We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of five Christmas stay and exploring the immediate area of Dominical.”
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family of five Christmas stay and exploring the immediate area of Dominical.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Without question Villas Alturas was exceptional. We are a seasoned and well travelled family and understand what constitutes an excellent experience and equally outstanding accommodations. Great value. Tom and Ivette are proud of their piece of paradise and have assembled a remarkable team that is focused on creating the best experience possible for guests. From a BBQ on a whim to great suggestions on local adventures the knowledge and connections this team has is first rate. We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and it was both relaxing and high octane allowing us as a family to balance both spectrums. Beach umbrellas, surf boards, towels, tips for local parking and dining it was exceptional service . . . we already have recommended Villas Alturas to family and friends . . . cheers

Room Tip: For families room number 7 great view, awesome deck and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We enjoy meeting so many people from around the world, and we can honestly say you stood ou to us Jimmy! From the moment we met you, we knew it was going to be fun! you are always smiling and having a great time with your family. Vincent enjoyed so much playing in the pool with the " kids" It was a real treat having you stay with us, thanks for making us feel like we did some good! we would hope to see you again here one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    54
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
151
172
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place! As you stand in lobby to check in the hospitality & the stunning view just take your breath away.... I am fortunate to travel on a regular basis and without a doubt this my go to spot in Costa Rica, hands down! View, service, location& beautiful villas, my pictures don't do my experience justice. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you Violet! We had a great time with you here and we are pleased you have already decided to come back in April! We looking forward to also having your son here, I am sure he will enjoy it just as much as you did. thanks for taking time to write a review and see you in a couple months.
Best, Tom,Ivette, Vincent :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was an ideal place to stay. The villas are large with comfortable rooms; we stayed in Villa 1 which was perfect. The view is amazing! The pool is great for kids and for relaxing in after tossing around in the waves at the nearby beaches. Tom and Ivette are so friendly and helpful. Our luggage was delayed for 3 days which was stressful and put a cramp in the start of our vacation; but Tom's persistence in tracking it down was so helpful; he was there for us right from the beginning. The villas include breakfast which was good. We ate dinner there several nights; a bit pricey but good. I will definitely make Villas Alturas one of our spots to return to!
Pros: the view, the friendly hosts, the pool, the large villas
Cons: need more plasticware that's pool friendly in the kitchens, AC control was a bit tricky

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayerobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
I have to start off by saying, Vincent still talks about the girls! they are so sweet and he had an absolute blast swimming and playing with them. Although your trip started off with no luggage, I know it only got better and you guys had such a great attitude and just made the best of it. Hope the rest of your stay in costa rica on "the other side" was just as enjoyable. your review makes our day. thank you for that :)
all the best, Tom, Ivette and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Coronado, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I had stayed at Villas Alturas in 2012 and wanted to take my parents to this wonderful resort for three nights during our drive through Costa Rica. They are in their 80ties and I knew this would be perfect for them. They loved it! The views, the birds, the rain forest setting, and the accommodations. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite on the second floor of Villa #7. All villas are very well maintained and some received upgrades from the new owner. The furniture is nice, kitchen is well equipped, beds are very comfortable, fans and AC keep the inside at a perfect temperature, and on the large veranda there was always a cool breeze. Breakfast (included) was a la carte and always delicious. We also ate dinner at the Villas all three nights and were impressed with the quality of the meals. The staff spoke very good English and were always friendly and ready to assist in any way. Definitely make this a stop when you visit (southern) Costa Rica - it is THE place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa that has an unobstructed view of the ocean. One villa is set a bit further back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPK500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
thank you for taking the time to write a review! it was lovely to have you and your parents here, glad they got to enjoy the views from the patio and the food! whether your looking for adventure or relaxation, there is something for everyone. that's great you pointed out the staffs English abilities! we think its so important that there are the least amount of language barriers. we are super lucky with our staff! one of these days we want to make it down to panama :)
all the best!
Tom and Ivette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at Villa Alturas for 5 night and i wish we had stayed even longer. The villas are comfortable, large and clean with fantastic views. The pool and the view from the patio/pool/dinning area is just amazing.

The owners and their staff are lovely and extremly helpful. They helped us retrieve our missing luggage, find great excursions and one of our favorite things - a close by waterfall and swimming hole.

The area around the hotel has has fantastic not to crowded beaches, great zip lining, and lots of fun restaurants. I hope i get to go back to Dominical and if i do i will certainly stay at Villa Alturas again!

Room Tip: I thing that villa 3 might be the very best but we stayed in 1 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Min108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Wow what a time we had with the luggage. We are so glad it was resolved and all of you had a wonderful stay at Villas Alturas. We applaud both of you for the wonderful things you have done for the children and New York is blessed to have you both there.
We wish you the best,
Tom and Ivette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and teenage boys. Everyone loved the location and proximity to excellent beaches. The owners are helpful. Tom even loaned my kids boogie boards for free and helped me book my flight back to San Jose. This is a place where you are only a short (2 min) drive to excellent beaches -- although the view from Villas Alturas is so nice you may just want to relax by the pool the entire day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review and staying with us at Villas Alturas. I am glad everything worked out getting back to San Jose and look forward to seeing you at Graduation.
Best Regards,
Tom and Ivette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Villas Alturas was our second destination on this trip. Upon leaving Manual Antonio and driving south, we followed the printed instructions and looked for the roadside sign at which to turn left. We bumped up a dirt road and found ourselves at Villas Alturas. The lobby/entry area is akin to a small bar/lunchette and connects to the pool. It's mostly open air and you immediately feel at home.
We stayed in Villa 5 which ... holy cow.. it was gorgeous. We left the top area and drove down to it. I was nervous we'd be tucked away far from the pool but rather we were a short staircase down the hill and in a lovely villa. Full kitchen with microwave, fridge, gas stove. Standing shower bath with closet. Lovely bedroom, with a comfortable platform bed. Option to pull out a futon in the living room for additional sleepers. Hammock on deck (which I napped in).

Pros: Secluded, Yummy food, Friendly service, Gorgeous view, Lovely swimming pool & comfortable seating area, accommodating staff & owners

Cons: I have yet to think of one.

Room Tip: If you need mandatory quiet, get a villa that isn't connected to the pool area. If you want oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellymonstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Shelly,

thank you very much for you kind words and wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Tom and Ivette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
568 reviews
4.2 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
6.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
599 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Property: Villas Alturas
Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing