We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View COVERED PATIO & POOL
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
26 reviews
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View
COVERED PATIO & POOL
View From Living Room
)ne of two Master bedrooms w/bath and walk-in closet -safe
One of two master bathrooms (one w/shower and one w/shower & tub
Dining Area Internet connectivity
Entrance with plenty of parking - Orignal Model
Take your choice, pool, ocean or waterfall swimming hole - all very close
Local swimming hole just a five minute hike away
Untouched photo of sunset at Playa Dominicalito just below villa
Location photo lookin gup from ocean
Local fruit stand - one of many, fish market close by
Dominical is a noted surfing destination just 3 Km away
Playa Dominicalito right below the villa - best place to learn to surf
Tree Island near Punta Domincal - Hike out ther eat low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CanaTico
Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We were a group of eight including three couples and the adult children of one of the couples. We rented two units at Canto del Mar for three days just before Christmas and had a wonderful time. Having the two units was perfect in that we were in close proximity but still had enough privacy. The units we rented were #19 and #30. While all of the views are stunning #19 had a better view of the sunset as it was slightly obscured by trees at #30. These trees however were very often full of monkeys so a bit of a tradeoff. #30 had a small pool which was great well enjoying adult beverages in the evening. #19 did not have a pool and was therefore a little less expensive.
There were a couple of minor negatives… there was a problem with the well for part of the time we were there so they were drawing water from a stream which meant we had to purchase drinking water – no big deal. The televisions did not receive any channels in either unit. This meant nothing to us other than the night of the championship Futbol game which we ended up having to watch on a small computer screen with streaming video. There was no BBQ when we arrived but Dave brought us one within an hour of our arrival. Internet was not working in #19 but within a couple of hours Dave rectified that by providing a couple of those magic sticks.
The positives are too many to list. The place is beautiful, the location is outstanding and the service we received from Dave West was perfect. The value we received was incomparable to staying in a hotel and we also saved a lot of money by preparing most of our own meals. The nearby waterfall with the Tarzan swing was like something out of an ITC brochure and the variety of beaches and activities in the area is second to none. We find the Manuel Antonio area much to build up and touristic for our liking but it is convenient that Quepos is only 30 minutes away to get supplies at more reasonable prices and greater selection than the small stores in Dominical and Uvita. Dominicalito is also very convenient for anyone coming from and/or going to the Cartago area as we were.
Overall we have a fantastic time on our short stay and would recommend this property whole heartedly.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The Location and Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31petersf...
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The place looks just like the pictures posted. We were greeted by Dave and he made our stay as comfortable as could be providing an extra bed for our son. We loved the ocean breezes and beautiful views from the hpouse to the ocean, Without children it is easy walk to the beach but we had a rental car which made it easy for the daily shopping. We loved the private pool as well. We went to Manuel Antonio as a daytrip but loved the backyard of the house even better!Thanks Dave for offering such a lovely home for rent.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earnie37
Midlothian
1 review
“Exceptional View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We did not want to leave this place. The view as spectacular and the breeze coming in off the ocean was wonderful. I miss being there already. Dave and Deb West are the nicest people you could ever want to meet . They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Also, the beds were comfortable, showers were hot and air conditioner worked great.

Thanks Dave and Deb!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenceJump...
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Honeymoon Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Canto Del Mar #28 and it could not have been better!!! We had the time of our lives and can not wait to return.

Dave and Deb are two of the nicest and most interesting people we have ever met! Their stories alone provided great entertainment!

The house was perfect for the two of us with enough room for at least 4 more comfortably. The pool provided a great escape when the beaches were too hot or rainy and the views of the rainy season storms were amazing.

This home provided the perfect amenities and location for our honeymoon. We could not have dreamed of a better way to spend our honeymoon! Thank you so much Dave and Deb you two are truly amazing people and we can not wait to see you again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view was breathtaking!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed B
Hugo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“quiet, clean and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The place looks just like the pictures posted. We were greeted by the local rep. Marlon and he made our stay as comfortable as could be. Lovely ocean breezes, beautiful views, easy walk to the beach and a private little pool as well. It was just what we needed to unwind and relax. We took the to Dominical once and to Uvita for the ferria once. All in all a perfect week. Thanks for offering such a lovely home for rent. Hope to be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The ocean view and the privacy
Liked least: had to eait for the bus
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swimmom10...
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This villa exceeded our expectations. Fully furnished, including the troop of capuchins that came through every morning and some afternoons, as well as a ctenosaur and whiptail that hung out at the pool and provided entertainment. Very private; we couldn't see our neighbors. At times the water pressure was a bit low, but that was the only problem we had over our week-long stay. The new market in Uvitas was a welcome surprise. Close to Dominical for shopping and restaurants.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Difficult, but not impossible, to walk to the beach.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie D
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

It's hard to beat the views in this villa! No matter which window you look out, the view is gorgeous. It was so nice to sit on the patio every morning and have breakfast while looking down on the Bay of Dominicalito & "tree island". Then, in the evening when we returned from our adventures for the day, we would relax on the patio and just enjoy the view and sneak peaks at toucans. There were iguanas that hung around out front that we saw nearly every day. We saw monkeys along the road on the way up to the villa one day and saw them again on a different morning when we went on a walk up the road. It's just a short drive to town, so nothing is very far away. There's plenty of activities to keep you busier than you'll want to be all within a short drive. Manuel Antonio, the most popular National Park, isn't too far. We drove up there for the day and enjoyed the beach & parasailing. I would recommend this villa - it was perfect for our vacation!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views & easy access to everything we needed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$188
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing