We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mom and Pop Wing Joint with 23 different wing flavors, hand pattied half pound burgers with hand cut fries, 12 different tequilas, large beer selection, a great view and a fun friendly atmosphere. Come on up the mountain. You'll be glad you did. Oh! CASH ONLY!!! NO CREDIT CARDS!!! I REPEAT CASH ONLY. Open Monday - Sunday 12pm - 9pm. Kitchen open later on Satuday nights when you just might find a poker game going on. 4Wd recommended.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Wonky road to get up to it, but once you get there the view is amazing, wings great, Margaritas better and Ralph el mejor!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    129
    46
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow, no really - Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Jolly Rogers was highly recommended by the locals in the area, and they were spot on. Yea the drive is a little scary - but not dangerous. It is located several hundred feet up a mountain side, with spectacular ocean views. We literally watched as Toucans few back and fourth between the trees at our table. The elevation and cool breeze make the dining outside very comfortable. The restaurant and bar are rustically decorated and casual. But the real reason this place gets 5 stars is the food. I've tried many different wings in the US. Dry, wet, hot, spicy, ect. Sure some are better than others, but these wings are truly so much better than what you have ever had by a wide margin. First they are very good sized. They are fresh and the chickens have been raised the way chickens should be raised, outside on farms naturally. There are probably over 20 flavors, which made me wonder about the quality of having so many different types. Well I was wrong - top notch quality. E.g. I like heat, but was drawn to the medium heat, honey garlic wings description. You could really taste the honey, and see and taste chopped garlic. The honey garlic sauce was warm/wet on the outside of the wing, but the actual wing was large, meaty with crispy skin and perfectly cooked. It had just enough heat too. Super good! I tried several types and they were all truly wonderful, and hit the mark on their flavor descriptions. Drinks were tasty and the bartenders were very friendly and attentive. Don't miss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oktoberfest2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Wings, Worth the Uphill Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved this entire experience! We enjoyed a beer on their beautiful patio high atop a Costa Rican mountainside until the restaurant opened, and then we indulged in two orders of their amazing wings. We were there early, 4:00 or so, so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Excellent food, service, view, and experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My local "Go to" place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clients always ask me, your a personal chef, so where do you go out for dinner? The answer is easy Jolly Roger. The owner Storm Zbel and his crazy cast of pirates always make it a fun and happy experience. And the food? Best damn chicken wings I've ever had. My favorite is the Hot honey garlic wings. Make sure you have an Icy Cold Pilsen to wash them down. I also get the Caesar salad, tico style. Not your run of the mill salad by far, but with lots of garlic and lime zing to it. If your in the mood for a burger, you best be hungry. cause these babies are huge and delicious. Hand formed patties cooked to your liking!! Tortilla pizzas, fries, etc. The menu has something for everyone and leave room for dessert cause he throws down a wicked brownie sundae. Beautiful view, great food and friend folks. Pura Vida!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hidden American style place in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The Jolly Roger is a hidden American style place just across the way from a major Resort Cuna de Angel (i think). The wings are huge and the burgers are even bigger than the bread. The staff is very laid back and very good. They exhibit the Costa Rica saying of pura vida despite being mostly Americans. The drive up is something to be questioned by the smaller cars as they are not kidding about the 4wd but if you can get up there then the rough road is worth it. Also make sure you bring cash like they said. They do however take both USA and CRC so just make sure you know the conversion rate. Great food and good staff made our stay even more awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolly Roger also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jolly Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing