We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best.. but spencive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diuwak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diuwak
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Miami
1 review
“The best.. but spencive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

All i can say is, that of all the hotels i have stayed in costa rica, this little place was the best, but, yes a llite spencive, but was worthed.
John Fisher. thanks

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Crhistian-Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    61
    28
    23
    34
See reviews for
38
60
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

My son and I booked our room as part of a Green Iguana Surf Tour. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms were well kept by Costa Rican standards and cleaner than many places I've stayed in the U.S.

Mid-way through the visit I asked to downgrade from a bungalow, because we really didn't need the kitchen and extra sitting area. It took a few hours to get an answer, because the owner of the hotel had to be contacted, but in the end they allowed it and we saved $60 a night. We went about our day and when we got back the new key was waiting and they told us to move our convenience.

Be aware that the Internet access is not free. It was $1.50 per 1/2 hour. The PC's they have in their Internet area are OK, but not great. I never could get my laptop to connect to their network. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The friendliness of staff
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank agabuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

I stayed at this hotel in Feb 08 with a few friends on a surf trip. We originally reserved the place for three nights, but our travel plans had changed and when we checked-in, we informed the front desk that we'd only be staying two nights. They were very unaccommodating and told us we'd have to pay for three nights regardless. We asked to speak to the manager and were told he was out for an hour or so. We came back in an hour, he wasn't there so we asked to speak with him on his cell phone. We were then told he doesn't speak english, not a problem we said as one of our guys speaks spanish. The story then changed that he was in San Jose for a few days and not available. Bottom line they already had our credit card number and were interested in making as much money from us as possible, and certainly didn't care if we were satisfied customers. They ripped us off.

I will say the hotel is nice, rooms were nice and it's close to the beach, but that certainly doesn't make up for the fact that it's really expensive and they'll try to rip you off.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dominical hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2006

My wife and I stay at the Diuwak for a week in January 2006 and my son and I stayed for a week in March 2006. We loved the hotel and the staff. Room was clean, the pool is fantastic and the restaurant was very good. We had no bad experiences at this hotel. It is a very short walk to the beach and right off the main street. Hotel was quiet at night. It is a little pricey but well worth it!

  • Liked — pool, restaurant, service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank therod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2006

Our stay in the hotel was fine but when i got home there was an additional charge on my credit card for $100 which i did not authorise. When I tried to query the amount by email i got no reply. Therefore I would be careful about giving them your credit card details.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AMGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2006

I feel sorry for anyone who has the misfortune of booking this hotel. All of the rooms smell like mold, which was what ultimately drove us away from the place. We hated it so much that, despite having to pay up front for all of the nights and getting NO refund, we left. That's right--even though we explained to the manager after 1/2 hour in the room that my husband couldn't breathe in a moldy room, he wouldn't refund ANY of our money for wanting to leave! Also, the hammering referenced by the previous reviewer still persists, 6 months later.

Dominical seemed like a fun surfer town, but there didn't seem to be any nice accomodations in the town - they're all rustic, like many Costa Rican hotels, so just be prepared. (We ended up driving back up to Jaco.) If you want to go to a friendly, non-touristy surfer town with accomodation options ranging from a cheap, $10/night shared-bathroom room to high end, $200/night resort, go to Mal Pais. We were also there for a week, and loved it!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank aedportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2005

Basically, a pretty decent hotel in Dominical, Costa Rica, and only a short walk to the beach. My biggest problem is that they were doing construction from dawn 'till past dusk to add capacity and the hammering woke me and everyone else up every morning. You couldnt relax at the pool either bc of the constant noise. We were all annoyed, but complaints to mgt yielded nothing. I assume within a couple of months of this review, it shouldnt be a problem anymore. The rooms are basic, but they have A/C (optional) and the pool is great. The electricity goes out alot but i think it was going out all over town...not sure though

Helpful?
12 Thank dutchsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
3.8 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diuwak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diuwak

Property: Hotel Diuwak
Address: Across From the ICE Office | Playa Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diuwak 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DiuwakDiuwak , from the Bri -Bri indigenous language in Castilian means " People of the Sun " .The Diuwak hotel is an oasis located in Dominical along the southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica beach. The hotel is just 50 meters from the beach . The hotel has 36 comfortable rooms , including 5 suites and 6 fully equipped bungalowsThe Diuwak hotel has beautiful gardens and is the only hotel in the area with planters bio creating the perfect atmosphere in the green landscape. As part of the lovely natural landscaping is Tilapia pond surrounded by traditional figures and a small bridge, making it ideal for finding tranquility.Hotel facilities include a magnificent Diuwak pool with night lighting , plus the Tulu Restaurant, the restaurant offers delicious international dishes, the restaurant is known for having the best pizza in the area. The hotel how much a circuit cable television , car rentals , surf lessons , tours and countless options .See you soon at Hotel Diuwak , an experience you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diuwak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diuwak Hotel Dominical
Hotel Diuwak Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing