We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Stay in Paradise”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Las Rocas, The Monkey House and Casa Eclectica from the pool deck Sunrise at Shelter From the Storm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Villa Las Rocas, The Monkey House and Casa Eclectica from the pool deck
Sunrise at Shelter From the Storm
Villa La Cuesta
La Cuesta, Bedroom
Wide angle of The Monkey House
Las Rocas Arriba kitchen/salon and terrace
Baja Las Rocas compact but complete
Las Rocas Arriba bedroom with a fantastic view!
down the road to the pool/rancho area
pool rancho from the upper entrance
Honor bar with satellite TV, DVD's and music
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
abjnbpt
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

For full disclosure purposes, Daryl and Donna are longtime friends of an old friend of ours. That is how we found Shelter From the Storm. Having said that, I firmly believe that all guests at the villas received the same attention, hospitality, and assistance that we were given.

First, the accommodations are gorgeous. Sitting on a spit of land in the jungle above the sea, you are at home with the toucans and the capuchin monkeys. The villas each have a unique design to fit into the landscape. We stayed in the Monkey House.

Climbing up the spiral staircase brings you to the balcony with its chairs and hammock. The sliding glass doors open into the living space - a comfortable bed on the left wall, and seating on the right. Straight ahead is the kitchen area with all you need for preparing and eating meals. To the left of the kitchen is the bathroom with a great shower.

To be honest the only sitting we did inside was at the kitchen bar as we ate breakfast once or twice. Otherwise, when we were not out exploring the attractions, we were on the balcony or at El Rancho. More on that soon. We had expected insects to be a problem. I didn't touch the repellent in the week we were here. We kept windows and door wide open, which, along with the ceiling fans, kept us comfortable and cool. And the hammock was very comfortable in the heat of the day.

El Rancho is a common room with honor bar and tables. It opens onto the pool and deck. This is where Daryl makes his famous margaritas, and you can chat with the other guests and the hosts. You occasionally get interrupted by the monkeys swinging by through the trees. You have to get up and watch them, but such is life.

The location of Shelter From the Storm is terrific. Miles of beautiful beaches are minutes away. We were introduced to great restaurants. If you want to zipline through the canopy or ride horseback to a waterfall, it is all close by. Daryl and Donna will direct you.

Finally, our hosts were fantastic. Donna and Daryl were friendly, hospitable, and helpful. They were happy to make reservations for dinners and for outings. Street signs are not reliable, but Daryl's directions were spot on. Most of all, they were good people. They care for the earth and land around them. They care about their guests. And we loved them as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a toss up between the host and the accomodations.
Liked least: The only inconvenience I can thnik of is that we had to go to El Rancho for wifi. It was iffy in the Monkey House. No big deal.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York, USA
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
liba7810
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise in Costa Rica!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our extended family of 9 adults, ranging from 20-55 years old from across the US, travels together once a year and this year we decided to spend a week at Shelter from the Storm from Dec 27-Jan.2. We couldn't be happier! We rented the entire property to accommodate all of us comfortably and it was a great fit. Having the rancho to gather for drinks, meals, swimming and relaxing was perfect, especially with the well-stocked and very reasonably priced honor bar, which meant less driving and more time to relax and enjoy each other's company. Each air conditioned villa was beautifully appointed with large showers, beautiful tiles and local art. There were also private outdoor spaces with amazing jungle and ocean views.

Our hosts, Donna and Daryl, were amazing. They booked our excursions for us in advance and communicated with us regularly prior to our arrival to make sure we would have the best of times. Daryl regularly joined us in the rancho to have a drink and make popcorn and tell us stories about the area or let us pick his brain about things to do, places to eat, etc. The resident cats and dogs also kept us company and made us feel right at home, since we were away from our own "fur-kids". The housekeeper, Blanca, made sure our rooms were tidy and that we had plenty of beach towels. When I wasn't feeling well Donna sent her down to my villa with much appreciated supplies.

One item of note is this-if you have trouble climbing many stairs or have a lot to lug up and down, such as baby strollers, you may want to make sure to stay in La Cuesta. SFTS is built into the side of a mountain which adds to the beauty but also adds to the climb between villas, carport and rancho. La Cuesta has a short slope to climb to get to the front door and only a few steps. In contrast, Las Rocas Abajo, where my husband and I stayed, had the longest climb and, due to arthritis, I had to plan my time to minimize trips up and down. Also, due to arthritis, the bed was a little too firm for my comfort-but hubby with the bad back loved it!

All in all, Shelter from the Storm is a gorgeous and exotic property that we highly recommend. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty of surroundings and buildings, hosts' hospitality, the rancho.
Liked least: Spotty internet (for those that cared), lots of steps.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing