We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Ranked #4 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on the way to the Osa Pennisula. We also stayed last year for 4 nights and both trips were great. Tthis is the only place we would consider in the area. The view is so spectacular that it can't really be described in words. The cabins are clean and quiet with comfortable beds. The Miradors (towers) are wonderful for bird watching or just reading a good book, but what makes this place special is George and Susan, who treat you like family. Great view, food, and conversation. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    15
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights as part of a larger Costa Rican vacation in Feb. 2010. We had just left the hustle and bustle of Manuel Antonio so this place turned out to be a welcome respite. You need your own vehicle to stay here and they provide gated parking for you. Pacific Edge is located up a pretty steep dirt road but once you arrive you and blessed with stunning views of the coastline and rainforest. The owners live here and are very friendly but appreciate and respect your privacy. My fiance and I spent a lot of time exploring the area and the owners were helpful to recommend places to eat, visit and even avoid. :-) Our room was big, comfortable with a good bathroom, small kitchenette, fridge and coffee maker. We loved making coffee in the morning and heading up to the patio for a homemade breakfast every morning. I recommend the fritata if it is still on the menu. For the price you will not be disappointed and you will love and appreciate the quiet, authentic Costa Rican experience that Pacific Edge offers.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were recommended to pacific edge from friends who visited years ago and heard numerous accounts of praise before we reached this little oasis. There are no words to describe the beauty of the grounds, view, and great wildlife viewing. We spent hours on our private balcony and overlook towers watching toucans, parrots, hawks, and many other birds early in the a.m. And afternoon. Clean and comfortable rooms with kitchenette but remember, this is an Eco lodge and not the Hilton. Also be sure to rent a 4wd vehicle to climb the mountain to pacific edge. George and Suzie are excellent hosts who ensured our stay was "happy days"

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Percfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Since 2006 we have been staying at Pacific Edge - the best place on the Southern Pacific - The view is magnificent and the atmosphere is wonderful! It's a great place to relax and have a fabulous vacation.

The cabins are very clean, comfortable and private. We always stay in Cabin #2 and there is a refrigerator, mircrowave, toaster and electric skillet, so that you can cook on your own. But, if you don't want to cook, Susie will fix you a wonderful breakfast and dinner. She is an awesome chef!

Another reason we enjoy Pacific Edge so much is the fact that there is a NO children allowed policy. Not that we don't enjoy children, but ours are all grown up and when we take a holiday, we enjoy not having all the ruckus that accompany kids. We like tranquility and it can be found at Pacific Edge! It's a fabulous place for a romanic holiday.

George and Susie, the owners of Pacific Edge are wonderful hosts. They have been so helpful in booking our excursions and recommending local restaruants. They are extremely accomodating and wanting to please their guests.

We highly recommend Pacific Edge. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

When I made the reservation at Pacific Edge I was duly informed that a 4WD vehicle was needed to get there. This is true! Up a steep, winding, gravel road, this lodge is definitely off the beaten path. The reward is a beautifully designed and built lodge with incredible views of the south Pacific and dazzling sunsets. We stayed here only two nights, but would have loved to have stayed longer. The owners Susie and George are delightful and will make you feel like welcome family. Susie cooks up a great dinner too, by the way!. The cabins are rustic but very comfortable. Ours had a great deck with a hammock. No AC needed - ocean breezes make the temperatures very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbelle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We rented 2 of the four cabins perched on the hillside looking over the mountain's edge to the beautiful beaches of Dominalito and Dominical. It was a quiet, comfortable place to be away from the crowds at Quepos. The rates were reasonable and we had a kitchen and were able to enjoy some simple meals together on the patio of our larger bungalow. Susan and George were helpful, recommending places to eat, arranging a horseback trip to some fantastic waterfalls, and the night we arrived Susan prepared a delicious dinner for us at our request.

Room Tip: You need a 4-wheel drive to get up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanachava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at Pacific Edge for two nights in January 2011 as a stop over on our way from the Osa Peninsula to Arenal. While in the area, our primary goal was to take a day trip for snorkeling to Caño Island. After checking in on our first day, we went into Dominical to pay the remainder of our snorkel trip and get last minute details. When we arrived, the tour operator informed us that our trip was being canceled. Unfortunately, it was too late in the day for us to find another alternative as all of the local businesses were in the process of closing. Distraught over these developments, we returned to Pacific Edge at around 7:30 in the evening on a Saturday. Not knowing what to do, we turned to George and Susie, dragging them from their private quarters after hours. Despite this, they graciously began calling all of their contacts until they were able to assist us in finding a tour operator that would accommodate the three in our group at the last minute. Considering our stay in the area was loosely based around this trip to Caño Island, they pretty much saved the day.

Pacific Edge is nestled in the jungle, high on the hills outside Dominical, with an unsurpassed view of the surroundings. It is perfect starting point for day trips in the area, relaxing at the beach or just laying low in your bungalow enjoying the view. The cabins are spacious, clean and well appointed. The look out tower, pool and hammocks are all added touches for an establishment that has it all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boystownboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happynites, Owner at Pacific Edge, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write the nice review. We do try our best to help our guests have that fantastic vacation here on the edge of paradise, by organizing their dream tour and providing in the cabins a complete information book of all activities in the area's as well as a listing of the local beaches, restaurants, and shopping centers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Property: Pacific Edge
Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing