We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Alturas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Villas Alturas is a beautiful place. We had a wonderful time there. Absolutely stunning view of the Pacific and the deep lush vegetation that carpets the hills. The verandah of our villa had a stunning view. Loved the decor and the ambience. Spent a lot of time in the hammock and soaked in the abundant flowers and birds that surround you. Saw as many gorgeous birds as on some of the nature hikes we did in Costa Rica. The hosts are helpful, friendly and went out of their way to reconnect us with the zip lining trip that we almost missed. Lovely dining area next to the pool with cool music and very good food at a reasonable price. Staff was extremely nice, polite and helpful. We loved our stay at the Villas - close to many attractions. If you are planning to drive up, do get a 4 X 4. We would definitely recommend this place to all our friends. It is charming, lively yet peaceful. Our entire family loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sree103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    54
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
145
171
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Villas Alturas was a pleasant surprise. It was off the beaten path, yet close to the small beach town of Domincal with access to many wonderful beaches. It is easy to find and we never felt unsafe. There is a security guard on duty overnight. Our villa was very clean and spacious. We stayed here for the final three days of our adventurous Costa Rica trip to relax before returning to our busy lives. We spent the majority of our time at the pool, which is generally quiet, with relaxing music streaming from the bar area, and a magnificent view of the Pacific ocean. The food is very good and prices are reasonable. We took surf lessons from Claudia, one of the main employees, and we had a splendid experience. It wasn't very busy while we were there, but we met some nice people nonetheless. This place is good for all ages. You will see some lizards and grasshoppers around but they stay away from you and aren't something to be worried about. It doesn't have a lot of the pesky little bugs you would find closer to the water. Monkeys can often be sighted grabbing bananas in a tree right by the pool area. I think I saw 50 one day. We would definitely go back. This place will only gain popularity, get busier, and probably become more expensive over time. But, I hope it remains a pleasant, down-to-earth retreat destination.

Room Tip: All of the villas are large and have nice views and A/C. There is a handicapped accessible villa wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iMetTheKiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We relaxed and enjoyed our view and the many amenities at VA. We were greeted with a fresh coconut water, given beach towels and beach chairs to use when we went to the ocean, and given inside information about attractions in the area. Tome and Evette were the consummate hosts. The food was very good and so were the drinks! We will recommend Vilias Alturas to all our friends who desire to visit Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a great time. The villa was nice and very large, staff was friendly and advised us on trips and helped to arrange them. The place is great with kids and very quite in the evening. Beautiful pool with view on the ocean. There are a lot of activities in the area and we loved the whale watching tour as we spotted a mommy whale with baby. If we ver go back to Costa Rica, we probably come back to this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Everything about our January stay at Villas Alturas was exceptional. The villas are large and comfortable, and we felt right at home with the owners and staff. The pool/lounge area was very nice and clean and our food was excellent. That said, the highlights were the amazing views -- whether looking down on the Pacific coast, or staring at the mountainside forest and wildlife. In a short time, we were able to see a coati (up close), peccaries, capuchin and howler monkeys, toucans, parrots, and blue morpho butterflies. Amazing! You'll need a 4X4 to get up to Villas Alturas from the main road below, but it's definitely worth the trek.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you Kyle for your comments and taking the time to write your review. We enjoyed having all of you stay with us and look forward to you return visit.
All the best,
Tom, Ivette and the team at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We've traveled all over Costa Rica, you will not find a better place to spend some of your vacation. Villas Alturas has some of the best views we have ever experienced. Sitting high in the hills, but just a few minute drive to the beach you get to experience Costa Rica in the Jungle, monkeys come and go, many species of birds are always flying above. Words don't do justice, if your planning on coming to the Dominical area, this place is a must! Tom and Ivette are great hosts and have a fantastic restaurant. The villas are very spacious with all the amenities you would need. We have already booked a 5 day get away for Easter and were spending it at Villas Alturas! Tom and Ivette: cant wait to see you guys. Brian and Jena

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivette O, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Brian,
we appreciate that we could provide accommodations and then meet such nice people and friends. We are so glad you have come back to visit us and look forward to your next getaway to Villas Alturas.
Best,
tom and Ivette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Located in the hills outside of Dominical, this place is a treasure! If you aren't driving, it's about a $12 cab ride. Our villa was amazing! Outdoor patio with ceiling fans to keep the air moving if you wanted to sit and rock a while. The common area offered a breathtaking view of the ocean and a pool to play in all day. Marlon kept us content with drinks when we wanted. They have a lovely lunch and dinner menu. I recommend the sea bass! Tom, the owner, was great. He even gave us a ride down the hill to catch our shuttle bus. We decided after we got there that we didn't need to go anywhere else during our stay and took advantage of the sun and amenities offered there! We heard howler monkeys in the distance and saw white faced monkeys as they came up for bananas near the pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillasAlturas, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Tom and I really appreciate your kind words. it makes it all worth while when we know we have made your vacation enjoyable. it was a pleasure having you here and its a huge compliment that villas Alturas stood out to you as a highlight of your trip. thanks again for taking the time to write a review, means the world to us! Sincerely, Tom and Ivette ( and Homie and Lassie :) )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
4.2 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
4.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Property: Villas Alturas
Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing