We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of PorQueNo?

PorQueNo?
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Within the Costa-Paraiso boutique hotel, just two km South of Dominical, Por Que No is one of the region's best dining experiences, with an ocean view. With 'tasty treats & funky beats', Por Que No is known for our great dinner specials, delicious wood-fired pizza, healthy smoothies and hit the spot coffees. For those that don't want to cook or need a packed lunch at the beach, check out our take out options.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice view, limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We read great reviews, but unfortunately, our lunch was not satisfying... Breakfast and lunch have a combo menu, and there aren't very many options. It is very vegan/vegetarian focused, so it would be a great place for people that like those options. The coffee was great though. They allow their pets to wander around the restaurant, and though we love animals one of us is allergic to cats so this was a small problem.

Service was OK, we had to find our waitress after waiting around for the check. Maybe it's better for dinner but we wouldn't go back for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 907ash506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the restaurant. We appreciate the kind words about the view and our coffee.

We are a pet friendly restaurant, who would be more than happy to remove any of our pets from the restaurant in the case of someone being allergic. Should you visit again in the future , please don't hesitate to let us know next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    114
    42
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
150 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious Mahi Mahi and delicious burgers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Delicious Mahi Mahi and delicious burgers.
And this in a great atmosphere.
This is definitely one of the top 3 in Dominical/Uvita region.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheBelgianBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Glad you like the mahi mahi and burgers.

Thanks for the recommendation. Hope we see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

PorQueNo? is a MUST TRY if you are ever in the Dominical region. Its beautiful view (incredible sunsets) and extremely relaxing atmosphere, make it a great place to eat.
If you are a pizza lover (actually, even if you do not like it) you have got to try their pizza! You will likely fall in love.
*Don't forget to make a reservation, this place fills up quickly!

Thanks PorQueNo! We will see you again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for recommending the pizza and the view.

We really appreciate that you took the time to fill out a review. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is #1 in Dominical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had 2 families with children ages 7 - 18 on our recent trip to Costa Rica. On our last night (Easter), we decided to head to a nice restaurant. We had difficulties "dropping in" without reservations for our large group on prior nights, so I checked the reviews on Trip Advisor and saw this restaurant and made the call. When I mentioned that it was our last night and that I heard they were known for their views, the person accepting the reservations said she'd take care of us.

Upon arrival, we walked through the open air restaurant and down to a private gazebo down by the water. It was wonderful to have our party have this private area right next to the water to enjoy our last dinner together in CR.

There was such a variety on the menu and everyone found something to their liking. The hostess and waitress were on top of their game, and it was a memorable meal.

We've highly recommended CR to friends who have already booked their trips to CR for next year's spring break. PorQueNo? is at the top of the list of recommended restaurants we've provided to them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks very much for the great review. The picture of your group turned out great as well.

Glad you enjoyed our private Rancho by the water. We appreciate your kind feedback of our staff - we think they are awesome servers. It is nice to hear good feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous scenery, good food, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is by far our favorite restaurant in Domincal, possibly anywhere. The scenery is gorgeous. Had breakfast, lunch, and dinners here during our honeymoon. The french toast is divine. We were served multiple times by Vico, who is awesome. We always sat at the same table, which is in a part of the restaurant called "The Ranch", which looks onto a beautiful part of Playa Domincalito. The water splashes just a few feet from the tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at PorQueNo?, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. Glad you enjoy the French Toast...it's one of our favourites as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PorQueNo? also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to PorQueNo?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing