We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning to surf in style”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2011

If you want to come to Costa Rica to learn how to surf AND want to do it in style, this is where you need to go. Teaching techniques are personalized and effective to ensure you get the most out of your stay, and the accomodation is gorgeous and extremely comfortable. Although it is not right on the beach, the upside is an amazing view of the Pacific right from your window. Rooms are big, have a deck overlooking the rainforest and a great big bathroom; and the team is very friendly and always willing to help in whatever way they can (thank you Kjeld!). Loved my stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robleamarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalonSurf, Owner at Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Great to see your review here - it keep us going. We had a lovely time with you. We're happy to see that the view made more than up for the fact that we're not right on the beach (but still very close!). Please come back some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 121 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2011

We've stayed here just before the start of Kalon surf. It has been an extremely nice time we spent over there. We stayed at Dominical for about ten days. Our house at lush green "jungle" covered mountain slopes. Very comfortable housing, with nice bedrooms and beds. From our balcone we've been watching the waves rolling in at "dominicalito", while enjoying our breakfast. The Pacific one stonethrow away with monkeys and Tucans jumping and flying around."Beautiful nature everywhere around. Although it was dry season we had nice quality waves every day varying in height in between shoulder to overhead conditions. To go short: It is an excellent place with nice people around to have an outstanding surftrip!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theSandman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I took surfing courses at Kalon Surf in April 2011 and enjoyed every single moment. The villas are amazing, the people are very nice (thanks Kjeld and Marcela!) and the teaching method is very well thought of. You will be able to do some decent surfing within a few days. The video sessions are one of the best features of surfing there, great learning tool.

A few hiccups here and there didn't spoil the fun at all, these guys were still in startup phase at the time.

All in all I strongly recommend it... with this surf school what you see on the website is what you get! And even better...

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyrmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Spent a week at Kalon Surf with a friend. The place is great and there are lots of good brakes closeby. Also the video analysis and coaching was very helpful to improve on my turns / hollow take off, etc. I would definately go there again.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank GeertN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula1ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
5.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
9.5 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
527 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
422 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#12 of 14 in Dominical
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas La Parcela
Cabinas La Parcela
#11 of 14 in Dominical
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort

Address: Altos de Miramar | 4km de Costanera Hatillo, Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Dominical
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalon Surf - The Luxury Resort in Costa Rica. We offer 7 nights all inclusive luxury surf camp for all levels in Dominical, Costa Rica. You just Surf, Relax and Enjoy amazing food, from the moment we pick you up in San Jose Costa Rica until we get you back there after a great week with us. Ocean View Luxury Rooms, Gourmet Food & Executive Chefs, Surf Coaching, Daily video coaching, Full range surfboards of our partners Firewire Surfboards & Kelly Slater Designs. Our surf coaching method makes sure you improve on a daily basis, regardless of your level and personal situation. With a full integration of video analysis, amazing coaches and a surf coaching method that works you will learn to surf & improve your surf during your week with us. Gourmet food is served throughout the week by our passionate chefs: sous vide & molecular cooking techniques, organic, wagyu beef, catch of the day and all very fresh. Our all Costa Rican staff, speaks perfectly english and are dedicated to not only make sure you have a perfect week, but also you get to feel the 'Pura Vida' part of Costa Rica. The best vacation of your life is awaiting in Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalon Surf - Surf Coaching Resort Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing