We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of 4 Months in Costa Rica”

Diamante Verde Tours
Ranked #6 of 16 Tours in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small tour company specializing in fun and adventure: offering quad tours, horseback and our unparalleled Rappelling River Adventure Tour. At Diamante Verde Tours we tear the page out of conventional tour books, recycle it and take you beyond ordinary tourist destinations. We truly are the heart of Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best part of 4 Months in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Living in the Rain Forest as we did for 4 months, we did not need to do the typical "zip line" kind of adventure that everyone asks about..we were already living that forest. .this adventure is more like a love of a lifetime than a momentary 'affair." Karl was understated and interesting...not once did we feel like we were receiving the "what tourists want to hear" kind of 'blah blah blah.' from him...We moved at our own pace, took a lot of pictures, in areas that were often "off the grid."

We saw an interesting waterfall, not a small task in the very dry summer,) bought some wonderful organic coffee at a mini plantation, and saw a breathless snapshot of life in rural Costa Rica. I never use the word 'awesome', but the views this trip lays out for you when you get to the top of the mesa and look down to the beaches of Dominical, Dominicalito and the famous "Whale's Tail" formation that defines this part of the Osa Penensula are without parallel..

One caution: We were told that the hike to the waterfall was doable for a "69 yr old woman with Cancer." That well may be, but it was not possible for a 68 yr old woman with a new knee, and nearly killed her strong 80 yr old husband...... in other words, the waterfall part of this route is not for anyone who is not very strong and has good balance. On the other hand, we had our own quads, and at 69 and 81, 50, 59, we had a remarkable 5 hr trip. After 4 mo in Costa Rica, this was by far our best adventure. Do not miss it! One of the few things we would do again in a heartbeat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank charaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Fantastic Tour!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is the BEST thing we did in Costa Rica. Karl, the owner and guide, is a friendly honest guy that is a great source of information regarding the local area. We mistakenly took Karl's tour the last day we were there. Given the tips and pointers Karl gave us about the area, we really wished we would have taken his tour the first day we were there. Karl's ATV's were in great condition and were a breeze to ride.

If you're looking to see some of the most beautiful landscapes Costa Rica has to offer, relax, and have a great time Diamonte Verde is an absolute must!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Awesome tour!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The owner and guide, Karl, is took us to parts of Costa Rica most people do not get to see. The views were amazing and his quads were a lot of fun to ride. I highly recommend this atv tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bnack25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Karl is THE MAN”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Sometimes even the locals need to do some exploring. Karl took myself and 5 friends on an awesome ride through what could qualify as our "neighborhood." I'm new to the country, but I was still shocked at what has been hiding just up the mountain from me this whole time. By the end of the day, we were already making plans to purchase our own ATV so the fun can continue.
Not only are the vistas spectacular, but Karl is a kind, funny, and obliging tour guide. We had total control over the type of tour we received, and when we waffled over decisions (as groups tend to do), Karl took the lead and kept us going.
I've spoken with other travelers who have taken tours with Karl early on in their trips. They said the advice they received about places to go/things to do totally made their vacation. He knows what he's talking about.
And don't forget to get some cafe con leche (and a casado if you're hungry) from the soda next to his office before you head home - best I've had in CR!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome ATV Tour through the Mountains”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our family (4 adults and a 5 year old) spent the entire day (12/31/13) with Karl riding through the mountains on ATV's. We saw so much that we would have never seen driving on the highway. Karl let us know from the beginning that it was our tour and we were welcome to stop any time we wished. We hiked up to an amazing waterfall, we stopped and swam in a natural pool at the bottom of another waterfall, we saw coffee plantations, bought local coffee, saw and waved to lots of locals, viewed amazing scenery and had lunch at a cute little soda on the mountain. Karl's ATV's were in top notch condition and easy to operate, even for the novice. Karl was an excellent guide and pointed out so many interesting features that we would not have know about otherwise. You will be glad you did not miss the opportunity to experience this tour!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank etsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diamante Verde Tours also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
San Isidro de El General, Province of San Jose
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Diamante Verde Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing