We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Super nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Loved staying here. Had my best sleeps in Costa Rica yet. Super comfy beds, new mattresses, nice spacious rooms, amazing A/C, and great showers.

Jessie and his girlfriend were lovely hosts, super friendly, and provided us with information for basically whatever we needed. It would be nice if they posted a bit more info about places to go in town (ie, restaurants, bars, places to hike, things to see, etc.)-- I always feel a bit guilty about constantly pestering staff/management, especially when they actually live at the same location.

The only thing that detracts a bit from the place is the lack of much of a social atmosphere-- it's not necessarily a knock against the hotel, it's just not really that kind of place. The other thing that would be nice is a few hammocks around that aren't for the little, older cabinas.

But all in all, a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: DO NOT LEAVE YOUR FOOTWEAR OUTSIDE. They do warn you with numerous warning posters that a local dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We are so sorry about your sandals! We have actually blacked out the part that says "at night" since your incident. It had never happened in the daytime before. And we are trying to find a home for the sandal eating dog. Hopefully everyones sandals are safe in the future.

Thank you so much for the nice review and for the suggestions. Although we don't mind the interruptions, providing more information in the rooms is a good idea. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
34
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

Dominical was not the cute beachside town I imagined it would be, I found the town really depressing. Montanas de Agua was a decent choice of lodging, nice rooms for the price, but off the main strip off a dark road. The hammock was nice in the cheaper rooms but when the power cut on and off (as it often does), the electronic safe box automatically unlocks - not very secure! Everything else was pretty Unremarkable (in an okay way). They have a "suicide" hot shower as is typical for the price range.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Dominical more, slow/rainy season might have had something to do with that. We hope you found the spot that made you want to keep extending your stay, because they are out there.

Regarding the safes, our safes are battery powered so fluctuating electricity can't effect them. The electronic key pad only allows the key to be turned, it does not turn the key, that part is done manually by the user. So when the batteries fail, the key-pad no longer works leaving the key un-turnable. You would then need the master key to unlock the safe. We just verified that it works this way, without a power source the key remains stuck in whichever position it was left in, whether it be locked or unlocked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The managers are lovely people, friendly and easy going....The rooms are basic and if you are use to staying at 5 star hotels, this is not the place for you. If you can manage without toiletries, daily towel and sheet changes then go for it. I'll admit I didn't love it, but for a short stay it was ok. I survived. The building is in need of a rehab and rooms were damp. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The grounds are lush with beautiful flowers and foliage. Overall, a fine place to stay. It's a short walk to town and beaches.

Room Tip: Request the rooms with a hammock or on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelonbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us more. We are in complete agreement that our hotel does not offer five star accommodations or the price that goes with it. We are better suited to mid-range or budget travelers. With that in mind, toiletries are not something we provide but we try our best to ensure that the rooms and bathrooms are clean and stocked with toilet paper and apologize that yours was not. We are very close to the ocean and avoid daily linen changes in an effort to reduce the amount of detergents released into the environment. There are no sewer systems or water treatment plants in Dominical so the grey water leads to the ground very fast. But our policy should be posted so guests know what to expect so we will make sure that future guests are aware of it. The dampness in Costa Rica during rainy season is something that is very hard to control and we apologize that it affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovljica, Slovenia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you want nice, calm and cleen hotel; Montanas de Agua have it all!! It's very close to the beach ans short walk to the centre of Dominical. If you like to cook this is the best that you have also kitchen that you can use. The menegers are so nice, they woul love to answer on any question you have. Acros the street you have the best breakfast and smoothies.

Room Tip: if you like cabina with fan is the best room #3 if you like room with A/C is the best Room #12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misa_ferjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radovljica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Nice and quiet surf hotel with really kind managers jesse and lenee.100m from the center of Dominical and 50m from top surf spot playa dominical. rooms are clean, they change sheet every 3 days, kitchen is user friendly with nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: cabina with a terrase
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laiya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We drove down to Dominical for a weekend getaway. Our room was everything we could have hoped for, a great rate, air conditioned and close to the beach. The managers were friendly, kind, helpful and accomodating for our special need. Hubby said he'd be happy to stay there again. That's a BIG compliment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you so much for your positive and honest review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again for your next trip to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were a group of 8 and reserved the apartment for 5 and a room for 3. The AC wasn't working properly in the apartment, so they did a good discount for us. We liked the installations and the rooms, and it is located in a quiet street (the Dominical's main street, in front of the beach, was crowded with people camping everywhere). The owner, Jesse, was very kind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second floor, due in front of the first floor there is a table where other cus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverWalkAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse G, Manager at Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review! I apologize that the air conditioning was not working properly when you and your group were here. We have had it repaired since then, but I really was hoping we could have gotten it ready for you and your group. It was very unfortunate timing to have it break during Semana Santa. I'm glad that you were still able to enjoy yourselves here and I hope we can accomodate you again in the future! Thank you for your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn

Property: Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Address: | just off beach front road, south side of town, Dominical, Costa Rica (Formerly Montanas de Agua)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Montanas de Agua offers clean and affordable rooms in beautifully landscaped grounds at a 2 minute walk to the beach! You can choose from either modern A/C rooms with private bathroom & hot water or Cabins with fans, private bathroom with hot water and their own porch. We also offer a larger room that sleeps 5 with a kitchenette and the possibility for an adjoining room for those in larger groups. All rooms have free wifi internet access, and use of the communal kitchen if you feel like cooking for yourself! We are located at the south end of town, along the beach front road, only a 5 minute's walk from the center of town. Dominical beach has some of the most consistent surf in Costa Rica, waterfalls 10 minutes away, to the north is Nauyaca Falls and further along is Manuel Antoino Park. To the south is Diamante Waterfalls, Osa Peninsula and Corcovado National Park. Dominical is perfectly placed in the middle of a magnificent coastline, verdant green mountains and spectacular sunsets! Dominical is a laid-back beach town on the Costa Ballena popular with surfers, yoga enthusiasts and nature lovers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing