that anyone travel to or through Costa Rica make a trip to Dominical and stay at Que Nivel. The food is fantastic and the people working there have become great friends -- thanks guys. Orlando

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExistOnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

If my heading doesnt explain it, i dont know what else you could ask for in a place to stay. Que nivel was one of highlights of my two month backpacking excursion through Costa. The rooms were clean, with great beds, hot water, great food in the restaurant, and best of all surf racks in every room. The Bar is one of the hot spots in town with its weekly DJ and live music performances meeting people was not a problem. Its a great place to stay traveling alone or in a group. Not only were other guests awesome, but the staff and hotel owner herself could not have been cooler and more helpful. Located across the street from the infamous heavy wave of Dominical beach break it is truely paradise. If you are heading to Dominical you have to check this place out!! Safe Travels and Pura Vida.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaecoSurf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed in Dominical for 4 days at the end of our Costa Rica Trip. We came in a Bus from Quepos and had a bit of a hard time finding the hotel until we asked a local. In reality Domincal is so small we could have walked the entire town in 5 minutes and found it ourselves.

We had the Green room at first, but he toilet broke, and we were switched into the Blue room at the far end of the hotel. We would later be very grateful for this move. The rooms were great, nice beds, lots of storage space. The shower is definately the nicest feature, wish I had on in my house. We had one of the NON A/C rooms but with the windows open at night the room was plenty cool.

During the day we could hang out on the porch and we had a hommock next to our window. The staff could always be found, though they were in Thruster most of the time and not the office.

The reason we were glad we got the second room is thrusters generally plays music from around 11am until 1am. It is a bit loud and with the windows open could get annoying to someone. It never bothered us much, but could be a problems for families with kids.

Overall I loved the place and would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Liquidsilver96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

I go to Costa Rica once a year to surf. I always end up in Dominical. I thought I had stayed everywhere there, until I noticed Que Nivel. I stayed there and found out that not only do they have affordable prices but they are the best place to stay in Dominical.
I found brand new everything, from mattresses to bathrooms. The showers are really cool its like showering outside. They even have a water heater and not those tico death showers. The rooms are done by color. I stayed in the Blue room. They also have surfboard racks so my bros and I had a place to put our boards.
This place has the best food too! I had almost everything on their menu and it was all awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ECsurf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

I was backpacking through Costa Rica and came across a newly renovated hotel/bar/restaurant called Que Nivel. Formerly known as Thrusters, the rooms were completely renovated. The beds were the most comfortable I experienced in Costa Rica. The room had a board rack for surfers like me, and the bathrooms were incredible. It was different, well thought out, and a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chaser44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benni09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Que Nivel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Que Nivel

Address: Dominical 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range: £22 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Que Nivel - The coolest restaurant/bar/hotel in Dominical, Costa Rica and probably the entire planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Que Nivel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing