We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous scenery, good food, great prices”
Review of PorQueNo?

PorQueNo?
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Within the Costa-Paraiso boutique hotel, just two km South of Dominical, Por Que No is one of the region's best dining experiences, with an ocean view. With 'tasty treats & funky beats', Por Que No is known for our great dinner specials, delicious wood-fired pizza, healthy smoothies and hit the spot coffees. For those that don't want to cook or need a packed lunch at the beach, check out our take out options.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous scenery, good food, great prices”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is by far our favorite restaurant in Domincal, possibly anywhere. The scenery is gorgeous. Had breakfast, lunch, and dinners here during our honeymoon. The french toast is divine. We were served multiple times by Vico, who is awesome. We always sat at the same table, which is in a part of the restaurant called "The Ranch", which looks onto a beautiful part of Playa Domincalito. The water splashes just a few feet from the tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. Glad you enjoy the French Toast...it's one of our favourites as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    116
    42
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Best views, very good food and service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was our second trip to ¿Por que no?, and we believe that it is one of the rare finds along the South Pacific Coast. The restaurant has one of the most beautiful settings that you could possibly imagine, perched above the rocky coastline of the north end of Dominicalito. About 2 km south of the town of Dominical, there are two rounds signs on the shore side of the highway indicating the very steep driveway down to the restaurant and cabins. The restaurant is adjacent to the small resort called Costa Paraiso but it is certainly available for those not staying at the resort.

There are two dining areas to select from. On the ground level is a comfortable terrace with chairs and tables and a more casual area for cocktails. A second elevated bodega provides an even better view of the surf and the rocks which line the shore below the restaurant.

The menu is typical of many Costa Rican restaurants. It is relatively limited in its breadth, but has a variety of foods that will satisfy virtually all tastes. Of the foods we sampled that night, only one was anything other than delicious. We were surprised that the paella turned out to have all of the constituent parts, but without any flavor or spice that would make it special. The other entrées, which consisted of burgers a variety of fish dishes and pizza, were very very good and worth every colone.

One other item to be careful; there is very little parking space at the bottom of the hill for larger vehicles. You need to be comfortable with backing your van or SUV into the small parking spaces provided. And our van, which was a fairly anemic diesel powered Mitsubishi, had an exceptionally different difficult time reaching the top of the driveway. Think twice before you drive to the bottom of the hill unless you're sure of your vehicle's capabilities!

In summary, ¿Por que no? Is a lovely restaurant with a gorgeous location, good service, and a wide variety of menu items. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck, Santa Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks very much for trying out the restaurant again. Your review is very helpful...lots of great tips. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Hoping to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Siberia!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was solo and they put me on a terrace all by my self, wHilst the 2nd floor was filled with guests!
I thought that was strange,
I mean I was dressed real nice and everything !

The food was awesome but that was really odd being the only one on a Saturday night on a whole Terrace all by myself

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imaginekrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thanks very much for visiting us. We appreciate that you took the time to fill out a review and that you found our food 'awesome'.

Our apologies you did not get to sit in the section you would have preferred. We try our best to meet the needs of all our guests and recommend that people call in advance to book a table if they wish to sit in a certain section.

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very Good Experience!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are on holiday/vacation in Dominical and saw good reviews on trip adviser for this restaurant so we had lunch today. We were very pleased with the food and the service. Lovely backdrop overlooking Dominicalito beach. We were shown around afterwards by Erick.

We will be back very soon for lunch and dinner.

Many thanks

Helpful?
Thank DennisK175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
We really appreciate that you took the time to fill out a review...as you said...you checked us out on TripAdvisor yourself, so you know how much it helps out all our customers to be able to read these!

Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best about this restaurant is the VIEW”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

had breakfast and lunch there. all good, but I feel a bit over priced... but the view is the best... and staff is nice

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thanks for the review. We appreciate your feedback.

Have to agree about the view...it is amazing! Thanks for joining us for both breakfast and lunch.

Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PorQueNo? also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to PorQueNo?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing