We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”

Bar y Restaurante El Coco
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Dominical
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Latin, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We love to eat here after a day at the beach. Good food, and batidos (smoothies). Good service and good prices!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    59
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great value, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've been to Dominical several times and always returned to El Coco. The food is great here, basic Costa Rican, similar to what you'd get anywhere else, but you always get a big portion, and the prices are more than reasonable. They're the best in town.

The breakfast here is particularly good. Also the arroz con mariscos is quite tasty.

One negative thing we would have to say about El Coco is that probably 50% of the time we were in this restaurant, we saw girls working as prostitues entertaining tourists. It was very obvious, and might make some people uncomfortable. We just turned the other way and enjoyed our food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lacanadiensita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Food was good - service was good - portions size good - agood place to check out

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tasty and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The food was basic but the seafood was top notch. The bartender was beyond helpful with directions and bus times, he even ran out to the street to make sure we got on the right bus!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannnahbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is the place my boyfriend & I frequented the most on our recent trip to Dominical. Food is great and has one of the larger menus we saw over there. Breakfast was top notch and only about 5 USD for the both of us, including drinks, so it was also a great deal for the price. We both enjoyed each meal that we ate here, and the nachos we shared as an appetizer. The atmosphere, like most restaurants in the town, is very laid-back and casual, and at night it's one of the livelier places in Dominical. Salon El Coco had some of the best food we ate during our whole trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar y Restaurante El Coco also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar y Restaurante El Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing