We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yes, it is all that.”
other traveller has booked this property
This could be you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything Now this is what you call open air living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything
Now this is what you call open air living
From the living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Breezes and views from everywhere
Casual kitchen dining
Dining for six, watch out for hummingbirds and butterflies passing through
Precious hardwood bar
Master suite #1 with exotic hardwood ceiling
Nicely appointed master suite #2
See and listen to the beauty around you from the showers
Custom carved limestone sink/countertop in bath #1
Custom coral countertop/shower in master bath #2
View towards the west
Hammock view
Tarzan the sloth hanging 8' over the deck
Fluffy and Stuffy sharing at FT
Sunrise from your bedroom or living room
Tropical sunsets from pool
Sunset reflection
You have arrived in paradise!
Tarzan the sloth
Fiery billed aracari
Deck for more viewing of whales, dolphins, water and wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ehipres
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yes, it is all that.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Flying Toucans has so many positive reviews; I feel I would be beating a dead horse to simply list what everyone else has already written. Especially when you consider they are all true. Yes, Flying Toucans lives up to the hype. Rarely do you find a place that does, but everything there was amazing. My wife, sister, brother-in-law and I went February 1 – 8, 2014.

The house is as described. It is beautiful and is perfect for two couples (or one couple). It is very private and secure. There is covered parking and a lockable entry gate. You cannot see another neighbor, and you feel like you have the jungle to yourself. We saw amazing wildlife while lounging around the villa, from monkeys to toucans to a million butterflies. Though we did not get to see a sloth, there was always a parade of wildlife to keep us entertained.

The layout of the house works very well. The kitchen, outdoor living area and pool are seamlessly integrated. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and preparing cocktails of choice. The bedrooms are upstairs and each is large with an amazing bathroom. There was no need for us to “flip” for the best bedroom, as both were great.

The view is unbelievable from anywhere. Yes, you will find yourself staring at it, completely lost in your own world.

Darryl and Donna were great. They helped us with everything we asked for and provided us with great tips on what to do, see and eat.

We didn’t venture out much, so I am really not one to comment about excursions and such. We just hung around the villa and enjoyed the view, each other’s company and the wildlife. That being said, Café Exotica was great, and Road Shack has amazing sandwiches.

We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thanks Eric and Stephanie for choosing Flying Toucans. We are always excited for our guests when they book knowing what they will find and then hearing that they found it even better than they thought! Hope you can visit again some day, :) John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpoint Idaho
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
So glad you guys finally made it to CR after waiting so many years! Now you know why we prefer it over other tropical destinations we've been to. I thought that was so interesting that you said in an email that your diabetes count went down so much by just being relaxed at FT., Hope it stays down now that you are back home.
:) John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thanks Winston and Catherine for staying with us. You are so polite and respectful and young! Wish I had first seen Flying Toucans at your age. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Reviewed 18 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thanks Jonathon for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. When we lived in Dominical we enjoyed meeting our guests in person, but now living back in the US we miss having that opportunity. It too was a privilege to meet you wonderful Texans (my wife's family is from there) and we're so glad you enjoyed the beauty of Flying Toucans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NV
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
Thanks John and Brenda for being part of the Flying Toucans family and sharing in the wowness we all experience from being there
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Whodats
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing...........”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

What an amazing house!!!! We have rented homes all over Central and South American and there is just no comparison. The owners took their time and thought out every aspect of this dream home.
The villa was clean and had everything that you would need to enjoy your stay.....and stay we did. It wasn't until we got back and folks started asking us, well what did you do ? We had to answer not much. Though we did explore every day it seemed like our main goal was to get back to FT and ejoy the pool and wildlife.
Just a couple of tips. If your not upstairs keep the sliding door closed. We had a monkey who kept trying to break in. After I had a talk with her she knew she was going down the wrong path and promised not do it again.
This statement has nothing do with the house but unless you enjoy listening to HEAVY BASS all night from 6 K's away and I mean all night (9:00pm - 7:00am) I would not go to this area of Costa Rica during the Envision Music Fest. Though we didn't get much sleep for those few night it did not interfer with our good times.
We will rent this place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The pool and the views, feeding the monkey and birds were cool too.
Liked least: Outside enterance to the bedroom. But not a big deal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing