We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional View”
other travellers have booked this property
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View COVERED PATIO & POOL
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View
COVERED PATIO & POOL
View From Living Room
)ne of two Master bedrooms w/bath and walk-in closet -safe
One of two master bathrooms (one w/shower and one w/shower & tub
Dining Area Internet connectivity
Entrance with plenty of parking - Orignal Model
Take your choice, pool, ocean or waterfall swimming hole - all very close
Local swimming hole just a five minute hike away
Untouched photo of sunset at Playa Dominicalito just below villa
Location photo lookin gup from ocean
Local fruit stand - one of many, fish market close by
Dominical is a noted surfing destination just 3 Km away
Playa Dominicalito right below the villa - best place to learn to surf
Tree Island near Punta Domincal - Hike out ther eat low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Earnie37
Midlothian
1 review
“Exceptional View”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We did not want to leave this place. The view as spectacular and the breeze coming in off the ocean was wonderful. I miss being there already. Dave and Deb West are the nicest people you could ever want to meet . They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Also, the beds were comfortable, showers were hot and air conditioner worked great.

Thanks Dave and Deb!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenceJump...
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Honeymoon Views”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Canto Del Mar #28 and it could not have been better!!! We had the time of our lives and can not wait to return.

Dave and Deb are two of the nicest and most interesting people we have ever met! Their stories alone provided great entertainment!

The house was perfect for the two of us with enough room for at least 4 more comfortably. The pool provided a great escape when the beaches were too hot or rainy and the views of the rainy season storms were amazing.

This home provided the perfect amenities and location for our honeymoon. We could not have dreamed of a better way to spend our honeymoon! Thank you so much Dave and Deb you two are truly amazing people and we can not wait to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was breathtaking!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed B
Hugo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“quiet, clean and relaxing”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The place looks just like the pictures posted. We were greeted by the local rep. Marlon and he made our stay as comfortable as could be. Lovely ocean breezes, beautiful views, easy walk to the beach and a private little pool as well. It was just what we needed to unwind and relax. We took the to Dominical once and to Uvita for the ferria once. All in all a perfect week. Thanks for offering such a lovely home for rent. Hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean view and the privacy
Liked least: had to eait for the bus
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swimmom10...
Dryden, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This villa exceeded our expectations. Fully furnished, including the troop of capuchins that came through every morning and some afternoons, as well as a ctenosaur and whiptail that hung out at the pool and provided entertainment. Very private; we couldn't see our neighbors. At times the water pressure was a bit low, but that was the only problem we had over our week-long stay. The new market in Uvitas was a welcome surprise. Close to Dominical for shopping and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Difficult, but not impossible, to walk to the beach.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie D
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

It's hard to beat the views in this villa! No matter which window you look out, the view is gorgeous. It was so nice to sit on the patio every morning and have breakfast while looking down on the Bay of Dominicalito & "tree island". Then, in the evening when we returned from our adventures for the day, we would relax on the patio and just enjoy the view and sneak peaks at toucans. There were iguanas that hung around out front that we saw nearly every day. We saw monkeys along the road on the way up to the villa one day and saw them again on a different morning when we went on a walk up the road. It's just a short drive to town, so nothing is very far away. There's plenty of activities to keep you busier than you'll want to be all within a short drive. Manuel Antonio, the most popular National Park, isn't too far. We drove up there for the day and enjoyed the beach & parasailing. I would recommend this villa - it was perfect for our vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views & easy access to everything we needed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetot...
Mc Kenzie, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We just got back from a wonderful week in Dominical. We loved the villa on the hill. The view was amazing and we found the jungle sounds relaxing, just what we needed. We appreciated security at the gates but we felt pretty safe. We didn’t run out of things to do as we are rather adventurous and enjoy exploring. Dave’s list of activities was a good resource. The villa was good value for what we paid and we were happy to have such a nice place in such a remote location. Dave and Debbie invited us up to Toucan Alley on our last night and we enjoyed the visit very much. We would recommend it for anyone looking for something off the beaten path and for a more authentic Costa Rican adventure without giving up some of the luxuries that make it a wonderful vacation. We would love to visit again.

Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2012
The best part of renting our vacation villa is the great people we get to meet from around the world and so we are always thirlled when we get to share a sunset with our guests at our place or any of the other properties we spend time at.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omtravele...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking....what Pura Vida really is”
Reviewed 7 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Our stay at Canto del Mar was beyond explanation. The views were a true vision of paradise, with the serenity of the Pacific on one side, and the lush of the rainforest on the other. The villa itself was kept spotless, and was beautifully furnished, yet still spacious, for our stay. On top of all that, the villa had a beautiful veranda which really brought the world of outdoor living to us. The private pool was incredibility refreshing after a long day of touring and exploring, and a nice way to unwind while gazing at the sunset. There is a tremendous amount of wildlife in the complex, as we saw white faced capuchins, toucans, and even a boa constrictor (but it was small)! The owners, Dave and Deb West, were extremely helpful in maximizing the most of our vacation, and had great stories to be heard. If you can pull yourself away from this slice of paradise, there are plenty of activities in the surrounding area, including Playa Domicialito, which was much more reclusive than the more visited Dominical. With the variety of activities and luxurious view, Canto del Mar was a phenomenal experience that is certainly not one to miss! .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range I prefer not to answer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing