We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farm of Life (Finca de Vida)
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven...”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just spent a quick 5 days at Finca de Vida and it was exactly the restorative reboot I’d hoped for. It’s a beautiful property and, thanks to the hosts Jody and Brian, I immediately felt at home—even though I was a first time (and solo) visitor. The cabin was lovely –especially the hammock on the back porch and the bathroom (toilet system was equivalent to US).

I arrived knowing next to nothing about raw food diets and juicing, but the other friendly guests, who were doing different options including 80/10/10, raw food detox, and a raw/cooked food hybrid, shared their knowledge and I dived in. I got completely spoiled –picking my own lunch and dinner salads in their large greenhouse (learning about a whole range of veggies) and fruits off the tree and from their kitchen counter. After I returned home, I actually initially forgot that you can’t just put any beautiful leaf you see on a NYC tree/bush in your salads.

A few tips (in addition to the ones on their website):
1. They have a great chef who prepared delicious raw food dinners and desserts. Treat yourself!
2. I was initially concerned about visiting during rainy season and didn’t see many reviews about what it would be like. It rained a little on most days I was there (one afternoon was nonstop rain) but I found the rain to be a refreshing break to the heat. On a related note, they have good wi-fi so bring your iPad/tablet.
3. Yoga classes in the morning were great. (I’m a devoted yogi)
4. Based on my net research, I had assumed that the guests would skew older (50+ years old) which was fine, but when I was there, they had a mix of all ages (24+ y.o.) which was a pleasant surprise, especially since everyone socialized with other (while also valuing each other’s needs for reflection and private time)
5. Weight loss—I lost 4 lbs over those 5 days, which is all I had wanted/needed to lose. Upon returning home, I bought a juicer and now have green juices most mornings. (easier to do in the summer; we’ll see how I adapt in the winter!) Can't believe I changed my way of eating after such a short time there but it's giving me lots of energy.
6. When I go back, I will bring nuts to help transition from my normal pescatarian diet. I'll also buy/bring Vibrams for hiking.

Pura vida!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
32
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Finca de Vida is a ver special place, full of healing and beauty. I arrived there exhausted, out of shape and quite weak. I left 15 lbs lighter, happier and much stronger. Brian and Jody are very kind people who have given many a tremendous gift by creating such a wonderful place to experience health and growth on your own terms. I was able to relax and enjoy myself and my surroundings and my fellow travelers. I tasted delicious fruits that I had never heard of before. The rooms are well kept and I would rate the cleanliness a 4 out of 5, but I did feel that the kitchen would greatly benefit from the addition of hot water to keep the appliances clean, hence I gave it a 3 out of 5. This does need attention, but it will not deter me from returning, and I have already made plans to do so. The hiking, waterfalls and beaches are wonderful. The dogs are great and so is the cat. The people are fantastic. Thank you Farm of Life, for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lacey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had such an amazing time at the farm. I spent a month there with several other guests and we had so much fun. There's so much positive energy and love from both the nature and the people. I came here mainly to work with my inner self and I got everything and even more than I hoped for! Brian, Jody and the volunteers are amazingly loving and talented people and I would recommend a vacation here for anyone that wants to heal and grow - physical or spiritual - or even just to come here to experience paradise. I had the best time in my life, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmyhesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

How can I describe the beautiful surroundings and the experience we had on our yoga retreat. Brian and Jody are such wonderful people and gave me a very peaceful and non judgemental outlook on life. The cabin we stayed in was one of the new ones just built and had a spectacular view of the valley. It was so awesome waking up in the morning at dawn and laying out on the hammock listening to the howler monkeys and the other sounds of nature all around. The shower was an outdoor shower and was to die for. How great is it to be showering and looking out over the same valley. The cabin we stayed in is a labour of love and definitely five star. We went on some fantastic hikes to various stunning falls and down to the beach at dominical where we also shopped at their seaside market. I still dream of my week there and will never forget it or the wonderful people we met -especially the hosts and their cook who served us incredible vegetarian dishes each day. Thank you for a life time adventure

Room Tip: All the rooms are very unigue but I loved the one we had up on the hill near the yoga platform
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I arrived late in the night and woke up to breathtaking scenery all around me! The layout of the farm is so well thought out and everything seems as if it has been carved out by God. Each part of the farm has been built with love and that came out the more and more I sank myself into this sacred land. Coming from the hustle and bustle of the states it took just a short time to see why Brian & Jody call this beautiful place home, and why volunteers, staff and tourists return again and again. You can enjoy meditation, sun gazing, healthy and delicious fruits & vegetables prepared daily, Tibetan bowl baths, the blossoming flowers, variety of herbs, natural wildlife, inspiring QiGong classes, yoga, natural spring dunk pool, the forest with all its mystery, the BEST massages, refreshing waterfalls, the wide-stretched beach and so much more. I arrived as a stranger to this oasis and left with friends/family that I will return to again. This Farm of Life radiates positive energy and healing in ways that, if you allow yourself to remain open, you may not have expected. Such a blessing to be around individuals that have your best body, mind and spirit gently in their hands, knowing that we can leave behind the stress and fears we may have attached ourselves to and replace those spaces with love in its purest form. The welcoming committee of the dog aspect of the family and Shakti the cat was an amazing added bonus. They are always giving love and know how to receive it as well which is a reminder to all their visitors. It was a sad day when I had to leave this blessed paradise though I carry with me the experiences, relationships, and anticipation of returning next year . . . or maybe even sooner!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViennaSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Farm of Life is a vacation of a lifetime. Clean air, beautiful environment, cleansing, clean, farm fresh, organic, delicious food are just some of the positive aspects. Jody and Brian, who own the farm, are very accommodating, loving and spiritual people who plan breath taking activities and sites to see. The cabins are lovely and very clean. You can sleep outside if you like and awake to Toucans and Holler Monkeys. This is not a traditional vacation but one that is very healing in all ways. You will leave feeling totally rejuvenated with a desire to return forever.

Room Tip: Hook up with Sam Mielcarski Raw Retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I knew my retreat with the amazing Twist & Sprout girls Susan and Lorna would be a fantastic, but I had not considered how much Finca de Vida would add to this experience.

I found the location breathtaking and welcoming. The accommodation, amenities and surroundings are faultless...and I am more than a little bit fussy! The hosts and staff were all great. Brian is inspiring and sharing, whilst Jody makes you feel everything has been taken care of.

Whatever your type of retreat, or if you are considering visiting independently, Finca de Vida is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: Monkey and Coconut houses for extra bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayKinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.3 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
209 reviews
2.9 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
5.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
410 reviews
5.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
5.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm of Life (Finca de Vida)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm of Life (Finca de Vida)

Property: Farm of Life (Finca de Vida)
Address: 3 km East of San Salvador | Diamante Valley, Dominical 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rica Vacation for the Healthy Lifestyle. Thrive on delicious raw food, vegan and vegetarian food. Prepare your meals in our beautiful communal kitchen, using fresh, organic food and the harvest from our organic farm. Or, opt for Chef-prepared meals. Revive your body and spirit with detox, health coaching, yoga, spa services and eco-tours. Enjoy waterfalls, wildlife, beaches, jungle & mountain hikes. Affordable accommodations with modern amenities. A serene setting atop a lush green valley with spectacular views, pleasant temperatures and stunning Pacific sunsets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farm Of Life (Finca De Vida) Hotel Dominical
Farm Of Life (Finca De Vida) Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing