We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, ok food, but not so great cabins”
Review of La Parcela

La Parcela
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Relax to the soothing sounds of waves rushing to meet the shore. Feast your eyes on the powerful beauty of the rugged coastline, sparkling ocean blues, and vibrant jungle greens. Allow your mouth yo enjoy local and international favorites while your eyes feast on a view that is unparalleled. Fill your soul with the magic of "Pura Vida". Join us and let your senses be touched by the wonder that is Dominical, Costa Rica!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views, ok food, but not so great cabins”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The view from the restaurant and the cabins is spectacular. The food is OK and decently priced...the blackened tuna was very nice. Also, staff is friendly and there is nighttime security.

The rooms. Rooms are rather unkept, with loose tiles in the bathroom, jammed windows, a dodgy smell coming from the shower drain, and stained ceilings. But on the bright side there is a small fridge, a desk, ok mattresses, a front deck with unique views, there is A/C but it is not necessary (specially if you want to hear the nature) if you use the fan and open all the windows (they have bug screens), and the price is right...I wouldn't pay more. Oh and you can see capuchin monkeys right out of your cabin.

The beach is nice and lonely...better than Dominical which feels too touristy.

I would certainly go back.

Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    105
    43
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reliably beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

La Parcela is a very special place. The location is spectacular any time of day, but especially for sunset dining. The restaurant is close to our home (Casa Serendipia) and we recommend La Parcela to all our guests. Never had a bad dish or meal; the food is fresh and the staff are gracious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The location of this restaurant is unique and offers ocean views from your seat and from both sides of the property. The ceiling fans didn't seem to help move the still moist air, which made for a warm dining experience. The food was very good and servers were attentive. If nothing other than the views, this restaurant is a must visit destination. However, since you are there for the views, you might as well eat there too. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
433 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant with a spectacular setting”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a nice dinner here but the real selling point was the location on the end of the peninsular just south of Dominical. You can walk a few metres to the point to watch the sunset - very nice. The staff were friendly and the food good but not special.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiefliesYX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Come for the Coconut Shrimp & the view, stay for the MONKEYS”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

La Parcela is located high atop a beautiful peninsula that provides gorgeous ocean views on either side. We had both breakfast and lunch there hoping to see the Capuchin monkeys that live in the trees surrounding the restaurant. When they make their appearance, the waiters will put out some pieces of banana to entice them to come onto the (roped off) balcony so diners can see them up close. While the food was good, the monkeys are definitely the highlight! We did not see any at breakfast but when we came back another day for lunch they made a brief but entertaining appearance. The coconut shrimp I had was very good but my husband's fish was just okay. Still, it was a great experience and a highlight of our trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiefliesYX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Parcela also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Parcela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing