We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ocean view and sunsets to die for!”
other travellers have booked this property
VIEW FROM 300 sf COVERED TERRACE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIEW FROM 300 sf COVERED TERRACE
KITCHEN AREA - FULLY EQUIPPED OUTDOOR LIVING AREA WHERE MOST GUESTS SPEND THIER 'AT HOME' TIME
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
VIEW FROM 300 sf COVERED TERRACE
KITCHEN AREA - FULLY EQUIPPED
OUTDOOR LIVING AREA WHERE MOST GUESTS SPEND THIER 'AT HOME' TIME
BEDROOM AREA - WALK-IN CLOSET w SAFE
PRIVATE DUNK POOL w SMALL WATERFALL FEATURE
VIEW FROM PATIO OF PUNTA DOMINICAL & BAY
POOL AND COVERED PATIO
GARDEN AREA
NEARBY LOCAL WATERFALL & SWIMMING HOLE
ONE OF OUR  NEIGHBORS DOWN THE STREET
PLAYA DOMINICALITO - ROCA AMANCIO OUTCROPPING
LOCATION SOUTH OF PLAYA DOMINICAL
UNTOUCHED PHOTO FROM BEACH DIRECTLY BEHIND STUDIO
PLAYA DOMINICALITO LOOKING SOUTH FROM BEHIND THE STUDIO
LOOKING SOUTH FROM BEACH BEHIND STUDIO
VIEW FROM TERRACE LOOKING WEST
LOCAL FRUIT VENDER
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mary o
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ocean view and sunsets to die for!”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

If you are looking for the perfect private get away, a few minutes from the beach (or many beaches), amazing sunsets every night and on-sight owners who are friendly, happy to help out with any request and super nice people, this is your vacation rental! This place has it all. It was perfect for our 10 day vacation to the Southern Pacific region. We had our pick of several beaches and a multitude of excursions to participate in, but could not beat the ocean view and sunsets! Dave and Deb are the greatest and generously helped us out whenever we needed. Highly recommended for a couple seeking relaxation and fabulous views and felt the price was a great deal, as well!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly H
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We booked this for our honeymoon and are so happy we did. I was nervous at first about the timing of our trip during the rainy season and staying in one spot the whole time, but looking back I have NO regrets. There was one rainy day (hubby got to watch football) and lots to do locally - it was great to unpack rather than living out of our suitcase and always being on the move. The view here was excellent with the sky and the sea ever changing. Poza Azul is a lovely waterfall within walking distance. Porque No (also walking distance) is a must for delicious breakfast. Also, you can't beat the hospitality that Debbie and Dave provide. Dave was available to answer questions both before and during our stay & he gave great directions to make sure we made it safe and sound. They also provided some fresh aloe when we weren't so diligent with sunscreen. There is a nice little dipping pool on the main deck which Debbie and Dave provide the privacy to use comfortably. If you stay here your car will be safe behind a gate, you'll have lots to do, you'll sleep well, and you will have wonderful company (if you want it). Thanks Debbie and Dave for helping to make our trip so fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
It was a special treat to host Holly and Ryan on their honeymoon. We respect the privacy of our guests but it is always great when we can share some of their excitement and make sure they don't miss some of our unique tours and hidden places that the guide books are not aware of. It is extra special when we know that we will connect down the road as they live only about 60 miles from our Colorado home and we have plans made already to get together in February. Holly and Ryan were wonderful guests and we wish them all the best as they grow with their commitment to each other.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimHRobin...
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Enjoyed Our Stay Here In Early November 2016”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Dave West was a truly wonderful host. I chose this location based on previous reviews and was not disappointed. I planned this trip to propose to my girl. We are both from different countries. So I wanted our first time together to be special. I explained our story to Dave. He made special attention to detail to make sure we had privacy and showed us some of the areas hidden treasures. For instance the "private beach", the nearby waterfalls, great places to eat and find entertainment. Me and my fiancé plan to return for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been more happy with the facilities and location. Thanks to our host Dave West, we felt very welcome and at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private pool
Liked least: Getting out of San Jose to head towards the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
It was a pleasure to share some time with both of them during this special trip they had planned. I knew we would all hit if off even before they arrived with the back and forth communication we did leading up to their escape to paradise. Somehow they missed one of the most popular restaurants in the area, so on their departure when he asked for a recommendation as where to stop for lunch on the way back to the airport, I said leave the car here on the property and walk 100 meters north for a romantic meal at Por Que No. I knew they would enjoy the oceanside dinning with the waves hitting the outcropping of rocks on the shore line splashing high into the air making for a very dramatic white water show. They said it was a perfect place to conclude their time in Dominical. We look forward to their return to enjoy a great honeymoon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“I would love to stay there again, if the bed were replaced”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Positives: Beautiful vistas, close to town and the beach.
Negatives: when we arrived the bed was broken (missing support pedestal,which got fixed temporarily. Even then, the bed was fairly uncomfortable)
Dave gave great notes/suggestions, but sadly we didn't get to meet him.Lots of highway noise.
Although the beach was close, access was challenging.
The on-sight staff was terrific ( Jou, in particular)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thanks for the feedback on the bed which we will make arrangements to replace soon. It has been awhile since we spent time up there due to our current guest that has stayed for two months now. Thanks too for the feedback on Jou. We look forward to your return and hopefully it is a time when we will be here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis M
California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't look anywhere else!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fist of all I would like to thank Dave and his wife Debb.. they are wonderful people! We went to the Secret Beach on Wednesday with them.. what an amazing time my wife had.. will recommend it to anyone looking for a nice private studio.. all kinds of wildlife.. will be back next year no doubt..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Luis - We had a great time with both of you and thanks again for the fish you caught that we took that day to our favorite restaurant to cook up for us. It was delicious. Also wanted you to know I am down to about 100 M&M's left from the 16,496 (56 oz worth) you brought me so you will need to come back sooner than next year. See you then. - Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our FAVORITE place in Costa Rica - Wonderful hospitality!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

From the start, we felt so welcomed by the owners of this rental property, before we even met them! E-mails leading up to our trip were so welcoming, full of knowledge, travel tips and information that was super accommodating. We couldn’t wait to arrive and see what Dominical had in store for us! Upon arrival, we had a bit of a dilemma with a rental car, but Dave was so great, he offered to come pick us up from the restaurant we were having breakfast at in town. We all bonded right away as Dave’s warmth and exuberance for life shined through his inspiring life stories, wonderful attitude, love of the country and love for people. Upon arrival to our vacation rental, we met Deb, Dave’s wife and adventure partner, a thrill-seeking spitfire from Alaska, who truly inspired us through her love for adventure, traveling, books, fishing and flying. We all became fast friends and couldn’t have asked for a better start to our trip! The rental property was so lovely and perfect for a couple, with an incredible balcony featuring beach and ocean views, a/c, which is always a welcome surprise in Costa Rica, a very functional kitchen, a great dipping pool, all within walking distance to the beach and close to town and surrounding activities. Upon first walking into the rental, a welcome guide sits waiting for you, made personally by Deb and Dave, featuring their firsthand knowledge and experiences of the area. It was such a lovely surprise full of the best restaurants and bars, activities and tours, travel tips and helpful knowledge of the area and even a detailed breakdown of a week/two trip with everyday planned just for you and your loved ones! Talk about relaxing and enjoying your vacation without needing to stress about a thing! “Dominical Dave” as he is known, gave us a ride to the Super Mercado later that evening to stock up on groceries for our stay. His nickname presumes him as we stopped every so often to say hi to someone he knows/who knows him in town! Dave also set us up with a taxi to hike to Nauyaca waterfall the next morning, a MUST see and do, that is so majestic you can’t miss it! During the rest of our trip, we spent our days exploring and adventuring through the area and spent “secret beach Wednesdays” with our amazing owners! I advise you that you MUST plan your trip to experience this with Deb and Dave as they bring boogie boards, drinks, golf clubs, stories and friends to the most beautiful, uninhabited, soft, white sand, secret beach I have ever seen! It was such a wonderful experience that we will never forget! We were so blown away by the graciousness of these owners throughout our entire trip as they took us to “their” sunset spot where we swapped stories, sat on the roof of their car, had a beverage and watched the infamous sunsets, showed us the route of their 10k race they host every February, ate Deb’s famous smoked salmon on the balcony of their property and all in all welcomed us with open arms as if we were family! When it came time to leave for our next destination, it was so hard as we became so close on our short stay. No other place or people even came close to comparing! We will forever be grateful for this experience and feel so blessed. We most definitely will return to this amazing place to visit our amazing new friends in one of our favorite places in Costa Rica!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing hospitality, owners, location and views!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodican
Langley, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exactly What the Dr. Ordered!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Dave and Deb for your warm hospitality and helpful directions to everything we could want. Your studio was perfect for us two and lacks for nothing. Peaceful ocean surf sounds with easy access to the beach for morning walks. Very comfortable bed and easy secure wi-fi were especially appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean/sunset view
Liked least: A little scary backing out of the driveway onto the main highway, but doable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing