We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a place!!”
Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Ranked #4 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
Scituate
2 reviews
“what a place!!”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day vacation to costa rica which included a four night stay at PacificEdge. it was the most wonderful place to stay. the cabins are spotless comfortable camping cabins. the view is beyond compare. Susie and George are most helpful and accommodating hosts. we say the flight of a toucan in the morning over the jungle canopy below and had our own howler monkey 5am wake up call. I highly recommend this fabulous spot.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 781LauraC_Scituate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    15
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

First off I would like to thank George and Susie for the hospitality!! The cabins are spotless... And yes there are some bug folks its Costa Rica... They don't kill everything like in the USA! The food was great. There knowledge of the local area is exceptional! The cleaning lady cleaned our place everyday. The dogs are fantastic. If you are staying here you NEED a 4 by 4! It's a list the road is steep and all rocks! Some reviews peg Susie are brash... She is a great women. Friendly and dry! I have been in the Hotel/Resturant business for 14 years. I would highly recommend this stay... If you want resort style living where you are waited on hand and foot... Stay in the states. Costa Rica is an adventure and its not for everyone! Safe travels!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Follybeachpatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

we have stayed here every time we come to costa rica on our way to the Osa. This is true relaxing of a special kind. An amazing view, gorgeous well equipped cabinas of different sizes, a tranquil pool ,delicious food and perfect hosts. what more could you want ? wildlife, sunsets, tranquility? all there.
all the cabinas are well designed and decorated and equipped so that you can cook up a quick meal , make your own coffee and keep cool drinks in the fridge. each cabina has at least one hammock and comfy chair on the deck which gives you a view all the way up the coast past domincal. we offically relax when we arrive here and often wish we were staying longer as there is plenty to see and do around here.
we recommend this place to all our friends but do note that it is not suitable for small children though check with george and susie as this may have changed.
also - evening meals are to order and susie is a great cook. wine and beer available too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with breathtaking views, very nice cabins, is safe, clean and comfortable, with a really nice pool overlooking the ocean. Great place if you like peace and solitude and have a car to get around, as it is very secluded.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just awesome!
The place is very effectively run by George and Susan. The location is very nice and you MUST have a 4x4 to reach up the steep 1Km road.
Rooms are very spacious, clean and unique.
Breakfast is not included in the price but Suzie can prepare something from the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzimSaiyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tielt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The location is just top. A nice hotel in the middle of the jungle with the nicest view we ever had.
We saw about 10 toucans flying every morning and evening and playing around in the trees.
Waking up with the sound of the hauling monkeys. The cabanas were good and had a kitchen, fridge,....
Only pitty that the breakfast was not included in the price, and beakfast we had was expensive.
Also for the price, the beds could have been made up in the morning and room cleaned.

But, next time I will be in Domincal I will defenitely book again a cabana with Pacific edge.

Rgds Stefan

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanVrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happynites, Owner at Pacific Edge, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for wanting to return to Pacific Edge and the high ranking. We do not include breakfast in the price of the cabins, as we would then have to raise the already very reasonably price cabins. We have provided kitchenettes in the cabins so people do have the optcion of doing there own meals at a much more economical rate, if they wish. Our food rates are the same that you would find in any local restaurant. The price that these folks paid did also included the bar and refreshments that the family of 5 had. Their actual breakfast averaged less than $7 per person. These folks only stayed 2 nights, and unfortuneately their second day here the maid was attending a special education class.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Pacific Edge is a great choice for a hotel if you want to stay near Dominical. The altitude is great as it is a couple of degrees cooler than by the beach. The view is incredible!

The location is great too as it is right up in the mountains surrounded by all the wildlife. At night, we must have had a pack of howler monkeys right behind our cabina!

The pool is very welcoming and a great way to cool off after being at the beach.

The dogs are really friendly once they get to know you and Charlie even might go swimming with you in the pool!

George and Suzy are great hosts. George is always very happy and eager to help out - he even lent us his boogie board when we went to the beach! The story of how they ended up in Costa Rica is worth hearing about. The book of activities in the rooms is a great resource for planning what to do in the area!

The hammocks on the cabina porches are a great way to just enjoy the view and the surrounding environment.

The kitchenette area is well equipped for cooking if you want to make breakfast like we did.

Enjoy :)

Room Tip: #2 had a really great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banananas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Tropical Sands Dominical Eco Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Property: Pacific Edge
Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing